Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's first year and he loves it. The school is very inclusive and activities are readily accessible. Great group of parents. Their participation is about average for a school this size. There are just enough folks to get quality programs going but more parent involvement would make Einstein a top tier school. Leadership is tried and true and have seen them in many after-school activities. The faculty and staff is visible and so far seemed proficient in their jobs. Word of caution: some teachers like handouts a little too much. This is usually a sign of lazy teachers who at the turn of a moment will direct you to what has been completed and what has not been turned in if your student is not doing well in class. Overall my son has found a home and I am glad. He is involved in Cross Country and they are a great and diverse group of kids.

Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is enjoying her time at Einstein. The principle is fantastic, and the teachers enthusiastic. They have a variety of programs that meet the needs all most/all of the kids. Very happy with our decision to go there. Please note, that most of the reviews below are VERY old and do not fully represent today's Einstein!


Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a student
Einstein is absolutely WONDERFUL as a school! While I am moving because of personal reasons, I would recommend Einstein to any kid with a desire to be a part of theatre, art, music, sports, academics, or languages. The students are very accepting, and there is a blind student in our school with a guide dog, and he is included in everything, such as main roles in the school play. While there are a few teachers who are less than fantastic, many of the teachers are very helpful if you make the effort to see them during lunch (which is 50 minutes so students can spend half of it eating and half getting help from their teachers). Also, besides the general obnoxious attitude sophomores have, there is not a "class war." However, there are occasionally fights in school, but it is usually between the kids who aren't trying to participate in class anyways. Regardless, this school is amazing!

Albert Einstein High School 2

Posted August 28, 2012
- a student
Sub par school, couldn't wait to get out of there. The students don't really care. Only a handful of good teachers.

Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted June 24, 2012
- a student
The school is wonderful, I love it so much; I can't wait to go back. I am a sophomore and when I arrive at Einstein my only attention was being in the VAC (Visual Art Center) I really didn't care about the school, in fact I thought it would be awful but the minute I step into Einstein I fell in love with it. It was not difficult at all to make new friends considering the Fact that the kids are creative, smart, artistic, and nice..... Well most of them. I m also getting a wonderful and rigorous education with the wide range of honors and AP courses at Einstein. The classes are 45 minutes (7 classes a day) NO BLOCK SCHEDULE! Which I prefer and so do most teachers. In the school you are require to choose an academy most of the student body choose VAPA (Visual and Performing arts Academy) but I'm in the VAC which is such a great place and program to be in if you re an artists. Kids from the whole county apply to this program but they only let in a small amount in each year. The school is beautiful and decorated with art and the community is very accepting and spirited. The IB program is so intense most students don't even make it by senior year.


Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a student
I love this school, I m so glad of the education I get from Albert Einstein High School ,The kids are just so excepting of each other but there are some kids you wonder about but don t all high school have them? The school is just great and beautiful and when I say beautiful I mean BEA-TI-FUL.The school is the location of the VAC (Visual Art Center) and the paintings the kids do in that program is so professional it will just blow your mind, but this is basically an arts school so the talent in the VAPA (Visual and Performing art academy) is just as great. The school has all 7th periods a day which is good especially if you re taking a foreign langue so you won t forget anything. The lunch is an hour so you have time to eat and visit a teacher. This is a fantastic choice if you re really into the arts ,we are a creative school consider the fact that we have the VAC and the VAPA but if your mostly in academics then this is also a great choice because we are an IB school so you can take really advance classes.It was the best choice I ever made.

Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a student
THe school has progressed since the older reviews were written. I am a current senior at AEHS an am thankful for the education provided. I am a minority who is in the IB program. This school has enforced education by the means of having fun with more class interaction with the material.I would recommend this high school to anyone who is seeking a good education.

Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
This school is very accepting of different kinds of people, and students are very nice and open to you no matter who you are. Teachers are of a wide variety but are all understanding and do a wonderful teaching job. This school is good for anyone.


Albert Einstein High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
I am a graduate of Albert Einstein and have many fond memories of my time there.

Albert Einstein High School 5

Posted March 03, 2006
- a student
Whoever wrote the Feb 04 statement is completely ridiculous. The IB program is available to all students and if your child chooses not to participate, its not discrimination. Other acadamies are available besides IB and they are available to all students. Besides, the suggestion that minorities are not as well included in these programs is just stupid ecspcially seeing as how the minorities in the rest of the US are the majorities in AEHS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albert Einstein High School
11135 Newport Mill Rd, Kensington, MD  20895
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (301) 929-2200
Last modified Albert Einstein High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top