Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Laurel, MD
Students enrolled: 702

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
This is good school. Parents and home training have a huge impact on the success and behavior of a student

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 1

Posted December 05, 2014
- a community member
This school is trifling. The education taught is not challenging at all. There's fights nearly everyday, and teachers/staff seem like they couldn't care less. If you want a future for your child, don't send them to this school.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely atrocious! My daughters love for school and education ended when she attended this school. I can't say anything good about the place....

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
The school Dwight D. Eisenhower is an absolutely terrible the teachers offer no help to the students you really need to bust your bum as if you were in a University to make decent grades the staff gets worse every year and the students are divided based on intellect , the students are learning geometry in the eighth grade it's absurd they actually skipped seventh and eighth grade math no one is capable of learning because the teachers are absolutely unwilling to lend a hand their students the community is run down and the students with behavioral issues are placed in ALC an alternative learning center which really offers no help at all placing the students their just makes them worse their around many negative influences so one they're not doing work and two they aren't going to learn because no one simply cares enough to improvise Dwight D. Eisenhower is a problem and it needs solving!

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
this school is exciting. although it isnt a school that my family likes, its pretty awsome.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
I went to middle school here . While I did get a few good teachers , most of the people I ever dealt with here were not very pleasant . I really did not enjoy it here and lots of the staff were very unprofessional , except for a few of my eighth grade teachers and my guidance counselor , who was helpful throughout my whole experience here .

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 5

Posted March 14, 2013
- a parent
i want my child to go there and still be able to go even if he lives in dc he can catch the metro to eisenhower

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 2

Posted March 30, 2012
- a community member
I think a lot could be changed for the better, but to be fair everyone is doing what they can. Some teachers can do more than others because they're not as worn down. On the other hand making any situation better is always a group effort. If you want this school to be a better place you have to do your part with your children. Now, the first thing they can do is make a better schedule. Students should not be in elective classes with mixed grades unless the curriculum requires students be sorted by experience. All subjects are not treated equally when it comes to scheduling at this school. The Washington Post recently did an article on what causes the most burnout at work. One of the top reasons was workers feeling like they don't make progress at work. How can a teacher feel progress with their students if the age/experience of the students are mixed? Why would you teach Pre-algebra and Algebra II at the same time? You wouldn't. Just because electives aren't tested by the state doesn't mean the parameters needed for student achievement should be ignored.


Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 1

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
This school is one of the worst schools that my child has ever attended. Th staff is unprofessional and there are fights almost on a weekly basis and not enough is done by the staff to make it a safe school. Very few good teachers in the school and the teaching is poor. My child can't focus on learning with the violence that goes on a frequent basis!!!!

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School 4

Posted April 02, 2010
- a student
I like this school. There are so many afterschool activities that we can choose from - to name a few: yearbook, magazine, poetry club, Black Saga, AVID tutoring, Eagle Club after school tutoring, gospel choir, cheer-leading, STep Team, girl's and boy's basketball, softball and soccer, guitar and piano classes, and special tutoring offered by specific teachers. The kids being arrested belong to their parents, they are to be raised (I hope) by their parents not the school, so its not the school's fault and is no reflection on the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School
13725 Briarwood Dr, Laurel, MD  20708
(301) 497-3620
Last modified Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top