Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magnolia Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 479 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Magnolia Elementary is an EXCELLENT school. I love the teachers and the Principal is just a Beautiful Woman. My daughter's Teacher, Ms. Wiggins has given her a burst of energy and her self-esteem is at the top like never before. She can't wait until she gets to school. Ms. Canty the Music Teacher is OUTSTANDING! I LOVE MS. CANTY! She is very serious about her students! The Academics as well as the production of shows they put together is Phenomenal & Incredible! This is a First Rate School! You will love sending your child here! As a parent you want your child to get the best rounded education and arts that is available, and Magnolia definitely DELIVERS!!!! If you ever have a problem, Ms. Gillens, the Principal is so soft spoken and soothing that you know she will get to the bottom of what is going on and she handles everything with efficiency and gracefulness! Again, this is a first rate school! I'm Impressed!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My Children do attend Magnolia (2nd and 4th grades). The teachers feed parents on the children's performance, behavior and assignments on a daily basis. The amazing thing is that there is good follow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

My children go to this school, and I've always felt it was a wonderful place for my children to attend. ALL THE STAFF is friendly, and have had great communication with me about my children. I just read the other post, and was shocked someone would write such bad things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

When I read the reviews for Magnolia I was sold on sending my child to this school. BEWARE DO NOT send your child to this school. This school is NOT GOOD in helping your child succeed. I monitored a few of the classrooms and noticed the disrespect the teachers give to the students. The faculty/staff is a gossip mill - with lack of enthusiasm for teaching. I have yet to see one happy teacher in the building. The principal is allowing poor classroom instruction to take place. She seems to be a very nice lady but has no real authority over the teachers. The teachers scream at the children and speak with a lot of sarcasm. This school really needs HELP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

I've worked at a few schools in the county, and I must say this is the best school I have worked at!!! The staff is very involved, and they work very hard to accommodate every student. There are many clubs before and after school, and the children really seem to enjoy it here. The principal is very involved!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2009

I must say that I am proud to be a teacher at Magnolia Elementary School. The principal is great and the staff is very team oriented and willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. We work together as a family and the students are like our own children. At Magnolia we truly live by the motto ' No Child Left Behind.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2009

It is very organized and friendly by my opinion it is the best place to get educated Magnolia is also a clean place most of the time and the students can focus without worrying about what they are wearing that is why we have uniform
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My son was in the 6th grade at Magnolia last year...the 6th grade team was wonderful! My son came from a Christian School and he adjusted well because the staff kept the students on target. I was sad that my son was leaving. The 6th grade prepared my son for 7th grade, I am grateful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

My experience for the first year has been wonderful. My daughter teacher was great, but the key factor to all is to work together as a team effort. I was nervous entering her into a public school (coming from a Christian Academy), but she has done well and I was able to form a great relationship with my childs teacher to make sure that she was able to get the teaching she needed. I also think that if you have teachers who are well-trained, then your child will also excel. I also think the Principal, Vice Principal and the Before and Aftercare Coordiantor are awesome, they are like mothers away from home.....they care and they will correct them if needed. Kudos to a Great school and a wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

My beloved niece has advanced to 1st grade for the ('08 - '09) year at Magnolia Elementary School and her first year as a Kindergartener was wonderful. She's now reading near or @ 2nd grade level and I credit her teacher and the rest of the staff at Magnolia for doing a great job. And as long as there are well-qualified teachers and staff, no doubt she and many other students will excel in every way. :) Additionally, the principal is strict - but's that's a good thing and I hope she'll continue onward making the school a better place for all. Kudos to the Magnolia staff!


Posted January 30, 2008

Magnolia Elementary is a great school. My son is currently in 3rd Grade and this is his first year at this school, he came from WMCS. His teacher at Magnolia is Ms. Marshall who is super teacher and knows how to work with kids. The students are very respectful and I have not seen any problems at the school. My son made the Honor Roll for the First and Second quarter of the school year thus far. I will highly recommend Magnolia Elementary to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Magnolia Elementart is a very nice school. My son is currently in Kindergarten and he has been at the school since Pre-K. The principal and the teachers are very professional, nice and their attitudea are great towards the parents, the students and towards the children's futures. The students are very respectful and I have never seen any problems happening at the school on my many visits there. Hopefully, my son will be able to stay at Magnolia for the rest of his elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I love Magnolia Elementary! My daughter is currently in the 5th grade and she has been at Magnolia since the 2nd grade after going to a Christian Academy. The decision to send her to Magnolia was a hard one because I had heard about the Prince Georges County Public School system but once at Magnolia, my daughter was identified as a TAG student and she has since been on the Principal's list as well as the Honor Roll. I would recommend Magnolia Elementary to all of my family and friends because the leadership of the Principal as well as the dedication of the teachers makes this a place of higher learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 35%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
White 4% 42%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Nightingale Dr
Lanham, MD 20706
Phone: (301) 918-8770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






An-Nur Academy
Lanham, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT