Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

8-12|Private
94 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Good Shepherd School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
According to the alumni of this school The Good Shepherd seems to cause severe emotional trauma for decades after attendance.

Good Shepherd School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
According to the accounts of alumni; This school needs to be throughly investigated for mental emotional and possibly physical abuses.


Good Shepherd School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
The Good Shepherd will not answer basic public information questions by phone. That seems highly suspicious and cause for concern.

Good Shepherd School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Very nice building. They have many resources. Teachers are nice. It is better to be from Baltimore to attend this school.

Good Shepherd School 1

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
Only giving this "school" one star because I can't give it 0. The instructors are good people but they were glorified babysitters. The emphasis was on keeping the girls pacified and not on providing a quality education. I was supposed to be a freshmen in high school but I was placed in classes with girls that were seniors and the work was still unchallenging. My entire experience there was boring and terribly lonely. After I left and returned to public school in Howard county I had a very hard time adjusting to a normal high school course load. I don't know if there just isn't enough funding for Good Shepherd to provide a good education to all students, but I suspect that may be the case. There were no honors classes so the curriculum was in my opinion, based on the lowest expected level of performance from the students. This led to a lot of bored, troubled young ladies which subsequently led to a lot of chaos and acting out. Our girls deserve better. Avoid this place like the plague if you have any expectation of improvement in your child's performance and behavior in a school environment.


Good Shepherd School 1

Posted April 23, 2011
- a community member
Made me worse too. It's just a nice looking holding cell until you have done your time. They love to use the Isolation Room as punishment. 20 yrs later and I still have nightmares about being in this House of Horrors.

Good Shepherd School 1

Posted January 06, 2011
- a community member
I'm a alumnae of Good Shepherd Center - ten years now. The time I spent in that place did me more harm than good. I have spent the past 10 years teaching myself that I am a good student & a good person. Good Shepherd Center really carters to Maryland's Department of Juvenile Delinquency, nothing else. School is a joke - there is little to no education that is done. Look elsewhere.

Good Shepherd School 3

Posted October 26, 2004
- a student
the educational level is set at all one level. you can not go up or down in your educational level. you can not go higher than others in your educational knowledge. more problems arise between all girls. there are more problems with indivuals. with being in a set environment. they have more self-injurious behaviors.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Shepherd School
4100 Maple Avenue, Halethorpe, MD  21227
(410) 247-2770
Last modified Good Shepherd School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Good Shepherd School Rating: 1 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top