Advertisement
Advertisement

The Academy of Saint Matthias the Apostle

Private | PK-8 | 202 students

The Responsive Classroom Approach
 
 

 
 

Living in Lanham-Seabrook

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $173,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2013

My daughter has been going to this school for several years now. Ms. Greer is now the principal and seems quite young. I am a little concerned about the staff turnover mostly and based on my interactions and observations of Ms Greer, I wonder if the turnover in staff is indicative of her attitude. As a principal, I would expect that she would be more personable with parents and children in person and not simply on paper. This concerns me a bit. I find her to be a little rude and am concerned about how her leadership is impacting the quality of the education at this school starting with staff turnover. So far this is the second week of school, and information about new staff has yet to be communicated. Returning teachers that was communicated over the summer changed and I had no idea until I questioned my child the first day of school. Nursing staff is infrequent and inconsistent. Spanish teaching is lacking. Overall this is a good school but the quality of the school can and will suffer depending on the leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

This was not a great school for Pre-K. I sent my son based on reputation and paid the almost $7,000 in tuition. if I could do it again I would not. It was only nap time and begging for money. I have nothing against Catholic Schools, I graduated from an area Catholic High School and received my graduate degrees from a Catholic University, but this school is poorly run. Education is not the focus of administration it is making the parents happy. The kids suffer, keep your $7,000 and send them to a public school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

I graduated from Saint Matthias years ago. My two younger siblings also graduated from there. Some of the teachers and leadership are still present there now and I have friends who send their children there. I feel comfortable saying that St. Matthias was, is, and hopefully always will be an outstanding school. Everyone close to me who graduated from there feels that the academic foundation and the sense of family simply cannot be rivaled. Some 15 years later, I can still call on my former St. Matthias classmates and teachers. I left St. Matthias after graduation and attended a public school. I tested 3 years ahead and in AP levels. If I lived closer, my own children would be there without a second thought. LOVE this school!


Posted June 6, 2012

As a recent graduate, I believe that St. Matthias is a FANTASTIC school! In the graduating class of 2011, (which consisted of only 26 people) the students earned a full-tuition academic ride, a band scholarship, a visual arts scholarship, two partial-tuition academic scholarships, two Knights of Columbus scholarships, and a Catholic Business Network scholarship. The class of 2012 also earned many awards, including another full ride to Catholic High school and vocal/band and Knights of Columbus scholarships. These excellent results attest to the fantastic and committed teachers and staff, as well as the resources available. The school boasts a full computer lab, two libraries, a music and art room, and a band program. For recess and PE class, the campus includes a basketball court, full baseball and soccer fields, and two play equipment areas. The school also offers soccer, basketball, t-ball, softball, and baseball teams from intramural to varsity. Other extra curricular activities include an elected student council, a newspaper, a chess club, and scouting. I loved my nine years at St. Matthias. It gave me a quality education in a wonderful atmosphere and I highly recommend it.


Posted June 6, 2012

This is the BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am in the 4th grade and LOVE IT! we have an awesome buddy system where the 4th graders are buddies with the Pre K 5th, Kindergarten......etc., etc. and the only thing I don't like is the PE / music teacher Mr. Minc... I shouldent saw but I think they will replace him soon so if you're thinking about sending your child here DO IT!!! Mr. Min... I mean the PE / music teacher might not come back next year


Posted April 23, 2012

I am currently an 8th grader at St. Matthias, and i must say, it has been the best years i could wish to have. Coming from a public school with little stress on my education, i could barely read in the second grade, the year i joined the school. But by my 5th and 6th grade years i was on the honor roll, read FOR FUN, and enjoyed school, all because of the learning enviornment i was placed in. I have even recieved a scholarship to a private high school that i will be attending next year. Its a small school, and it seems to be stuggling with the number of students so i'm sure that everyone at st. Matthias would love to have whoeverr wants to attend. Give us a chance and i'm sure you or your child will have an amazing time during elementery and middle school, then also be well prepared for their futures.


Posted November 3, 2010

I am the proud parent of both a 4th grader and pre-schooler who attend St. Matthias. It is a small school with a hometown feel. Academics and religion are stressed in the school. Teachers are great and keep parents informed. As a busy parent, I do feel we could do better with parent involvement to help nurture the school's extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

As a former student, I must say that this school has an excllent group of teachers that do not settle for anything except your best
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

St. Matthias is a good school. My son has been a student there since kindergarden. He is now in 7th grade. Its a small school. Therefore, all of the kids know each other. But lately there is a serious lake of parent involvement. In years past parents basically ran all non-academic programs/activities. Because of seroius changes to both church and school adminstration, most parents feel left out in the cold. Many long-term parents have pulled out younger kids after the eldest graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

St. Matthias is an excellent school that stimulates children academically. They have also have music, sports, extracurricular activities while providing a deep foundation in Religion. The teachers are excellent and communicate well with the parents. Because St. Matthias is a small school, parents develop relationships with other parents and their children. I would suggest that if you live in Maryland, that you visit this school - it's a hidden treasure!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 47% N/A
Black 43% 40%
White 5% 45%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • It's Academic
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Abigail Greer
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (301) 577-2060

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • It's Academic
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
www.adw.org
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9473 Annapolis Rd
Lanham-Seabrook, MD 20706
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 577-9412

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





An-Nur Academy
Lanham, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT