Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas G. Pullen School 3

Posted August 12, 2014
- a community member
As a student at tgp since 4th grade I've enjoyed myself. Middle school was fun and I learned at lot and meet a group of amazing people I'm currently about to do my last year at thomas pullen and overall the social aspect of the school is great but sometimes people don't know when it's time to shut down the behavior problems and that you should respect everyone and sometimes there are things that go on that in my opinion aren't that necessary

Thomas G. Pullen School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a community member
Thomas G. Pullen has excelled in academics and art for 25 years. Keep up the excellent work!


Thomas G. Pullen School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
I was excited when my child started in drama in 6th grade; it appeared to be an arts school that still prioritized academic achievement. Now with an 8th grader, I still agree, but the arts part of the school is a let down. They offer little variety in elective courses or opportunities for kids to cross participate in other arts. For example, a vocal student participating in guitar or a drama student participating in vocal performance. So you end up with health and gym every quarter. The vocal department used to have lots of high profile opportunities, not quite anymore, the band/orchestra I think went to the white house, drama has none. The building is rundown, but the energy inside is positive. Parents are involved & show school pride & support their children's education. The principal is OK, but there is little evidence of her leadership or growth. The kids are good but there is a great deal of mean spiritedness happening and I doubt that it's being addressed widescale which helps with prevention instead of handing a few individual cases. Overall, personal experiences not withstanding, I'd still say it's a pretty good school, better than most even. But you may find better.

Thomas G. Pullen School 2

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
At first my family and I were excited when my child was accepted after their audition to be in the orchestra. If you have the great pleasure to have your child instructed by Mrs. Shieh, consider your child fortunate! The rest of the environment, however, leaves much to be desired. The school houses some of the most ill behaved,supposedly AP,TAG/Magnet students you will ever come across. For some reason discipline in this school is lacking, bullying is ramped and overlooked or seen as a "thing kids go through"....and that was told to me by the guidance counselor!!!! The parents are encouraged to be involved and from the performing arts standpoint, most if not all parents show up. Teachers are very active in responding to emails when contacted, but cliques, bullying and all out foul language and cursing spoken by children in the hallways as young as 7 is the order of each day......What they provide in instruction should not come at the cost of breaking the spirit, well being and mentality of a child just because they may be shorter, taller, darker, lighter, thicker or slimmer than their counterparts.......

Thomas G. Pullen School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a community member
Thomas Pullen is one of the best middle schools in Prince Georges county. the arts program is excellent and the academic program is too. Their test scores are good. Also for the past few years this school is one of the only middle schools to get people from PG county into the junior all-state chorus band and orchestra. this school may be old and worn down but the staff is great and students love this school


Thomas G. Pullen School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school with great faculty. Pretty much everyone I know agrees. Keep up the good work!

Thomas G. Pullen School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergaten in the fall. Everything seems good so far. They really try hard to give their students the best.

Thomas G. Pullen School 2

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
This school has potential and was a good school at one time. They offer great performing arts programs, but what's the point if the kids are unable to learn? Nothing but constant FIGHTS at this school and the staff doesn't have control.


Thomas G. Pullen School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Nothing good to report at this time - in need of a NEW principle, The staff is unprofessional the moral is LOW - it has potential to be a good school if they revamped a lot of things.

Thomas G. Pullen School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love Thomas Pullen my son has been there since grade K and is now in the 3rd grade,and I have LOVED all of his teachers thus far. As many of the older schools in the PG county area this is one of them so its not very pleasing to the eye BUT the inside of the school (teachers, students, and etc) are all well worth it! I highly recommend Thomas G. Pullen.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas G. Pullen School
700 Brightseat Rd, Landover, MD  20785
(301) 808-8160
Last modified Thomas G. Pullen School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas G. Pullen School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top