Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brock Bridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 644 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

Teachers do not communicate with parents until the problems have become so deeply rooted it is extremely difficult to fix. Faculty does not inform parents of specialized assessment. My child started this school in the second grade. When he entered, he was above grade level in both reading and math. Now my in the third grade, my child is at risk for failing the third grade. This school has failed my child and me. Anne Arundel county has failed us. Parents, I implore you to seek out alternative forms of education in lieu of Brock Bridge Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

While there are 'gem' teachers, there are also quite a few who don't make the grade. The school lacks grade-level to grade-level consistency in education quality. I am grossly dissatisfied with the lack of advance learning programs or gifted testing and/or options there and in AACPS elementary schools. I am also dissatisfied with the movement of teachers between grades - 4th grade to 1st grade - too big of a gap. You end up with the 1st graders not being babied and the 4th graders out a great teacher; it does a disservice to the stundents and the teacher. The reading teacher is awesome, but was one of the best classroom teachers. Another great teacher left last year for Crofton last year and my son and I are still in mourning. For once I woud like to enter a year anxiety-free, knowing he has a top-notch teacher, that's going to challenge him based on his aptitude, not by the curriculum schedule. Whatever happened to creativity in education? I know there are politics and hinderances, but great teachers know how to make adjustments to both meet the standards but also support his/her students reach their full classroom potential. BBES is improving, but still has a long way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

The education is slow and low in quality. "Leave no One Behind" is BS, it only holds back advances students. The work load is nothing like a private school. In fact, the learning criteria for Brock Bridge is a year behind private schools. Very Sad! The politicians know this, but they only make excuses. Why would the politicians care, when they send their children to private schools. The political atmosphere in Maryland stinks! It's becoming a socialist State! It's a haven for "Illegal Immigrants, New Americans is the name given by the Socialist Governor. The Delegates support illegal immigrants and criminals more than law abiding citizens. A warning to to all Legal Americans, don't move to Maryland! Research the Representatives, the majority are Democrat, but worse, some of these Democrats the seasoned older crowd are Neurotic Socialist. They are slowly striping away freedoms to fulfill their socialist beliefs. Oh, don't blame it on the Principle or the teachers, it the people who run the State, and I have already covered that in above comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

All 3 of my children attended this school 2009 - 2012 and I could not be happier with the education they received! We received orders to PCS to another (more prominent) area, and when my children arrived and were tested at their new school for placement they tested above grade level in both math and reading! I was ecstatic! Thank you Brockbridge teachers and staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

This school is good if you are looking for friends, fun activities, and work that exercises the mind. The field trips are great and there are never any fights. But the cafeteria needs a lot of cleaning everyday and a large amount of the teachers are mean. Although, their is a fun activity that occurs every month, you have to earn a certain amount of bobcat bucks (a reward in dollar form if you are good) and if you do, you get do stuff like movie day, game day, carnival day, cookie decorating, dances, and a lot more. Most of the teachers are excellent at teaching so that makes it easy to take tests, and they are real friends, some of them. The principal is really nice and lets the kids get a treat if we succeed a challenge. Overall the school is great.


Posted December 22, 2011

This school has a lot of high point and some challenges. The new principal leadership and highly responsive and visionary. This school does good job of managing diversity. One best kept secret about the school is that it produced more African-American students at the advanced level on MSA than ANY elementary school in neighboring Howard County Schools. My children have had some great teachers and some OK teachers. It pay to be very visible and involved as a parent at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

This is a great school. The children are well behaved and the teachers are very professional. Leadership could be stronger but parents have to remember you cant just send your kids to school and expect them to come home with a good education. You have to sit down with them every night and review their homework. My daughter does and has always gotten a lot of homework. My wife and I are also are very active in her education. Parents have to be an advocate for their child every step of the way and work with teachers not against them. That is what makes good schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

