Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Laurel, MD
Students enrolled: 659
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brock Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Brock Bridge does an amazing job educating the most diverse student body among Anne Arundel County elementary schools. The school offers a huge variety of extra-curricular clubs that are open to all students;the PTA provides tons of extra activities as well. As with every school, some teachers are better than others, but BBES has a large number of excellent young educators. The only reason the rating is not excellent is because the facility is so outdated and the school is overcrowded. A new charter school opens nearby this fall that will alleviate the overcrowding - hopefully BBES will then be able to do even more with its students!

Brock Bridge Elementary School 2

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Your child will not learn much at this school for the following reasons: 1. The school is overcrowded. Monarch Charter School opens in in fall 2014 literally right across the street. The school pulls students from Brock Bridge, MD City and Jessup to ease the crowding. So, you will have dysfunctional kids from not only Brock Bridge, which are plenty, TRUST ME attending this school but with the schools I noted above. That seems like a pleasant combination. NOT. 2. What can I say about the teachers. I have witnessed a teacher guzzling a 20 FL oz of Pepsi with confidence while teaching. Unprofessionalism at its highest level. My son is in the third grade and he tells me the same math videos that I show him at home on YouTube are the same ones she shows in the classroom. LAZINESS. They will put minimum effort wherever possible. If a parent has a high school diploma, they can teach their own child. 3. Teachers are influenced by wanna be popular parents to get their child to have a certain teacher, be in advanced math/reading. My son does extremely well in math, gets honor roll every semester, 100% on math test and he is NOT in advanced math. This school is going down fast.


Brock Bridge Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Teachers do not communicate with parents until the problems have become so deeply rooted it is extremely difficult to fix. Faculty does not inform parents of specialized assessment. My child started this school in the second grade. When he entered, he was above grade level in both reading and math. Now my in the third grade, my child is at risk for failing the third grade. This school has failed my child and me. Anne Arundel county has failed us. Parents, I implore you to seek out alternative forms of education in lieu of Brock Bridge Elementary.

Brock Bridge Elementary School 3

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
While there are 'gem' teachers, there are also quite a few who don't make the grade. The school lacks grade-level to grade-level consistency in education quality. I am grossly dissatisfied with the lack of advance learning programs or gifted testing and/or options there and in AACPS elementary schools. I am also dissatisfied with the movement of teachers between grades - 4th grade to 1st grade - too big of a gap. You end up with the 1st graders not being babied and the 4th graders out a great teacher; it does a disservice to the stundents and the teacher. The reading teacher is awesome, but was one of the best classroom teachers. Another great teacher left last year for Crofton last year and my son and I are still in mourning. For once I woud like to enter a year anxiety-free, knowing he has a top-notch teacher, that's going to challenge him based on his aptitude, not by the curriculum schedule. Whatever happened to creativity in education? I know there are politics and hinderances, but great teachers know how to make adjustments to both meet the standards but also support his/her students reach their full classroom potential. BBES is improving, but still has a long way to go.

Brock Bridge Elementary School 2

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
The education is slow and low in quality. "Leave no One Behind" is BS, it only holds back advances students. The work load is nothing like a private school. In fact, the learning criteria for Brock Bridge is a year behind private schools. Very Sad! The politicians know this, but they only make excuses. Why would the politicians care, when they send their children to private schools. The political atmosphere in Maryland stinks! It's becoming a socialist State! It's a haven for "Illegal Immigrants, New Americans is the name given by the Socialist Governor. The Delegates support illegal immigrants and criminals more than law abiding citizens. A warning to to all Legal Americans, don't move to Maryland! Research the Representatives, the majority are Democrat, but worse, some of these Democrats the seasoned older crowd are Neurotic Socialist. They are slowly striping away freedoms to fulfill their socialist beliefs. Oh, don't blame it on the Principle or the teachers, it the people who run the State, and I have already covered that in above comments.


Brock Bridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
All 3 of my children attended this school 2009 - 2012 and I could not be happier with the education they received! We received orders to PCS to another (more prominent) area, and when my children arrived and were tested at their new school for placement they tested above grade level in both math and reading! I was ecstatic! Thank you Brockbridge teachers and staff!!!

Brock Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2012
- a community member
This school is good if you are looking for friends, fun activities, and work that exercises the mind. The field trips are great and there are never any fights. But the cafeteria needs a lot of cleaning everyday and a large amount of the teachers are mean. Although, their is a fun activity that occurs every month, you have to earn a certain amount of bobcat bucks (a reward in dollar form if you are good) and if you do, you get do stuff like movie day, game day, carnival day, cookie decorating, dances, and a lot more. Most of the teachers are excellent at teaching so that makes it easy to take tests, and they are real friends, some of them. The principal is really nice and lets the kids get a treat if we succeed a challenge. Overall the school is great.

Brock Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted December 22, 2011
- a parent
This school has a lot of high point and some challenges. The new principal leadership and highly responsive and visionary. This school does good job of managing diversity. One best kept secret about the school is that it produced more African-American students at the advanced level on MSA than ANY elementary school in neighboring Howard County Schools. My children have had some great teachers and some OK teachers. It pay to be very visible and involved as a parent at this school.


Brock Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. The children are well behaved and the teachers are very professional. Leadership could be stronger but parents have to remember you cant just send your kids to school and expect them to come home with a good education. You have to sit down with them every night and review their homework. My daughter does and has always gotten a lot of homework. My wife and I are also are very active in her education. Parents have to be an advocate for their child every step of the way and work with teachers not against them. That is what makes good schools.

Brock Bridge Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brock Bridge Elementary School
405 Brock Bridge Rd, Laurel, MD  20724
(301) 498-6280
Last modified Brock Bridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brock Bridge Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top