Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgecrest Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 750 students

Our school is best known for it's positive school climate.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

Principal it's great I wish all are like her she is a very nice at this school pushing kind too get the right place education thanks for you jobs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I visited Ridgecrest today as it is the assigned school for our neighborhood. I was able to meet with the principal and she gave me a tour of the school. It is an old school so the outside is a little run down, but the inside was very nice. I was also happy to see how pleasant and engaged the kids are. The principal is a no nonsense type; however, the kids genuinely like her and she was very interested in what they were doing. She also gave a detailed explanation of test scores and I will say I was amazed. I was considering private school, but after my meeting I will have no problem sending my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

I was assigned to the principalship of Ridegcrest ES in June 2011 and have since taken measures to engage our staff, parents and community in supporting our students as they grow to become productive members of our society. We are the Ridgecrest Rockets and we are "Blasting off to High Achievement".... I invite members of the community to stop by and observe our Rockets in action. You may even experience our teachers in the Mission Control Center as they colllabrorate and share best practices.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2010

This is a school that does NOT should not be recomended to any parent to have kids at the teachers and principal don t try to help the kids or the parents at all. there is no involment or comunication from teachers to parents. my Son was in the p-k while my daugther in the second grade and the teacher instead of calling me she would tell my daugther what was going on with my son SAD i know not even a call or an e-mail. glad my Kids are not in this school NO more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Don't consider this school for your child. I wish I had read these reviews before considering this school. Thankfully, I have my daughter in another school. Zero relation with parents. Close this school or change the entire staff- beginning with principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

The school is not a place to send your child - the principal, and teachers are not supportive. Find another school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Administration have less regard for parents, and in the process students become the victims. This school needs a complete revamp- from up to down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

i wiuld say that ridgecrest is an ok school but they could atleast have a better playground and better equipment. their arent many good actities and the teahers,staff,and principal are neglectful to students so this school isnt too great and its not a pocket full of sunshine at all not even close lots of studen have been transferred too
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2008

In the past 2 years Ridegecrest has let the subpar teachers go, so the faculty is hardly recognizable anymore. All teachers are now highly qualified and there is a new principal. Time will tell how the change affects school scores, but it is a step in the right direction.


Posted December 15, 2005

Although I have been associated with this school for many years, I am increasingly dissappointed with the school. The principal was trying but the past few years they have had a series of vice-principals and the lastest one is abysmal and unfair to students and teachers alike. There are no extracurricular activities and very little parent involvemnet. There are many good teachers there who seem to be overwhelmed with the lack of leadership. There is no art at all, music is not suppoerted by the administration and teaching to the test seems the norm. I cannot reveal my email address because I am afraid of the repercussions my children may have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2005

My daughter has been at Ridgcrest since she was 3 and I would have her no other place-I love the cultured environment and she has done well under the instruction of all her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

The homework is very easy--Seems like the work is given from a CVS preschool booklet.. Some of the staff are more concerned with staff than the parents of the children. There is a delayed communication of school events...usually given a day or two notice. I once asked a permanent teacher about the date of the next PTA meeting, and her response was...'I'm sorry, could you double check the proncipal's office, I have no idea since I never keep up with those dates anyway'. My son still attends, he loves his teacher, and has made plenty of friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

This school is not up to par at all. The children are out of control, the staff is not at the level it needs to be, and it's over crowded. The homework is too easy and the children are behind in receiving the work at the level they are in. I am truly disgusted. dismal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

The complete lack of consideration for concerned parents who want to be involved in the education of their children is absolutely appalling. Unfortunately, even going to the principal of the school doesn't help. Dismal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

Hi was pupil at this school back in the 60's It was a great school and I remember with great fondness Mrs Mills, Mr Golihew, Miss Erickson and other teachers. I was a pupil there for three years as my father worked for the British Embassy. Could you please tell me whether you have an on line photo I could show my children. Is Mrs Mills still alive would you know? I still have a letter she wrote to me 40 years ago when I left thanking me for a leaving present I gave her.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 23, 2003

The lack of leadership at this school defines the entire environment and overall feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 12%
Black 35% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
White 2% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Cantonese)
French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 1:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Denise Dunn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • STEAM
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • PGCPS Bus Service
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • University of Maryland
  • Metropolitan Seventh Day Adventist Church
  • Mar Thoma Church
  • National Capital Area Food Bank
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls on the run
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • read to students
More from this school
  • Ridgecrest ES is home to over 750 students from many different countries. Our students speak over 23 different languages.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Nicholas Orem MS
Northwesten HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6120 Riggs Rd
Hyattsville, MD 20783
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 853-0820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT