Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
We love Hammond Elementary. Amasing teachers who go above and beyond for the students. The ladies in the front office are very professional and always melcoming. Mrs. Partesi,the principal is always present in the school. My kids have a lot of respect for her. Engaging field trips connected to the curriculum. The seminar GT program is amazing so is the music program. A big thank you to Ms Baird for being an awesome 4th grade teacher!!!

Hammond Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Ms Baird is awesome. She helped my daughter gain confidence in herself and her math skills. Amazing person and a great teacher!!!


Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
My son did very well his first year at Hammond as a kindergartener. What makes the school great is the high level of parent participation, the teachers (Ms. Braxton is AWESOME), and the positive reinforcement form of discipline (1-2-3 Magic), which we started using at home as well. My son is reading above grade level and there is a strong sense of community within the school.

Hammond Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
I think the 1-2-3 Magic system and "Tuffy Tickets" the school is using to showcase good behavior and honesty is very good. I appreciate how they give older elementary students more responsibility which also promotes a sense of integrity.

Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
This school is awesome. The principal is on top of things. She is at all the events and she is always available for the parents. I am very pleased with the quality of education that my kids are receiving at Hammond.


Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
My kid loves the school, teachers, staff, and the Principal. I rate it 10 on 10 :)

Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been going to HES and I have been very very happy with her overall performance. I love the staff and teachers. They try to make the student do their level best. Very impressed overall!

Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
My child has been attending Hammond Elementary School for 2 years now and I feel that she is receiving an excellent education. The school has been in transition with a new Principal this year and extensive redistricting a few years ago, but I have had good experiences here so far. All of my child's teachers have been really willing to help her learn and the Vice Principal (Mr. Tark) is always friendly.


Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
This is my children's 2nd year at Hammond and they really enjoy going to this school. The teachers are all very friendly and willing to communicate any issues and progress as it occurs throughout the year. The music program is excellent and the class is very diverse in its student body. Each grade has different levels to allow your child to excel at their pace be it top of the class or at the back they will continue to improve. The school very much encourages parent volunteers and has a great PTA system. Being attached to the middle school is a bonus going forward and the school feels very safe and well mannered.

Hammond Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
Coming from AES K-2, I've been very pleased with my child's third grade year at HES-as it's such a pivotal year academically The entire third grade team has been excellent! They have been interactive from the start and proactive throughout the year in what works best for the children. The assistant principal, Mr. Tark, is also very involved with the children and approachable.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hammond Elementary School
8110 Aladdin Dr, Laurel, MD  20723
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (410) 880-5890
Last modified Hammond Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top