Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakwood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
I feel the teachers respect the students so the students respect the teachers in return.

Oakwood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
I love that most grades the student is given homework on a Monday and has till Friday to finish. This helps with after school activities.


Oakwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
Oakwood has character traits that the school stands by which helps every student in the school. Last years trait was Perseverance.

Oakwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2015
- a parent
Oakwood is a small but wonderful school. We are a National Character School. The teachers are very friendly and go up and beyond what is asked of them. We have a fantastic PTA that helps with many events during the school year. Can't wait to enjoy the new gym when school starts up again.

Oakwood Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Great school! They are very friendly, family oriented, and open to work with whatever needs you have. It is clean and up to date. The staff is excellent and they do lots of fun things during the year to keep the parents and students involved.


Oakwood Elementary School 2

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My child attended Oakwood for kindergarden last year. I too agree with another review that there are way too many children that do not speak English. In my daughters class there were also quite a few with attention deficit problems, which took away learning from others. I am happy to say that I had the opportunity to send my daughter to another school. The difewrence in the student population and the atmosphere is worth the tuition payment!

Oakwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent

Oakwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I currently have 2 children attending Oakwood and thus far the school has been working well for both of my children. My son is doing exceedingly well in schooland doesn't need a lot of help but my daughter is totally opposite. She has been having trouble with girls bullying her and my husband I both feel that the school has not been much help to solve the problem. There are also many non english speaking children in many classes and they really detract from the english speaking students ability to learn. As far as academics the school fares pretty well but as I listed above, there are also many things that go on at this school that would make it hard for any child to focus on school work. If your children speak English and you have a choice of another school I would really send them elsewhere.


Oakwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
My daughter in attending Pre-K at Oakwood this year. She is learning so much; similar to what I would expect from a Kindergarten class! She loves school and her teachers. I love the structure and preparation I feel she is getting to help her transition into Kindergarten.

Oakwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 21, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter is currently attending 2nd grade and completed 1st grade at Oakwood. She enjoys her teachers and we really like the positive attitude and style of Principal Knouse. Even though the school may not be numerically ranked at the top, we have been very pleased with our daugther's learning and she looks forward to going to school every day!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakwood Elementary School
330 Oak Manor Dr, Glen Burnie, MD  21061
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (410) 222-6420
Last modified Oakwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top