Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 2

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent of a child that attends Sacred Heart. While it may seem nice from an outside perspective, I have to wonder if the administration at the school has my child's best interests at heart. There are a number of minority children that attend Sacred Heart, however there is not one minority facility member on the staff. I find this highly embarrassing. Given the number of minority candidates and HBCU's in the greater Baltimore area, you would think that the Scared Heart School would have at least one person of color over there in a teaching or administration role. Not a one. This is troubling and will probably cause me to withdraw my child very soon. If a child doesn't see ONE PERSON that looks like them in leadership positions, how can he or she feel confident about becoming a leader in the future? UNACCEPTABLE.
2 people found this helpful

Sacred Heart Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent of a child that attends Sacred Heart. While it may seem nice from an outside perspective, I have to wonder if the administration at the school has my child's best interests at heart. There are a number of minority children that attend Sacred Heart, however there is not one minority facility member on the staff. I find this highly embarrassing. Given the number of minority candidates and HBCU's in the greater Baltimore area, you would think that the Scared Heart School would have at least one person of color over there in a teaching or administration role. Not a one. This is troubling and will probably cause me to withdraw my child very soon. If he doesn't see people that have a darker skin tone, such as he has, in leadership positions, how can he feel confident about becoming a leader in the future? UNACCEPTABLE.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
My kids have received a quality education at Sacred Heart while being a part of a service-oriented and caring community. I am so impressed with the teachers and their commitment to their students. I would send them to Sacred Heart all over again.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
If you read a bad review of this school, it is definitely from before the new principal took over. He is making a huge difference and is not afraid to fix problems and enact needed change.
1 person found this helpful

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
Great Catholic education. Both of my children entered Catholic high school with great faith and an excellent and well rounded academic profile.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We love Sacred Heart-Glyndon! We have three children presently attending and each one loves being at this school. The teachers are fantastic and truly care about the students. The principal is in his first year and he is an amazing force - we are very fortunate to have him and his administrative team! You have an emphasis on faith formation, service to others and strong academics. You have active parents who care about the school. I cannot recommend this school high enough.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I have had two children go through the school. One graduated in 2009 and the other is currently in the fifth grade. The faculty and administrative staff are top notch. Mr. Zachary Coyle was a great find as principal. He gets it when it comes to Catholic education and education as a whole, to create a well-rounded person with a firm basis in their Catholic faith. If you don't send your child to Sacred Heart, you should if you can. I have yet to see a better school.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
Sacred Heart is an excellent school. The academics are challenging, but not overwhelming. The staff is committed to ensuring the enrichment of the students, and they show consideration for each child and address their individual needs. In addition to faith formation, the students are taught to care for others, especially the least among us, and are given numerous opportunities to serve others. As a result, the children are polite and show respect for others. I recommend SHG highly, not only as a school, but as a community. Once you are a part of the SHG family, you cannot imagine being anywhere else.


Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
Sacred Heart has excellent teachers, a faith based educational environment, and a strong sense of community that has been their benchmark of success for many years. Both my wife and I are alumni and our two youngest current attend this amazing school.

Sacred Heart Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Sacred Heart School! I honestly don't know how any one could be unhappy with the level of education and sense of community in the school. The children are very polite & well mannered and truly understand the meaning of being kind and compassionate. The way the whole school comes together to serve the community and help those less fortunate really warms your heart. I will do whatever it takes to have my child continue to have the amazing foundation that is being provided to him at Sacred Heart School of Glyndon.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Elementary School
63 Sacred Heart Lane, Glyndon, MD  21071
(410) 833-0857
Last modified Sacred Heart Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top