Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


General Smallwood Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2015
- a teacher
I can teach anywhere but I have chosen to teach here for many years. There is a great deal of structure and high expectations for academics and behavior. Many students come here with needs above and beyond what many folks would expect, and the Smallwood staff and community provide caring support along with quality instruction. My colleagues and I sincerely care about our students. All students can excel in classes and extracurricular activities. Students have access to technology daily through Bring Your Own Device (BYOD). Parents are encouraged to get involved through PTO memberships, volunteering, and classroom visits.

General Smallwood Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
My son dreads going to school every morning. There is a huge bullying problem at this school that is not being addressed. It was suggested to me that my son was perhaps bringing the harassment upon himself. The administration in this school needs to be changed, or educated on not victimizing the victim.


General Smallwood Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The Worst I've ever seen so far...in order for my child to learn or master a skill I have to stay on the Teachers to let them know what my daughter is not picking up on....before you know it they already covering another lesson and most of the students in the class haven't grasped or mastered the concepts of the past lesson....they get NO recess, they have to be pretty much on silent time during lunch and when their not talking amongst each other the Principal or Assistance are giving speeches, yes during the only free time the children are allowed during the day....Most of the time I'm wondering if I sit in class each day would it be a difference and/or will I see better results, but if I do that who's going to pay the bills...I ought to trust my child Teacher that she is giving quality education to my child...this is NOT being done...the Principal is messy, the counselors are messy and a few teachers just don't care ...my experience for he last year has been awful...I hope things get better before they get any worst....Smallwood really need to evaluate the school and start giving the children quality education.

General Smallwood Middle School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school! My daughter always has good things to say about the teachers and principal, she loves them and her classes. I have met all of her teachers and I agree, they are amazing. She is on the Principal's Honor Roll or High Honor Roll every semester. But of course, she notices who the bad kids are and stays away from them, only associates with positive and good kids, which is a blessing. Overall, this is a really good school!

General Smallwood Middle School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
General Smallwood is a good school... Your child will be good if you are involved!! The teachers were great!!


General Smallwood Middle School 4

Posted July 07, 2013
- a community member
This school was really good compared to Benjamin Stoddert it could of been better if they rezoned the poor to another school. I hate to say that but there were only bad kids from those neighborhoods. Other than that the environment is friendly and the teachers work hard at this school and I recommend it to parents to try it out, but please only enroll your child here if your a good parent.

General Smallwood Middle School 1

Posted February 09, 2013
- a community member
I have seen the kidsat General Smallwood they are not happy there and they do not like it. In my opion i think it is not school they don't like it is the people who teach the classes and the actual way they run the school. I would not recommend this school until they have corected the school and made the kids happy under circumstance's.

General Smallwood Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a teacher
I am thrilled to work here. I have seen great leadership from teachers and administrators alike. Parents are very supportive. We have won PBIS awards for our continued efforts to avoid matters that are harmful or unsafe in our building. We have many less occurences than most schools in our county. The students know that their principal respects them and gives them the opportunity to succeed.


General Smallwood Middle School
no rating

Posted December 07, 2009
- a parent
Smallwood is a much better school that what it use to be. baisically if your child stays on the right path and away from the wrong group of kids, they should have no problems. I enjoy the attention that the teachers give the students academically. their programs are very broad.

General Smallwood Middle School
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
My son transitioned to Maryland June of last year. I have had the opportunity to visit with the staff, counselors and principal on a few occasions. I always receive a warm and positive reception. Ms Harris, my sons' 7th grade counselor was very encouraging, supportive and positive. The principal expressed her thoughts and made me feel that my son added value to the school. Although my son and I are far apart, I am confident that he will continue to do well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

General Smallwood Middle School
4990 Indian Head Hwy, Indian Head, MD  20640
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (301) 743-5422
Last modified General Smallwood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top