Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Potomac Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 325 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2010

I love this school because my kids love it! No matter what happens their teachers are down to earth/human, knowledgeable, and genuinely care about my kids and what is best for their educational experience. That is important to me. I believe that they do everything possible to consider my child's best interest, even when that is increasingly difficult to do these days. They share my childrens' struggles and celebrations, and I trust their experience and professional judgement. My kids love going to school and that's a great reflection on Potomac Heights and the people that they encounter every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I'm a teacher at this school and it is a great school. The staff really gets along well and work hard for the students. We all have a great relationship outside of work too, which helps make us a stronger staff at school. I've had experienced other schools and this is by far the best! Your child is in great hands here!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 2, 2009

This is a great school, the teachers are so dedicated and my chidlren really enjoy going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I love this school as well. My daughter has a 4th grade teacher that we've had some problems with, but our son is having a wonderful kindergarten experience. The enrichment classes make up for some of the problems we've had with our daughter's class. All the staff make an effort to know the children, and volunteers are enthusiastically greeted. It's a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

We really like the school. The teachers and staff are great. I agree with the previous comment completely. Academically- superior also, my son is in enriched reading and math also due to his excellance. He is currently in 2 second grade and reading at 5 grade reading level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

Potomac Heights is an amazing school. They have wonderful enriched Math and reading programs. The teachers are super involved. It is the sort of school where the secretary and nurse know your childs name:)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 43%
Black 12% 36%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 East Magnolia Ave
Hagerstown, MD 21742
Phone: (301) 766-8305

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Marshall Street School
Hagerstown, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT