Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roye-Williams Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Roye-Williams has been a great school for my three children that have attended there. Mrs. Osborn, Mr. Hoffman, Mrs. Dacey(retired) Mrs. Field have been some of the most amazing teachers! I am happy my children attended this school and anytime one of my kids have had an issue it was addressed quickly! One of the first schools off base that I would recommend highly. I hope soon all states adopt Core Curriculum and soon so we can keep our kids education on the same level in each state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2013

I have 3 children at RWES and I love the school. They have some of the most caring teachers at this school. My oldest has went to this school since K and is now in 5th grade and there has only been one teacher that I haven't liked. She is no longer at the school. All the other teachers my children have had were wonderful. The only bad thing I will say about the school is that it could use some remodeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

This is a great school. The teachers are great, and the school is always clean. Though, the principals and the other office staff could use some work. I'd like to give a huge thanks to Ms. Peyton, Ms. Mahoney, Mrs. Field, Mrs. Lichty, Mrs. Bartlebaugh, Mr. Stump, Mrs. Eure, Ms. Pettit, and Ms. Mehaffey. They make this school truly great.


Posted December 31, 2012

We absolutely love this school. The teachers do a great job and the administration is responsive to concerns. My two children are very different and they are meeting each of their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

We love the school!!!!! We are military and my 3 kids are all in RWES for the last 3 yrs. I dont know how the school was the past years, but all i can say we love it. The teachers are awesome (1st to 5th grade), the office staff is always nice. They have extra programs for special gifted and also for kids who need some extra help. The music program with orchestra/band and chorus is really nice. It is an old school but thats the only negative thing about it. Read only the newest comments... WE LOVE RWES ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

My oldest daughter started at RW in 4th grade and did very well. She liked the school. The only concern I had was with the GT program or lack there of. The plus side was that they do offer chorus and band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

it was a wonderful school, the teachers are friendly and are willingly to help in any way they can


Posted July 30, 2011

I had 2 children go through Roye William Elementary. My son went there from 2nd grade, he did great. My daughter started in Kindergaten, and was excellent upon completion of 5th grade. Thanks to the excellent work Ms. Aboud, and Ms Peyton put in. Mr Knight helped my son to be excellent in Math. Roye William elementary is like a Private school that is run by the government. We did not need a private school, because we could not ask for anything better. Thanks Ms. Osborne for your wonderful leadership, and caring for our kids. I love Roye William elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

I have had two kids go to Roye Williams, one gifted and one special needs. We are prior military, but have only been at RWES as civilians. I can not say enough good things about the school and the staff. The school and staff are fantastic. I am so glad my kids go there, all of the teachers I have worked with have just been great. I only have one kid there now, but I think RWES has been a blessing for our family. The class sizes are amazing for public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

I had 3 children attend this school. We are military. We are currently in Texas and I wish we were back in MD at Roye Williams. Staff are friendly if you are respectful, too. They CARE about all of the children. If your child is acting up, it is poor parenting; NOT the schools fault that they need to enforce discipline. My kids were happy there, cared for a GREAT deal. I had gifted AND special needs children at this school. Good luck, military families, finding a more caring school for our kids. I hate where we are and have had to pull my special needs child OUT of Texas schools. Thank God for Roye Williams!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Oh, how I miss Mrs, Duffy, She was my son's kindergarten teacher and then my daughter's for the first part of kindergarten. Then we were forced to move to Okinawa Japan and the disappointments just keep coming. I do agree that the office staff at Roy Williams could use a lesson or two in customer service but once you get past that you find that most of the teaching staff are wonderful and caring for our children and their needs. I also Iike Mrs. Osborn. Mrs. Miller was a whole other story. Class sizes are amazing as compared to elsewhere. When my childrend attended kindergarten I don't think there ever were above 13 students in their class along with a TA and a teacher. We come to Okinawa and there are 30 kids to one teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Roye- Williams serves the military base and local community at a sub-standard level. There are no after school prgrams that assist struggling children; their only option is IEP and military-exclusive after school programs. CIVILIANS?? The school offers very little academically to strengthen the children and nothing to assist the parents! The school is nothing without us: students and parents. Military get first priority because of the military, not because of the school. The fact that they serve our country and have a tremdous sacrifice should be applauded and recognized, but not at the expense of the civilian community. Since RWE is not a military school, more emphasis should be placed on all students and their academic success. The parents want to support their children and the school system, but if we continue to reward and (in a sense) ignore the substandard approach it affects our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

RWES is lcated in southern Havre De Grace, but it mainly serves the Aberdeen Proving Ground military base and local community. There are many wonderful teachers, but the reduction in number of students (due to redistricting and BRAC) is reducing staff. The Parent Teachers Association is outstanding, and the organization conducts fantastic book fairs and family friendly events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

Roye-Williams is a wonderful school that DOES have many programs to help children who are in need as well as enriched. The parents who have written comments before probably didn't seek out those programs that are provided. Looking at MSA test scores RWES has some of the highest rankings in all of the county especially of any route 40 school. My children love it there and the teachers are truly caring!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

Roye Williams is a great school my son is in Kindergarten and reading at a 2nd great level thanks Mrs. Duffy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My kids attended RWES and I was not happy with it. The staff is very unfriendly..Specially the office personnel. I am very glad that we are no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

My children have attended RWES for one year, and we are extremely disappointed. The majority of the staff are unfriendly and unconcerned with the needs of military families, even though they receive federal funding (I have had to fill out this paperwork personally). The only reason I gave this school two stars was because my kids are VERY lucky and have teachers who are the exception for this school. These few are the school's saving grace. But, I recommend military families to live off post and send their kids to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My son started kindergarten here this year (2005-2006). He has a wonderful teacher. She is very experienced and has very high expectations for her students. She uses positive words and encouragement to challenge her students to do their very best. My son is learning how to read in her class and should leave kindergarten completely ready for first grade, if not slightly advanced. I am also happy with the specials--art, music, PE, and media. I have lived in states that don't even provide these subjects in their schools. I think the class size is great! There are only 15 kids in his kindergarten class. A few of the other classes have 14. Again, I have been elsewhere with 25 kindergarteners to 1 teacher, with no aide. So far we are very, very happy with Roye-Williams and yes, we are military.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

i went to this school 2 years ago, i was there from 2nd to 5th grade. parents were usually involved with their children. i live in texas now but in this school i learned alot. here, i am repeating what i did in 5th grade. i got into the music program here and learned the basics of playing my clarinet. most of the after school activities were from the youth center and the teachers were really nice. most programs were given to the really smart kids. when i was there, there was plenty to do always. but as a kid still i say this school deserves some credit for its teaching ability.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2005

My daughter started kindergarden at this school, and went through 2nd grade. The principal and most of the staff are not friendly. This school is big on testing children for problems, to get the extra funding, and not helping them properly. There are no programs for the children after school. I just spent $9,000 this summer to get my child to the reading level she needed to be on. I have put my daughter in a different school this year that offers a more possitive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Black 24% 35%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Oakington Rd
Havre De Grace, MD 21078
Phone: (410) 273-5536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Meadowvale Elementary School
Havre De Grace, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT