Advertisement
Advertisement

Oldfields School

Private | 8-12 | 180 students

Oldfields School is best known for
 
 

 
 

Living in Glencoe

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

This school has many perks. In addition to having horses on campus, Oldfields is in a charming rural location, just north of Hunt Valley, MD, and a short trip below the Pennsylvania line. Oldfields has a tight-knit community feeling, all the girls are very friendly and get along. The small class sizes are great for people who want to learn, improve their grades, and work individually with the teacher. The diverse community is a major plus, and it creates a great learning experience for the students. Oldfields has rolling admission, so while there is a regular admission deadline, we receive many mid-year transfers and they're all met with excitement! Oldfields has many regular mixers with other boarding schools, and although some are a few hours ride away, students have many opportunities to interact with their friends from other schools. Our famous walmart/target trips run just about every weekend, and the woman who organizes them is so sweet. Regular trips also include coldstone, starbucks, the movies, malls, and a number of other recreational trips, some of which (like the mummy exhibit!) are actually educational as well.


Posted May 25, 2013

Oldfields had some very nice aspects to it while I was there. Since I was a big athlete and rider, I felt right at home here. They have different levels of classes from AP to the b track ( slower classes) so every girl gets the education they can handle. The art program was very good as well, since I finished their art courses my jr year, I was allowed to do an independent study. I never found the school unfriendly at all. All the girls were nice, and I liked most of my teachers. This is a great school to prepare a young woman for what lies ahead. It teaches her to be independent, responsible , and to work with the community. I won't say it was perfect, the creativity and individuality of the students was a bit limited compared to my previous school. But, over all I loved my time there, I had great coaches, trainers, and teachers. I also find it amusing that Mrs. Simpson went there ( the Duchess of Windsor), when it was a finishing school.


Posted November 19, 2012

I don't like it as an international student. Courses are not challenging. Environment is not very friendly. I can only take 6 courses... and can't take the course I want because there not enough teachers.


Posted June 7, 2012

The year is ending and my husband I are very pleased with our daughter's achievements. She has tried different activities she would have never tried in a co-ed school. She has grown into a beautiful young lady and as an accomplished student. The staff has been a big part of this and my husband said this is the best investment he has done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

I searched high and low for a middle school. I am a Baltimore native and had heard of Oldfields but I was told they didn't start until the 8th grade and I needed the 6th grade. Well this particular year they wanted to start the 6th grade so I called them and made a appointment to visit the school. From the first time I stepped on campus me and my daughter fell in love with the school. It felt like home. The students, faculty and staff acted as if they had known me and my daughter for ever. We are in our second year at the school and that warm and fuzzy felling still exist. I have never seen a school car so much about my daughter success. They make sure that our daughter have everything they need to be successful. I especially enjoy the all female environment. I like the fact that our girls are able to be empowered as women while learning how to be sisterly. My daughter has met some of the most amazing people while at Oldfields that I could ask for. She is my only child and she is adopted and she is surrounded by other young ladies that are like her and I think that is great. I am happy to be apart of such a loving a caring environment that loves my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

From the first time I step into Oldfields school I felt a special warmth and professionalism not usually felt entering a school. It has been the best thing that could happen to our family. Margy loves going to school, she loves her friends and teachers. The academic program is extensive and outstanding. The environment is stimulating and caring. The international students add diversity and cross cultural exposure. The communication with school is over the top, i get emails and phone calls on a regular basis, informing me of progress of my daughter. We couldn't be happier with our choice, we know Margherita is getting the best of everything and it is just a joy to know she is happy, developing self confidence and achieving her best potentials academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

My daughter entered Oldfields this year in seventh grade. My husband and I had been looking for the right fit for her for three years. After her first few weeks, we knew we had found a new home for her. She had been struggling in her former school with the curriculum and the inconsistent teachers. Oldfields employs young teachers that the girls can relate to and the small class size is just what she needed. Her grades are wonderful, but even more importantly, she is actually learning and enjoying it. She is empowered to approach her teachers if she is having trouble or if she needs a little bit of extra help. The sense of community at Oldfields is second to none. My daughter has made some wonderful new friendships and adores her teachers and advisor. The environment lends itself to an extension of family. I love getting involved with the school and feel a sense of peace each time I step on to campus. It is such an amazing feeling to know that we have found the right place for our daughter to learn and to grow, both academically and personally. She has really come out of her shell and has developed a powerful self-confidence, and the year isn't even over yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Oldfields academics are fine, depending on the teacher. My daughter had a couple of sweet, caring teachers. She also had a teacher who was just lousy--unhappy, unfriendly, and taught the minimum. Her advisor was cold, not at all a mentor or friend. Basically the adults at the school do their job and that's the end of it. There is no warmth at all from the headmaster or others on staff. An email was responded to several days or even a week later, or not at all. The trips on weekends consisted of Friday night to Walmart, and Saturday to a mall. Occasionally a movie trip. The only real positive to the school is the students, who seem to be good girls, who are kind to each other and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

