Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Elementary School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I use to go to this school not to long ago and it is pretty nice. It is fun and enjoyable. Some people do get bullied and some have a lot of friends. The assembles are fun. It depends on what teacher you have most are nice some or a little bit strict. The counselor is a great person! The only thing wrong is the school nurse who is mean and rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Reading the older comments, I was a bit discouraged. I was not to long ago a student at this school, and I now people who have went to this school while the bad reviews on here were written, saying how the academics are bad or whatever. Not to be disrespectful but only the student knows what the school is all about. Just wanted to say at least that. In all honesty though, I only disliked one of my teachers. I felt that they all did their job as they were supposed to and I can still remember what I learned, though I was an advanced student so I didn't have a few classes with my original class. Most students from this school are now doing well above the..ehh, "general" classes as they call it in my middle school.


Posted December 13, 2009

Excellent school! We are very pleased with the teachers and the academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

Love the fact that my kids get A's and B's and love their teachers but the Bully 'Law' needs to be stricter. There are quiet times after the bully is repremanded but after a few weeks it starts up again. Then the school will want to 'talk' about it. Stop the talking and take some action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

I have been in the Eastern Community for 5 years and have seen a lot of changes at the school. Our administration went from ok to great to not so great. While our Asst Principal is wonderful, our principal could use some work. The teachers are wonderful and really care about the students. We have the best FCPC - she sets up wonderful family nights at the school and other places in the community for parents and students to attend. Our parent involvement could use some help. While we do have several parents that volunteer on a regular basis we could use more support and input from parents at different functions that are held and at the PTA meetings. Parents like to complain to each other about what they aren't getting from the school but they never show up to voice their concerns when it counts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

Eastern elem. Helped my son get his self esteem back. He started there in the 4th grade and his grades went back to a's & b's. He had a bad experience at the school he went to for the past grades. Eastern has great teachers and parent and student activites. I look forward to my 2 other children attending eastern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

Eastern has come a long way in the eight years that I have had children at the school. There is a much stronger student base. Things are looking up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I think before this year this used to be a great school where my child was confortable and learning a great deal, he's affraid of his teacher and I get notes sent home full of sarcasim and judgement towards me as a parent, in result my sons grades have gone from A & B's to U in writing and other subjects this has been a very difficult year and they never should have replace the teachers that we had at least they didn't reflect anger and degrade the students. maybe the schools # overall weren't where they used to be but supposed to be better now the schools# average or the learning and education of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

We've been very pleased with what our kids have learned while at Eastern. They're both straight A students. Our kindergartner is coming home spouting off information that she has learned that seems to be ahead of what I see other kids her age learning. There is an afterschool reading program that she has been able to participate in & it has proven to be helpful. Our 2nd grader's teacher is extremely involved and seems to care very much. Both kids talk about values that they've been taught at school. It's not all up to the teachers...parents need to take an interest and make time too. Teachers can only take them so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

We literally moved away because our experience with Eastern was so bad! The discipline at that school is inadequate to non existent...kids are rude, teachers are rude, and no one seems to care. My kids were above average students when we arrived at Eastern, and once they were placed in their classrooms, we discovered that they were performing at least 2 grade levels above their Eastern classmates (in reading). Rather than admit the inadequacy of their program, the school staff said my kids were an 'abberation'. I suppose they thought I would be flattered. They insisted that my kids were way above average when at our prior school they were certainly bright, but were with a core group of kids just like them. My kids are back at their previous school, and are performing well...and here they aren't an abberation, but are just normal, bright kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

I think that some children are slow learners and the teachers should give that student extra help instead of leaving them get to far behind. There are children in eastern that are at least 2 years behind in reading and may never be able to catch up but still they pass them on to the next grade. What they need is the teachers to do a better job at teaching. Eastern is a chapter one school and they do get extra money from us tax payers so why can't they give the students the extra help they need for a better education. What about No Child Left Behind.


Posted September 9, 2003

I feel that Eastern Elementary would do better minus a lot of disipline problems and then add a lot more parent involvment. Our children need us to show them by being there that we as parents care about their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Black 27% 35%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 10% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Yale Dr
Hagerstown, MD 21742
Phone: (301) 766-8122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT