Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Kensington, MD
Students enrolled: 100
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
Although Grace has weathered some challenges and transitions, over the past few years, our child's experience there has improved every year. A very highly regarded new Head of School is set to come on board in July 2012 and the teachers we have direct experience with range from solid to inspired. Specials and specialist teachers are very strong. Small class sizes allow for individualized instruction and a lot of flexibility and hands-on experience. The other kids and families are nice, down-to-earth people and the community is warm and welcoming.

Grace Episcopal Day School 1

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Grace Episcopal Day School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
Like nearly every private school in the DC region, Grace has implemented some changes to better position itself to weather an economic recession while retaining a strong financial position. One of the changes made was to temporarily (for next year) increase the class size by 2 students, from 18 to 20. As a result, a few grades (not all grades!) will have 1 'section' as opposed to 2 sections. Some parents prefer this, some don't. Either way Grace's programs (art, language, phys ed, etc.) aren't affected, and its admissions criteria is stronger than ever, even when it might be tempting to accept every applicant that comes in the door. So, ask lots of questions. And ask them at each school you visit.

Grace Episcopal Day School 3

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
If you are considering Grace, be sure to ask a lot of questions. Many things have changed recently. Inquire how many children will be in your child's class (the class size limit recently changed) and how many classes there will be per grade. The school has lost many families recently. Some of the other glowing reviews may not reflect the current state of affairs. This school has some very nice famlies and some nice teachers, but be sure you are clear about what you are getting. Don't take anything for granted.


Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
My husband and I consider the academic program outstanding, with the development of critical thinking skills the goal of day-to-day learning NOT standardized test preparation. We could not have imagined a more positive school community for our family. Grace really lives by its Mission and Philosophy, and the families are very down to earth for an independent school. We are very pleased that the school is expanding to 8th grade!

Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
I really like this school for my kids. They are learning to be kind and caring along with the academics. It is a close-knit community and everyone knows them.

Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted October 22, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted May 26, 2005
- a parent
In my experience with three children, Grace provides the same high caliber of education as big name schools costing twice as much. The teachers provide an amazing amount of individual attention. The academic program is high quality, and the academic subjects are supplemented by really first rate art and music teachers. The atmosphere is warm and caring--everyone in the building knows and greets my children. The parent community is very involved, friendly and unpretentious.
1 person found this helpful

Grace Episcopal Day School 5

Posted December 16, 2004
- a parent
This is a terrific school. Classes are small and there is a lot of individual attention and a very nurturing environment overall. Academic standards are high and the school is strong in all the basic subjects, as well as strong in special subjects--art, science, music. The faculty, admnistrators, and community of parents are all very involved and supportive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grace Episcopal Day School
9411 Connecticut Ave, Kensington, MD  20895
(301) 585-3513
Last modified Grace Episcopal Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Grace Episcopal Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top