My two children are attending this school since 2007. They seem fine at school. Whenever I visit the school, teachers looked very busy to greet with parents. School staffs more welcomed visitors and were kind. My concern of this school through my kids is that teachers need to care of every students in studying in more details. Please teachers! I understand you guys are so busy for your many duties but that is what teachers should be...quite sacrifice to those children. Please put your energy to teaching and explaining more!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

The special education children seem to be grouped into one lump regardless of how little or how great the disability. So you've got ADHD with extreme Autism in the same class. My son is bored out of his mind and now hates school with a passion. He's faking illnesses daily and I'm dragging him to school all yr. Thx!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

We did not have a positive experience with this school. At the end of the year I had one child barely passing her grade, and my other child bored out of his mind from lack of challenge. It seems if your child doesn't fall in the 'middle' they are out of luck. There were no programs offered for struggling or excelling students. The main goal of the school seemed to be about behavior and controlling it aka pull a card/good listening club. What about the kids that don't have issues with that? I now homeschool my kids until we can afford to move to a better area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

The teachers at this school are very involved and care about their students. Parent involvement at our last school was much better. PTA meetings average less than 10 people. Too much work falls on a small group of parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My son is in the 4th grade. I really like his teacher, all of the teachers to this point, the parent involvement and the activities that the PTA puts on. Mr. Noon is a great Vice. He is very pleasant and engaged. Ms. Briscoe never speaks to you. If she sees you, she just nods and keeps walking. I don't feel that she is setting a strong cultural foundation at the school. I like the idea of the agenda books, but I feel that school needs to get up to the times. The school is dirty and needs a paint job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I have a son in special needs K. Compared to his school last year this one is a God Sent. I walk my child to class on a regular basis and the school always seems clean. His teacher and assistant have gone well beyond of what I expect to help him acheive his goals. The Vice Principle is always willing to help when he is needed, and his therapists are not only great with his progress, some are even the normal greaters outside in the morning and more than happy to talk with what ever concerns I have. Over all I am extemely pleased and excited to bring my son to school every day and pick him up just to see what he learned and how his day was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

My child has been at this school since third grade, he is now a fifth grader, we like his teacher this year and every year he has attended. I am not thrilled with the principal she is not friendly to parents or children. I don't like the fact that this school is very diverse yet september 15-October 15 is hispanic heritage month and nothing is being done to celebrate this, I am a school employee in another district and every heritage is celebrated. My son was also very upset about the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

The teachers and staff are very condescending toward parents. The POD environment is aweful and is poorly set. The school is dirty as well. The special education is so varied it's not helping the children learn to their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I totally agree with last rating. The negative behavior seems to be the main focus. My child has awesome grades but i don't hear from the school until there is a negative comment to be said. There has been emergency situations that have happened that has placed me in a paranoia for my child's safety because I find out about it on the news.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

The school needs a leader that will keep the teachers on track. The school is a PBIS school but only focuses on the negative behaviors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2006

My daughter started at Brock Bridge this year and so far I am pleased with her progress. although the building is older than I would like the school does not seem to be lacking in resources. The PTA is strong and parent participation is strong. The staff does a great job maintaining order and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

My daughter just graduated from Brock Bridge, and I have nothing but good things to say. The current Principal is not great, but luckily the rest of the staff is solid so her shortcomings don't spill overaffect anything. The curriculum is great, the teachers care, the PTA for the last 2 years has been incredible (there are all new PTA officers this year, though). I would highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Both my children, currently 5th and 3rd grade have attended all of their elementary education at this school. I have nothing but praise for the administration and faculty at this ever increasing school. The curriculum is hard but fair and the teachers really seem to excel at bringing out the best in all children. I would highly recommend this school as their ever increasing state scores show the highest of academic achievement is expected. The PTA is highly involved and is second to none, check out the awards they've won!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 36%
White 23% 43%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Asian 11% 6%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 Brock Bridge Rd
Laurel, MD 20724
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 498-6280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT