Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


University Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
School is great. Teachers are fantastic with 2 or 3 exceptions. Some are very snob.. Overall this school is just the most amazing place to educate a kid. So much parent involvement I love it!!! It is like a little family. New principal... I am not in love with. She is not what I expected. I tried several times to talk to her and she never paid attention. Other than that it is wonderful!!

University Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I want to say thank you to Ms Martin, Ms Szelc and Ms Young. My son love the school because of them. This amazing teachers help my son in incredible ways. He was very shy and scared to be in school, but they helped him to loose the fears and now he is a very loved and amazing kid. Thank you for every single things you do. Your knowledge and patience has been amazing!!!!!


University Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
We have had very good experiences with all of our children's teachers, for core academic subjects, as well as music, PE and art.

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
I feel very lucky to be able to send my children to a neighborhood school in walking distance of my home, in a diverse and engaged community. The teachers are amazingly dedicated and have really made the school a community space of learning. Students are pushed to excel and presented with many opportunities to do so.

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Very engaged staff and parent community. The school was recently awarded the Maryland State "Excellence in Talented and Gifted Education" (EGATE) certification. PTA is well funded through the generosity of the community and a well-planned series of annual events -- after school enrichment classes, Azalea Classic 5K, Silent Auction, and other events -- and supports the school with a variety of academic enhancements and enriching activities. This is the second year of Italian instruction, and the school has always had a tremendous music program (including choral and instrumental classes, plus an annual musical). TAG and differentiated instruction is offered in every classroom. So thankful the school goes through 6th grade as well. A real treasure in our community and the state.


University Park Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Most are highly engaged and capable. Several are gems that are institutions at the school. Wish the class sizes were smaller.

University Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The lower elementary grades have been manageable with reading each night encouraged (whether parent-led pre-reading or independently when ready) and then one skill they have been learning. I have found it a great way to know what my less-than-communicative student has been working on in class. There are a few larger projects each year that may or may not be required based on age / TAG status (Write-a-Book, Reading Extravaganza, Science Fair).

University Park Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
In addition to academic rigor, the school offers opportunities to stretch -- whether learning a new language, mastering an instrument, or learning a new skill in an after school class.


University Park Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Students are in diverse classes which offer opportunities to value others who may be different than themselves.

University Park Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The students have strong relationships and bullying is addressed in schoolwide awareness campaigns as well.

Nearby schools

University Park Elementary School
4315 Underwood St, Hyattsville, MD  20782
(301) 985-1898
Last modified University Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top