Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Kingsville, MD
Students enrolled: 260
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Redeemer Classical Christian School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
The homework is not even helpful for the curriculum. For example, in most of my math classes at this school, the homework would be completely different than the tests, setting the students up for failure. And I do not mean that the tests were a harder version of the homework; I mean that there would be random concepts that we were not taught to "test our ability."

Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
You definitely develop persistence and determination, but probably not in the way you hope for your children. Unless you want your children be broken down, emotionally manipulated can and publicly humiliated so they can learn to build themselves back up, in which case Redeemer is the perfect place for you!


Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
Absolutely not. In my experience there, the dean of students reached into a male student's front pocket (the day before his graduation) to check to see if his cell phone was in there, yelled at me because he could see my bra strap where my collared shirt gapped at my shoulder when I bent down at my locker; I was screamed at by multiple teachers for acts of "disrespect" in front of my classmates (instead of pulling me to the side to protect my anonymity). One of these so-called acts of disrespect was skipping my last class of the day so that I could go to a Christian youth retreat.

Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
The teachers clearly played favorites and emotional, manipulative games with the students. I managed to get into the "favorites" group because I no longer wanted to be a target. Words cannot describe the horrific way that the teachers and staff operated here: thinly veiling a hateful and controlling environment by loudly preaching about love and Jesus. I've learned more about caring, compassion, and empathy in my experiences at church and going to a secular collage than I did at redeemer. That is, unless you count what not to do.

Redeemer Classical Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
Teachers at Redeemer Classical Christian School embrace the essence of being servant leaders throughout the school year.


Redeemer Classical Christian School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
The amount of homework has increased in recent years, which precludes them from developing themselves more holistically.

Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
The academic rigors characteristic of Redeemer's educational philosophy leaves students with two options: 1) resignation, or 2) resilience.

Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
The level of academic excellence expected of students fosters respect for the amount of effort and dedication exerted.


Redeemer Classical Christian School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
The school's mission to offer a competitive education - along with a Chrisitan worldview - effectively challenges students. However, at times, this approach leads to legalism, which steers students toward a black-and-white viewpoint.

Redeemer Classical Christian School 4

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
The administration and faculty challenge students by holding them to a high level of integrity - academically and personally.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redeemer Classical Christian School
6415 Mount Vista Road, Kingsville, MD  21087
(410) 592-9625
Last modified Redeemer Classical Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Redeemer Classical Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top