Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Hyattsville, MD
Students enrolled: 661
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University Park Elementary School 4

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
School is great. Teachers are fantastic with 2 or 3 exceptions. Some are very snob and nasty. Overall this school is just the most amazing place to educate a kid. So much parent involvement I love it!!! It is like a little family. New principal... I am not in love with. She is not what I expected. I tried several times to talk to her and she never paid attention. Other than that it is wonderful!!

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
Culturally-enriching, academically-engaging and strong community support. This is our 3rd year at UPES and we have 2 children attending the school. Knowledgeable & caring teachers & staff along with a diverse selection of extracurricular activities & classes to supplement what has been squeezed out due to current trending educational models and philosophies, has kept us happy with our children's educational experience. Examples of this are the school's annual Azalea Classic (AC), after-school enrichment classes (AEC), book log events, Dr. Seuss celebration, FallFest, Hispanic Heritage Night, Family Game Night and more. For the AC, the teachers incorporate into their math and physical education curriculum with charts, graphs, goal tracking and a weekly recess running club complete with pedometers. AEC supplements the public school system offering a diverse class selection on topics ranging from foreign language-ceramics-drama-chess & more. The add'l activities help foster a strong community which is proven to be a strong predictor of producing successful students. A school is what you make it and, like anything, at a minimum, you'll get out of it what you put into it.


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a community member
I loveed it at UPES. It was some of the best years of my life. Shout out to Mrs. Young, Mrs. Phillips, Mrs. Bijou, and Mrs. Freeman

University Park Elementary School 3

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
What a welcome change in the selection of a new principal for a once great school in a still very nice neighborhood. The teachers here are excellent and the "supportive" parents are basically an extension of community cliques, which I am ashamed to say that I too am a part of. The former principal dismantled all true cultural activities in favor of her American ideal which was definitely not Prince George's County or the world, and ended up with a slew of mediocre, white-washed, hoe-down styled activities that was not all representative of the beautiful diversity found in our community. She had trouble relating to minority faculty, parents and students in Prince George's County. Glad to see her go and looking forward to a new school year led by seasoned professionals who have experience with all types of students.

University Park Elementary School 2

Posted February 25, 2012
- a parent
I do not feel this school can meet the needs of children with specials needs, especially those with an IEP. From my experience, students who start at UPES with an IEP seem to transfer or families move to a different county before reaching the fifth grade. Very unfortunate and hopefully the school's (and the county's) culture will become more open to inclusion.


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
Excellent organization !! principal is always cheerful and engaging around kids activities! love the staff and teachers they all seem like a wonderful family =) !!

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
We love this school because the teachers are outstanding and the community is very involved there. The in-school music program is also wonderful. The vast majority of teachers at the school are able to effectively challenge all the kids in the class, no matter what their level by differentiating their lessons on the classroom. They are able to juggle the county, state and federal requirements while also integrating creative ideas and interesting projects into the school day. There is a great Science Bowl team that competes at the county level, and there are numerous other afterschool activities, including PTA-organized language and art classes. It is an incredibly diverse school, both socioeconomically and ethnically, which offers children a terrific introduction to many different cultures and worldviews. Though the building is aging, the education and administration are top-notch.

University Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2011
- a parent
University Park Elementary School offers an excellent education which is enhanced by the strong sense of community. The children feel part of the warm environment. They are welcomed warmly by the Principal, Asst Principal, Teachers, and staff from the moment they walk in the door each day. The Principal is excellent - a true leader who demonstrates a positive, can do attitude. This is an excellent school. We feel our children are getting an excellent education at UPES.


University Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
A bit of light in a historically troubled school system. Bolstered by support from the community and the PTA, and anchored by good teachers, this school has much to offer its diverse student body. If anything, it may be a victim of its success, and everybody has perhaps unrealistically high expectations of the teachers and curriculum. In sum, many good teachers, a supportive administration, and very involved parents help keep this a high performing school.

University Park Elementary School 4

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University Park Elementary School
4315 Underwood St, Hyattsville, MD  20782
(301) 985-1898
Last modified University Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University Park Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top