Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Kensington, MD
Students enrolled: 550
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy Of The Holy Cross 2

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
The president and principal are ruining the school, treating girls like toddlers one minute and prisoners of war the next. It is a very cliquey school with a lot of mean spirited interaction.

Academy Of The Holy Cross
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
I think girls who have it keep it, but I don't think the school teaches this.


Academy Of The Holy Cross
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
Some years like sophomore year I was buried. Junior year was a joke. I learned almost nothing because I got no homework junior year.

Academy Of The Holy Cross
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
I don't think it develops respect. It is supposed to be preparing girls for their future but the program is stuck in the 1970s.

Academy Of The Holy Cross
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
Many of the teachers have advanced degrees but they are inexperienced and are either bad teachers or leave after one year. The others seem burnt out or bored.


Academy Of The Holy Cross
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
They talk about these things but the vibe in the school is one of ruthless envy.

Academy Of The Holy Cross 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
This is a terrible school with declining enrollment. The administration are petty and incompetent. For every decent teacher there are 3 who can't/won't teach. The faculty turnover is unbelievable. They claim they are preparing young women for their futures, but they fail to provide even minor guidance. Girls are targeted by the administration and by fellow students for harassment. Punishment is doled out by the administration in uneven and extremely harsh ways. That is, of course, unless you are writing checks for the never ending Holy Cross begathon. The atmosphere there is extremely unhealthy and a large portion of the girls are miserable. The sports teams are a shadow of what the once were. The school is kept at subzero temperatures in winter and sweltering in the warmer weather because the President is trying to save money. Tuition increases $1-3K per year. We wanted to take our daughter out in sophomore year, but stupidly allowed her to remain. A damaged self-esteem, terrible experience and poor education is all we got for $80k+.

Academy Of The Holy Cross 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Challenging academics and rigorous courses, warm and caring administration, strong athletics and creative arts. A great school.


Academy Of The Holy Cross 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
A great environment - wonderful blend of academics, athletics, arts and leadership opportunities. Girls are open and respectful of each other and have a great bond. Teachers and faculty genuinely care for students and go out of their way to help them succeed. College counseling program is the envy of other schools in the area.

Academy Of The Holy Cross 2

Posted January 06, 2013
- a student
Academy of the Holy Cross is not that great of a school. The teachers teach the lessons too fast and expect students to ace the test and quizzes. The girls there are also very catty and rude. Not a great school.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Of The Holy Cross
4920 Strathmore Avenue, Kensington, MD  20895
(301) 942-2100
Last modified Academy Of The Holy Cross is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Academy Of The Holy Cross Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top