Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Havre De Grace Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 443 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2014

Our experience at Havre de Grace Elementary has been wonderful so far, the teachers are very caring, and the administration's positive energy is always very much appreciated. We've been impressed with the caliber of our son's kindergarten teacher and the number of advanced degrees, certification, and extra training these teachers here have. We were initially concerned about this being a Title I school and its effect on the quality of education offered, but we're happy to see the extra funding and resources seem to be well-utilized (from our perspective). We appreciate our son's teacher always offering extra assignments and suggestions when assignments are too easy, and they seem to be avail themselves to struggling students--I think much of it depends on how much families take advantage of all these services. We've also appreciated the many extracurricular family activities and parenting/STEM events. Overall, it's been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

I would like to comment about the parent who was upset that their smart child did not get into the gifted and talented program. Being the top of your class, reading above grade level, good grades does not make you gifted. It makes you a good student, it means your are smart or a hard worker or your parents work with you a lot or you are better in school that your peers. That is what the honor society is for, honors students. Gifted and talented is more than that. Parents should not be bullying the school into putting their child in the program because of their own beliefs about their children's exceptional talent. Each school has their system and criteria for determining what children need and would benefit from the program. I am speaking as a former child in a g&t program and as a current educator (though not in Havre de Grace). My child will be attending the school, so I was reading the comments.


Posted June 30, 2013

We moved to the area two years ago and three of my children attend this school. I have never experienced a school that is so involved and passionate about the education of each and every student. The administrative staff is just as involved in the daily routines of the kids as their teachers. And the teachers work as a team for each grade, meaning even if your child is not in their class you can guarantee that they will still know each child's name, strengths and weaknesses. And the desire to work with the parents is above average! They fully believe in a partnership between the home and school to fully develop each child's potential. Two of my kids have an IEP for speech and there is no awkwardness or feeling of being singled out for the children that are involved in a specialized program. Also, each of my children are in the gifted level of their classes, so I am not sure what might have happened in the reviews below, but we have had no issues fighting to get them certain classes or teachers. I hope this review helps other parents looking because when we were this rating made us nervous but I firmly feel it is way off and this school deserves a higher rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

My fifth grader has eased right into HdG Elementary. Every adult responsible for my child that I have met has been wonderful. This is, in fact, the first year I feel he has gained real insight and help from his guidance counselor - who works in tandem with his homeroom teacher. HdG Elementary is unique in that they don't switch classes. At the beginning of the year, students are evaluated on their reading and comprehension levels. They are then divided into homerooms based on these levels. This is a wonderful way to give help to those who need it and prevent boredom in others. I think it helps the self esteem of students who may be intelligent, but slower than some of their peers. It gives them a chance to shine. On the flip side, it allows students who have always been the "smart" one in class deflate their head a bit as they encounter other students as quick to answer as them. In addition to their homeroom teachers, other specialists (reading, gifted, special ed) also enter the classroom to co-teach and work with small groups. The individualized attention my child has been receiving can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

I love this school. My son has been to many schools, because we are a military family. This is the best one yet! The school supplies are provided by the school and the teacher's are expected to have greater credentials than other public elementary schools because this a 'title 1' school. You can google 'title 1 school' to learn what that means. The teachers and staff really seem to care about the children and care about being a teacher. My son has attended part of 1st through 4th grade here, is on honor roll and in the orchestra. They provide great opporunities to the students and it's really up to the parents to encourage the children the rest of the way, to get the students to take advantage of these opportunities. We got lucky with this location, it's a great schol.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

First, I would like to say we are a military family and we can't help that we have to move quite a bit. If you have a gifted child with neurological disabilities this is not the school for you. The school was not willing to provide an aid for my daughter in the beginning until I complained to someone higher than the school. Then, I had here tested for the GT program and was told that she could read and comprehend up to almost 3rd grade which she is only in 1st grade. Also, that she could decode words up to 6th grade. But, that she was not gifted enough....funny....because at her last school she was awarded for being the top student in her class. So if you want your child to tally for a month and check out 0 book this is the school for you. We removed our daughter after one month and homeschooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

This school get extra funding from the government, but they are not equip to handle above average students who are not on their gifted list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

While some of the teachers at this school are really wonderful there plenty that are not. I cannot wait to have my child transfered from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

pretty rundown school, but teachers are involved enough to make up for it. good place to raise a kid.


Posted January 27, 2006

Havre de Grace Elementary is a great school that is culturally and financially diverse. It is a title I school which means 40% of the students live at or below poverty level. This Title I status entitles the school many programs for students at all levels of learning including those who are gifted and talented.Havre de Grace itself is as diverse as it's students. The school currently has great leadership and moral is high amongst the faculty.I feel the school is a good place for any student and they get a good representation of all the different people you run into in this world and how to get along or mentor or learn compassion for many people
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Black 22% 35%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Juniata St
Havre De Grace, MD 21078
Phone: (410) 939-6616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Meadowvale Elementary School
Havre De Grace, MD





Bethel Christian Academy
Havre De Grace, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT