Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garrett Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

My son just joined Garrett park elementary in first grade.. He really likes his school and has adjusted really well. The teachers are really undestanding and professtional. .Overall it has been a welcoming experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

This is my second year at the school and I think Is wonderful. The teachers are great and the principal and Vice principal are really professional and willing to help anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

In a climate of shrinking resources and ever more complex elementary curriculum, Garrett Park is nothing short of miraculous. It puts complex educational theories into practice while recognizing the unique gifts of each student. The principal is very hands on. I see her in the hallway almost every visit I make. She continues to surprise me by being up-to-date on each of my children's progress. The faculty is dedicated to high-level education and very skilled in its execution. The staff is professional, courteous, and quick to smile. I always feel comfortable calling. Three of my children have gone to Garrett Park. Each has had individual needs met with competence and understanding. Two have IEPs that reflect their learning style and support both their strengths and weaknesses. The principal worked with me and the team to insure that the proper staff and testing were involved. I feel my children s issues were well defined and the proper accommodations were put in place. The school nurse has been highly professional and attentive in helping manage my son's asthma. I have nothing but praise to offer for the entire operation at Garrett Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

Parent of a special education pre-schooler who goes to GPES for speech therapy weekly and will attend GPES for K this fall. We LOVE the school and the staff we have interacted with to this point. The counselor is AMAZING, the resource teacher supportive and accomodating, the PTA is very involved and pro-active, and the speech therapist is sensational. The new building is beautiful, and the staff makes it even more appealing. We have been nothing short of 100% impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Garrett Park Elementary School is a great school. The Prinicipal is a very helpful and supportive to parents and students. Three years back when my kid had in trouble and conflict with his class teacher she voluntarily helped us to resolve the issue peacefully. From our experience the class teachers were really patient and sincere shaping our kids. The school has recently renovated the building with all new facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

The principal was unwilling to take appropriate action to ensure that my child and classmates received appropriate instruction by their teacher in the classroom setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

New parent and not very happy with the administration office. Not welcoming and uninformative. I had to keep calling to get information that my child needed and go pick it up instead of the administration mailing it to my house like everybody else. I do hope my child have a better experience this upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I have a child going into first grade, and I love the school and the teachers. The admininstration has responded to issues quickly and the morale seems to be really good. Even though I have no idea who the prior poster is, I feel somehow responsible. If any parent or prospective parent has any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to talk to the administration. We are going into a new school year, so I hope everyone gets off on the right foot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

Brand new to this school and not happy at all. I have never seen a school that was not welcoming AT ALL .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

I've had two kids go through Garrett Park and I haven't had a single complaint. The teachers are excellent and the morale throughout the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

This school is a great school, the teachers are fantastic! The after school activities are fun and the classes are not tedious. The principal is fun.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 43%
Hispanic 21% 12%
Asian 16% 6%
Black 10% 36%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Elaine Chang-Baxter
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4810 Oxford Street
Kensington, MD 20895
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 929-2170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Cross School
Garrett Park, MD





Brookewood School
Kensington, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT