Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

Forest Ridge is a phenomenal school. I have been so impressed with the staff and teachers this year and would highly recommend this school to anyone. We moved here at the beginning of the school year and I was concerned how my children would acclimate.The school has exceeded my expectations in every way. I am greeted daily by my daughter's special education teacher and my other daughter has thrived in her GT classes. Forest Ridge is a gem and I would not let the score of 6 out of 10 deter any parent from choosing to live in the surrounding neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My daughter loves FRES! The PTA is great and very active. The administration and teachers are nice and welcoming. My daughter is in her 3rd year and really enjoys her school. We both enjoy the after school activities and G/T programs offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My child loves Forest Ridge! The school is so warm and welcoming, and morale and school spirit are high. The academics have been great so far (through second grade), with advanced G/T type offerings/activities as young as kindergarten. The PTA sponsors so many wonderful activities too. The on-site Howard County Parks and Rec before- and after-care is great too - also very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

We moved to this school district from another state where both of my children attended private school. The transition was not easy as there were different curricula and expectations, as well as normal angst about meeting new neighbors and friends. However, the teachers and school counselor at Forest Ridge were very committed to helping my children through some rough spots and always welcomed my feedback, thoroughly addressing my concerns and genuinely caring for my childrens' well-being. The principal is approachable, reasonable and thorough. I have lived in 17 addresses in my life (fortunately my kids haven't!) and this is the first time I can say I do not want to ever move again. It's the first real sense of community I have ever felt and my children have embraced the neighborhood, school friends and withouth a doubt, love their teachers. Kudos to Mrs. Crawford, Mrs. Caha, Mrs. Chrzanowski, Mrs. Kruft, Mrs. Menck, Mrs. Rachael Schwartz and Principal Swartz! Thank you for being such an important part of my children's development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

Two of my children attended K at FRES, and we love the school! The educators are enthusiastic, helpful and they keep the lines of communication open. Whenever I have a concern, I send an email to one of their teachers and the respond in a timely, courteous and professional manner. My children grew so much within the school year. We are all looking forward to first grade there! The PTA is also wonderful and I have had great interactions with other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Unfortunately my child's experience at this school left us very disappointed with the staff and the principal leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

My son attended 1st, 2nd and part of 3rd grade at FRES and my stepson started Kindergarten there as well. The school is fantastic. The teachers we dealt with were great. The teachers truly care about a student's progress. We were sad to leave this school and the kids miss it very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

My child has only attended FRES for one year and we both love it. The teachers and principal are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

FRES is the best school. Great teachers, and good management. GT programs are nice. Good encouragement from teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I am a FRES parent and I must say this school is awesome. The faculty is top notch and the principal is wonderful with the kids.


Posted September 9, 2006

In many ways, I am so sorry that we had to leave Howard County, because my son loved Forest Ridge! I believe that he received the best possible education there, which was certainly on par with any private school in the area. The teachers are highly competent and the principal cares about each child. In addition, FS offers a very safe environment. I would recommend the school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

This spring I moved my first grader from a private school to Foreest Ridge. We are ecstatic about the quality of education and overall experience our daughter is having! Dr. O is amazing and his great leadership is reflected in all aspects of the school experience. My daughter is flourishing academically and in social relationships. After years of paying for private pre-school and kindergarten, I'm amazed at FRES. The environment is nurturing, organized, fun and fantastic! Our wish list for curriculum additions includes more art, more science, more music, and more foreign language (all of which we had in the private schools). We have not regretted our decision for a moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

I am the parent of a 1st grader. She has been attending F.R.E.S since kindergarten and I love the school. The teachers, Dr.O and staff are exceptional. I honestly believe(I am an educator in the PG County school school)that F.R.E.S. and Howard County does what it takes to prepare these young scholars for the future. Teachers are well qualified and passionate about providing a good learning enviroment. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

I am a former intern at F.R.E.S.. The students, staff, and administration at this school are wonderful! Every teacher acts as an advocate for the students, and they are the most dedicated group of individuals. While they were incredibly supportive towards me, they were equally supportive towards the students. Students were held to high expectations, and the teachers went above and beyond to help the children to succeed. In addition, Dr. O., the principal was personable and friendly to each student. I would highly recommend this school to any parent! Keep up the good work F.R.E.S.!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 35%
White 24% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9550 Gorman Rd
Laurel, MD 20723
Phone: (410) 880-5950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT