Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rock View Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Payne (Art), Ms. Jones (1st), Mr. Koser (3rd) - and Mr. Perry (Music) and Ms. Alexander (Principal) - Great group!

Rock View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
They encourage integrity, respect/acceptance of others, good citizenship and taking risk to achieve something (perseverance in the face of not getting it perfect). They often cite the core values of the school through classroom and special events. They promote love of learning, thinking about what they read, embracing the diversity of others, critical-thinking, and helping other students.


Rock View Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
My daughter's had four great teachers from Kindergarten through 3rd grade. She reads above grade level, but is consistently challenged (and encouraged to learn in multiple areas). They not only foster the typical reading, writing, math, science exploration, and art expression, but great interpersonal and citizenship focus as well. Rock View's also a very diverse school with families from a variety of cultures. It seems fun and challenging. The staff is very friendly, accessible and genuinely loves kids.

Rock View Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Rock View for three years now. While I have been thoroughly pleased with the materials taught and her progress made, what really speaks volumes is my daughter's absolute enthusiasm to learn and be in the classroom. She "hates fire drills and substitute teachers" because it takes away from her learning time with her teachers. She is continually inspired to "do her personal best." On the numerous times that I have corresponded with the principal, she has been supportive and proactive, often going above and beyond. While the PTA is small (and is often the same individuals,) they do an excellent job providing various themed nights for the kids (movies, variety show, international night, picnics, etc) and take special measure to show the teachers our appreciation.

Rock View Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
My two kids attend Rockview and love it. The staff is friendly and the teachers and excellent. They challenge the students in learning and influence them to do beyond what they think they can do. The principal is such a caring, friendly and respectable person to have your children around.


Rock View Elementary School 4

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Rock View since kindergarten. I have been so impressed by the staff and the teachers. They are so personable and they all really care about the students at the school. I think the most remarkable asset to the school is the wonderful parent support and participation. The PTA is is not big, but it is very active and inclusive of all of the the students that go to Rock View. The new principal is a wonderful addition to the school. There are three teachers that bring my rating down to a 4. I am hoping that the implementation of curriculum 2.0 in the fourth and fifth grades will weed some of the less competent teachers out.

Rock View Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
We have 3 kids at Rock View. We recently moved to the area and came from a wonderful school. We were worried that Rock View would not live up to the standards of our old school- but we are SO impressed with the staff, the Principal and the school environment. The principal is very accessable and moved very quickly to integrate our children (one has an IEP). The teachers our children have this year are all excellent. We feel our kids are in very good and capable hands.

Rock View Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with Rock View! My child is continually challenged to do his personal best. The performance based grouping allows children extra help or extra acceleration as needed. The staff really takes time to know the students and teach them at appropriate levels. I like the monthly data notebooks which keep my updated on my child's progress.


Rock View Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
I love Rock View. I have two kids there and am very impressed by the amount of time the staff spends with the kids. Any problems are immediately addressed.

Rock View Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2008
- a parent
The principal is first rate in dealing with the inevitable problems that children, parents, and teachers have at an elementary school. He is professional, kind, understanding, great with children, and follows through. I am very pleased with the teachers my children have had (4 so far). The coursework is challenging and my kids have made many new friends. They are learning and happy. So am I.

Nearby schools

Rock View Elementary School
3901 Denfeld Ave, Kensington, MD  20895
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (301) 929-2002
Last modified Rock View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top