Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lanham Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 10 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Goddard

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $173,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

In response to some of the some of the reviews about LCS: 1. Most educators and educationally astute parents know that the most important aspect of education is not finishing the curriculum, but making sure that students truly grasp and master concepts. This is especially true in upper elementary that focuses on complex concepts and not just rote memorization of facts. 2. LCS is one of only 2 private schools in the county that has received state certification. Parents moving their children to other schools should research the impact of the lack of certification on their child's education. 3. The administration is working hard to maintain academic integrity. Students are required to earn grades, they are not just given A's and B's because their parents are paying tuition. 4. Elementary students have daily recess. . They also have weekly art, music, PE, computer and library classes. Middle/High school students can participate in a number of electives , such as, choir, hand bells, yearbook, drama, art, Spanish, and computer. (Anything stated to the contrary is simply no true). 5. Standardized test scores show students are learning! My children will be staying at LCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

My children graduated from Lanham Christian School. I couldn't think of sending them anywhere else. I hold the teachers and administration in the highest regard. The teachers work diligently to provide a high level of education including college prep classes. They are always willing to stay and help any student requesting help in any class. Also, the administration worked tirelessly to insure the school become state certified. The school teaches Godly, academic excellence to any student willing to strive to achieve his/her best. I love this school and encourage anyone interested in sending your child/children to a school which promotes Godly, Christian character and academic excellence to seek out this school today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

I am a graduate of Lanham Christian School(LCS). Having attended LCS 5 years prior to graduation, I was involved in multiple extracurricular activities such as: volleyball, softball basketball, choir and drama. I also was a member of my class student council for my jr and sr year. The faculty, staff and administration played supportive roles in my academic and personal life,most of these relationships are still active today. Personally, I could not have chosen a greater Christian school to attend and graduate.


Posted June 4, 2014

In response to posts here that claim LCS has very little to offer, some of the accolades include: 1. Only one of TWO private schools in PG County with State Certification. 2. AP classes in English and Calculus, Honors classes (no need SAT elective; coursework prepares) 3. National Honors Society chapter. 4. All teachers in high school have a B.A. or B.S. degree or higher from an accredited university (all teachers are required to have at least 125 college credit hours, in accordance with MD state law). 5. 80% of graduates accepted into colleges; many with full scholarships. 6. Basketball Division II State Champions, Volleyball Division II State Champions (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) 7. High recognition high school drama program at the Folger Shakespeare Festival. 8. Elementary electives: art, music, Spanish, computer, and PE 9. Junior high / high school electives: art, choir, handbells, chess, drama, yearbook, journalism 10. Caring and loving faculty who go beyond the duties of classroom education to teach the value of Christ-centered relationships
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

The board and Administration at LCS have truly run this school into the ground. Their decision to terminate good teachers with no explanation other than finances...the board/administration has terminated the 4th grade teacher and then have the nerve to have outgoing third grade parents come to school for a farce of a meeting, The offer from administration was to offer my child a teacher for half a day and then to have teacher assistants have my child complete paperwork and music and P.E. for the remainder of the day....half-time education for full price tuition.. We have decided to move on and apply to Berwyn Baptist School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

I have been a parent at LCS for many years and I am pulling my children out after this school year. I am disappointed in the decisions made by the board to get rid of good teachers and keep others who don't even complete the curriculum for the year. They have shown no consideration for the parents who pay tuition, instead they continue to cut and replace teachers with lack of experience. There is no outlet for the students, gym is once a week, and there are no extra curriculum activities. If LCS doesn't get it together, I see their doors closing very soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

No longer a great school because of financial issues that the Board refuses to share with parents. For $7,000 you get books, that's it. They promise the world and give your kids NOTHING--they are not ashame of that fact. No recess, cafeteria, P.E., choir, clubs, sports, art, music, choir, band class, HS Math Teacher, etc. The kids are unhappy, depressed and are not having a fun school experience. We really don't know if they are really learning anything because they have gotten rid of the great teachers and Dean of Students. Kids are out of control becuse they don't get to do anything. My family is leaving and will just drive further out for a great private school. Sad to see the school fall apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This school is not compassionate at all especially to be a Christian school. They want you to understand why they fired a handful of teachers on the second week of school, or why my child has had 4 different math teachers in 1 year, or why there is no SAT prep but chess as a school elective, or why the principal has been out for 2 months, or how they mislead us and told their parents with was going to get this great coach for the basketball team and that never happened either but everytime I have a issue with one of their teachers there is NO resolve from administration. They allow their teachers to do anything they want anf their teachers are very harsh, petty and unprofessional. When one of children does anything it is addressed by me but when one of teachers is inappropriate or wrong NOTHING is done on numerous occasions. As a small school, you would think they would be concerned with their retention rate. Because of your lack concern about for your parents which are your customers...you are losing 5 tuition payment for next year because you show no concern to compromise with 2 parents on numerous occasions. I give this school 3 more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

This is not a caring school. They take everything out of proportion. They will take a good student and punish them severely for one simple mistake. People are not perfect and this school fails to realize that. They want themselves seen as caring people but in reality all they care about is image and do not try to understand where people are coming from. They claim to be a school of Christian character but Christians reach out. They don't try to understand a problem they just simply kick you out. They have no nurse, no guidance counselor, no SAT prep class, no cafeteria. The students eat in their classroom and aren't allowed to socialize with people other than the ones in their grade. During lunch time.They have no gym. During P.E, the students are outside in the parking lot, with a make shift basketball court. The only sports team they have are Girl's volleyball and Boy's basketball. But the games were held in the gym that belongs to the Bible college across the street which is now closed down. This school does not prepare you for college or the real world. Most of the administration are like the way previously described but there are only a handful that actually do care.


Posted April 28, 2014

My son is curently in K-5 and has been going to this school for two years. i love the teaches and staff as well as the curriculum. The teacher to student ratio is 1:14 compared to 1:25 in the area public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Great school with high academics, a caring staff, and traditional values. The school is working to improve extra curricular activities which are currently limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

We decided that the neighboring Catholic schools were too high with their tracking system. LCS high school students workload prepares students for college. Academic excellence is emphasize. Yes, my child worked hard for a "B" but she learn how to write an essay and geometry. We have been pleased with the teachers who know their subjects and are very friendly. If your child can't behave then they will spend their Saturdays cleaning the campus. Old School private high school values at an affordable rate. The school is working on their afterschool sports & clubs selections. GO LIONS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

This school has very high academic standards, which is why students are finding other schools to be easier to do well in. While Lanham cares about academics, it also holds other values very highly and values developing it's students from a Biblical viewpoint.


Posted March 1, 2010

I have had three children graduate from Lanham Christian. All have gone to college and have done very well. This school has prepared them for college. If you attend LCS, make sure to take the AP and advanced level courses, and college will not difficult. You will most likely test out of many Intro classes (English, Math, Spanish), which will save you time and money. Most of all, I liked the Christian teachers for my children. They were good role models, and because it is a small school, they worked with you and your children to help them succeed academically as well as spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

Great school, great learning environment, and friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

My son has been going to LCS since 1st grade, he is now in the 6th grade. The staff and teachers are all great. One big happy family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I went to this school for my first year of high school and it was the worst year of my life. The grading system seems as if they only want you to fail. A grade that would be a 'c' in a public school isan 'F' in LCS. The Principal was so mean and never heiped anyone. I was almost held back but now that i'm attending a public school I learn more and I'm not failing. The school was so small in had not cafeteria, no gym, one hallway and about 3 classrooms. I wouldn't recomend you go there. The only good teachings were about God.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

I go to this school now...no cafeteria is the only problem. Everybody loves God and respects authority. I am going to 8th grade(2008 -09)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

I am a graduate at LCS and I loved the school. I made many close friends in which I still keep in contact with. The teachers there really cared about us and on numerous occasions would go out of their way to help us in any way we needed. The classes were small and we felt like family. The lack of accreditation had no impact on myself or anyone I know getting into college. I will treasure my experiences at LCS forever and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

i survived a harrowing experience...or should i say traumatic experience at this discredited school. the principal was so cold and unfeeling. the lessons only contributed to bible teachings. and unfortunately they didn't have a very good achedemic program. i learned very little. but when i left and went on to a different school i became the best student in my class and i made the honor roll all four quarters. not everything they taught was in concordance with the bible. my point is that this is not a good school and when i have children i will not send them there. definitely not reccomended.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 35%
Two or more races 31% 4%
White 9% 42%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Brethren
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Good Luck Road
Goddard, MD 20706
Phone: (301) 552-9102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





An-Nur Academy
Lanham, MD


Carrollton Elementary School
New Carrollton, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT