Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scotchtown Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 674 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

I am a mother of two children in SHES and I really love the school, if the parents we got involved more, and did not think that teachers are the ones who have to do everything I think we would see better results, teachers are trained and the school has very good extracurricular activities. The PTO is amazing have given good service!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

I am a grandmother of a kindergarten student. The first day was impressive from signing in to meeting the teacher to the beautiful hospitality that was shown to all parents. My grand daughter said they do many things in class and she can't wait to use the computers. We are looking to begin a great year with Scotchtown Hills.


Posted May 15, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find a school of this caliber in other places in the county. I have worked in 5 schools, this being my fifth and I can promise you this is the BEST of the 5. PTO is excellent, after school activities are plentiful, and the staff works hard. Some parents are not the best role models and the apple doesn't fall far from the tree...so their children don't come to school prepared or with the right attitude to even learn. But the staff does the best they can with these parents and their kids and in other schools where I've taught that would NOT happen. The principal is helpful as is the office staff and overall, it is a great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2013

SHES is a Great school..... My Grandson whom had issues in school due to lack of attending school where he use to live where he had missed approx. 30 days of school now living and attending in PG Co, he has gone from a problem child reading below his grade level and time his teacher Ms Simms "first grade" Finished he was reading above his grade level, now he is in 2nd grade he has made Honor Roll both quarters and Perfect Attendance every quarter as well as Good Citizen, none of this would had been possible with out us all working together...Thanks to everyone forming a little boy.


Posted June 16, 2011

I have four children in this school (well 3 now, one just graduated today). It's the best elementary school they have been to, by far. Sure, there are some teachers that are not the greatest, but hey, there are some PEOPLE that are not the greatest. All in all I like the school, the extracurricular activities are great, the Special Education staff is WONDERFUL!!!, and it's generally a friendly and caring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school is wonderful. There are so many extra- curricular activities! My child is in band, and two after school activities. The teachers work very hard with their students and it shows in the quality of work my child brings home. I really enjoy coming to this school's activities for the family. My 3 year old loved the Ice Cream Social!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I love SHES. I have worked in another school in the county and have plenty of friends in other schools and by far we have the hardest working staff. We are there for the children. Many of us are at SHES more than 10 hours a day and then take work home. Why? Do we have to because our contract says so.....no because we love what we do and we love our students. If you are not sure if you agree.....I invite you to come in and spend a day with us, volunteer weekly and see how you can help to make us even stronger! You will be a believer!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 6, 2006

I have to be honest, our principal does not need anyone defending her, but come on. This was her first year and from a teacher's viewpoint, she did the best she could. I am not saying that I understood some of her decisions or changes, but they seemed to be best for the school. Many of us were used to a former principal that was very laid back and kept his hands out of the fire. Our new principal is not content with that style of management. She wants to get her hands dirty, she wants to try and do what is best for everyone involved. I would love to see her critics try to take her place for just one day. I don't know many, or any, that would have the courage. Give her a chance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2006

The 'new' principal is horrible. The teachers lack a true leader. She does not even come to any of the functions. The teachers have to be so testing driven, that if your child is not understanding something, there is no extra time to explain it to them. I really dont know what to do, but to sell the house and move, just to not go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

The new Principal is not visible around the school or easy to get to talk to. She has created an atmosphere in the main office that is almost hostile to parents. Every fun activity has been cut because of kill and drill test prep. At least there is still art and music available, and the PTA has been active. Otherwise the school would be very dull and the children quite unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

My daughter started in this school at kindergarten and is now in the second grade. I am not impressed at all with this school or the principle and would not recommend it. The testing scores are horrible, there is a lot of bullying, and the teachers demean and yell at the children. The past three years at this school as been a nightmare for my child. This school is not a safe and encouraging environment for children. I'm so glad the school year is over and I will never have to walk into this school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I have two children who attend ScotchTown Hills. I have been impressed with the way that the teachers engage the students to learn. I am a proponent of their disciplining policy and have had support from the Vice Principal who is now the Principal for 2005/2006 school year. I love the Uniform Policy. I think that it encourages scholastic learning and reduces the number of incidents where name brands and inappropriate dressing may cause distractions. Lastly, my biggest concern is the MSA READING/MATH Score for the school. I am not happy with the 64% and 37% rating. The quality of an exceptional education stimulates children to perform well and to grow as a school of knowledge. I would like to see the test scores raised. How do we get there? We have to recommit to teaching our children at school and at home. I really want us to achieve together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

I have 2 children at Scotchtown and I am happy with the teachers performance and how concerned they are about each child. The rooms are adverage size and put together well. I think the only problem is the bus showing up late. But I think that is a problem with all of PG county school buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My children are for the most part happy here. However in my view they do not follow there own discipline codes (such a fighting or bully problems). These seem to overlooked a bit. Also I am no fan of requiring uniforms in a public school. The teachers are great and really seem to connect well with the children. The principal and office staff are always able to help with questions. The school is kept very clean and has a great computer lab and all teachers are well equiped in the classrooms. Overcrowding is not a problem at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 35%
Hispanic 30% 12%
White 7% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15950 Dorset Rd
Laurel, MD 20707
Phone: (301) 497-3994

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT