Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Hagerstown, MD
Students enrolled: 652
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Salem Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2014
- a parent
1323 is the place to be! My son has hf autism with ADHD & transferred from Boonsboro Elem. because they refused to offer any programs to help him. Salem Ave has wonderful teachers & staff that are extremely knowledgable & caring for the kids. The Summit program within Salem is wonderful with staff trained for Spectrum kids. I can't say enough wonderful things about this school; they encourage parent involvement, offer movie & family nights throughout the school year. Have a quarterly newsletter that tells what each grade will be learning and things that parents/guardians can do to help/encourage the children. Awesome school with caring & knowledgable staff.
2 people found this helpful

Salem Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Staff is friendly and takes time to get parents and children. School is safe, with various features such as glass walls and doors in the entrance area and being buzzed in as well as using ID to take your child out of school early. Parent and family involvement is highly encouraged. They send home activities that occur throughout the year at the school as well as within the community. The teachers are great as well. I love that they implement new programs first and then train the other schools in the area. My child is excelling and it's no doubt attributed to the amazing teachers that she has had.


Salem Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a teacher
This is an amazing place to send your children. An atmosphere of respect and responsibility

Salem Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Friendly and very clean school, you feel safe and confident sending your child to school each day here.

Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
I can't think of a better place to work. At Salem Ave, the staff is like family and the students are taught through carefully constructed activities that encourage collaboration, original thought, reflection, and a strong focus to use one's mind well. I appreciate the trust and support among the faculty and especially between teacher and child.


Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Salem Avenue Elementary has an atmosphere of respect throughout the school, among students, teachers, and staff. All students are held to high expectations and are supported through a variety of learning avenues. As you walk into any classroom at Salem, you will see students learning through teamwork and actively participating to excell. Not only do the staff at Salem teach the students, they get to know each student so that learning is meaningful.

Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
It is a wonderful school with great teachers. It offers many support programs to help every child/family get the most of their education.

Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Its fabulous, the teachers are great, and the school is beautiful


Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
Salem Ave. Elementary School is a Great school. Having caring teachers and Parents working together for the better of our young children.. Only Blue Ribbons for this Great School..

Salem Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I really appreciate all the staff at Salem Ave. Elem. school for working so hard to keep children with behavioral problems in school,instead of just kicking them out! I have two boys ages 6 and 7 that attend this school,both have behavior issues,and the staff works with them everyday to help them improve their behavior at school and home!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Salem Avenue Elementary School
1323 Salem Ave Ext, Hagerstown, MD  21740
(301) 766-8313
Last modified Salem Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Salem Avenue Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top