Our daughter entered OS as a junior this year and has excelled in all aspects of her school life. She has developed into a confident student, athlete, and young lady. She loves the school and her friends. We cannot say enough about the quality of her education and the teachers. She is doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

This is a terrific school that combines a challenging and stimulating curriculum with terrific student advising that supports and prods the students to achieve their best. The teachers are outstanding; in contrast with my daughter's former school, where the teaching was dry, rote and straight from the book, the classes at Oldfields are stimulating and thought-provoking. The international students are a real plus - my daughter now has friends from Europe, Asia, South America and Africa and is learning about their home countries, language and culture. All in all, it is a terrific place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

Oldfields is amazing! They pace each child's learning speed as quickly as she can learn, and and slowly as she needs. Raising a confident, competent daughter presents its own challenges these days. Oldfields has the expertise and insights to educate these young women. Learning to articulate thoughts and feelings goes hand-in-hand with developing self-confidence. I know when my daughter speaks up in class. I know if she comfortable disagreeing and dissenting. I know if she expressed herself clearly and openly. I know, because this school's communication is extraordinary. Lastly, at some schools, girls are discouraged from playing sports because it is 'unladylike.' However, sports teach skills that cannot be gained in English or math class, including: motivation, self-confidence, how to win and lose, how to compete, how to work with others, and how to assess and surpass limitations. The teams at Oldfields provide all of this! A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

This school has been a wonderful experience for my daughter, a senior in '10. As a gifted student, the school designed a program of study that included several very small classes to challenge her. The environment is friendly and supportive, the teachers are dedicated. The head is a great listener and works very hard to make this school a wonderful place. This is one place that you really need to consider for your daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Our daughter came as a senior this year and we have been very impressed with the school, the support she has received, and how welcoming the community has been. I wish I had known about Oldfields years earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

We looked at many private schools in and around Baltimore. Oldfields was the one school that was willing to make the most of our daughters strengths while helping to overcome her weaknesses. Oldfields truly lives up to it's mission 'Each Girl's Success' Every June this school graduates a marvelous assortment of capable and confident young women
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Our daughter has blossomed at Oldfields! She entered Oldfields as an 8th grade day student who was a tentative student, unsure of herself and her abilities. Now, as a junior, she is a confident, outgoing, diligent student who is enjoying every aspect of Oldfields, from the close rapport with her advisor and teachers, its challenging academic environment, to the variety of sports and social life on campus. Oldfields has provided a wonderful nuturing environment where our daughter has grown and matured. She loves OS and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

Our daughter has had a wonderful experience at Oldfields. The really do live by their mission statement 'Each girl's success.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

A few years ago I couldn't imagine sending my daughter to boarding school. She began at Oldfields as freshman because I love the academic potential and she loved the riding program. It has been a perfect fit - the faculty is skilled, caring, and always available - her academic advisor is remarkable and I cannot imagine her anywhere else - she graduates next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

The experience Oldfields is providing my daughter is outstanding! It is a fantastic enviorment for development and growth. She is doing extremly well academically, and has become a leader in her school. Going from being very shy when she entered Oldfiels 3 years ago to positions of leadership. I have never made a better or more worth while investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Oldfields is an incredible school. Our daughter has found a school that is academically challenging and supportive of her learning needs. Oldfields has played a huge role in helping my daughter be a confident young women, forging ahead to a wonderful future. I highly recommend Oldfields for every girl wanting to succeed!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Our daughter has thrived at Oldfields. She knew it was the right school for her upon entering the campus on our first visit. Oldfields offers a nurturing environment that encourages each girl to be and do their very best. She is a junior and has made the most wonderful friends with students from around the world, which has added a richness to her educational experience. Most of the faculty and administration live on campus, which adds a tremendous support system. Her confidence and independence is making the college search wonderful and exciting. Oldfields has truly prepared her for this next step.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 45%
Black 13% 40%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Step team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Parnell Hagerman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Asian Cultures Club
  • Black Awareness Club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Environmental Club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Recycling club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Glencoe Rd
Glencoe, MD 21152
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 472-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. James Academy
Monkton, MD





St. Joseph's School
Cockeysville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT