Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Kensington, MD
Students enrolled: 580

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newport Mill Middle School 4

Posted April 25, 2014
- a teacher
Newport Mill Middle School boasts a multicultural student population, a highly diversified staff and an environment that makes one feel more like they are in a small village than a public school. Students from over 40 countries walk the halls of Newport Mill. There is an excellent ESOL program and a differentiated curriculum for the diversity of students. The staff of the school are devoted to infusing rigor into the curriculum. Teachers challenge students with lessons based on higher level thinking. There are a plethora of after-school activities in the arts, drama, sports and computer. The staff are dedicated to the students and there is a rich dialogue ongoing between staff and parents that reinforce the greatness of the school spirit "Go Tigers!"

Newport Mill Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a community member
newport is one of the best middle schools in this area! i went here and they have so many classes thta they offer. many many advance classes for the kids to take and already get high school credit . the teachers love their job and its a very calm school everything under control. and determine to help the community.


Newport Mill Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2010
- a community member
I really like this school.It has a very firm but kind principal who keeps every one under control.The teachers are very understanding towards the students. The cafeteria give some very healthy choices like salads and fruits. for the children.This school has star quality.

Newport Mill Middle School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
I think it is an excellent school! It has really great and funny teachers. It's principal and vice principal keep everything in control. The cafeteria people are great too with a variety of great food including healthy ones too!

Newport Mill Middle School 1

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Newport Mill Middle School 4

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Newport Mill Middle School 4

Posted January 12, 2005
- a parent
I have a sixth-grader here. We have been very pleased with his experiecnce there. Most of his classes are at the Gifted/Talented level. Home work levels are adequate but not excessive. I particularly appreciate the strong leadership by the Principal. You can see it reflected in the staff and students. The firm discipline helps to maintain a safe, education-condusive atmosphere for all students.

Newport Mill Middle School 1

Posted October 22, 2004
- a parent
I am very disappointment with the quality of work that my child brings home from Newport Middle School. My child is in the gifted and talented program, everyday I am told that there is no homework. I do not feel that my child is challenged enough in any of the classes that are provided at this school. Newport Middle School is rated very low amongst most other public schools. I feel that the teachers should give homework, challenge the children, and make school more exciting or interesting to attend. I feel the Principal is only concern about himself, it is all about him and his personal image, not the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newport Mill Middle School
11311 Newport Mill Rd, Kensington, MD  20895
(301) 929-2244
Last modified Newport Mill Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newport Mill Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top