Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hammond Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2014

I love this school so much it has great people and nice teachers I wouldn't trade it for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

During a recent assessment for the musical groups, students were rowdy and left unattended by adults. These students were causing commotion in the lunch area, disturbing others including fellow classmates. I feel as though I should be able to rate a lower than a unsatisfactory due to the obscenities displayed by the pupils.


Posted November 28, 2011

Best school i have ever been to by far. I would give this school a 6 out of 5 if i could. The staff really cares about the students but there are a few teachers to watch out for...


Posted August 7, 2010

I've attended Hammond for two years so far and it is just an amazing school. Friends from others schools are always very impressed at how advanced and hard- working Hammond students are. All the students and teachers are helpful and the chances that a new student attending Hammond Middle will find it hard to fit in are very, very slim. The teachers always find a new way to challenge students, but understand each and every child's specific needs and learning styles.


Posted June 5, 2010

I've had two children graduate from Hammond Middle School. This school had an excellent GT Math program, an awesome music department, and challenging academic programs. The staff was interactive and supportive. One of my children had an IEP and the entire staff worked with me to ensure that he was successful. An A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

Now that i am out of HMS. I will say that last 3 years were very good. MS.McGowan the Principal of Hammond was goos and so was Mr.Davis. The teacher were good some were good and some were great . Kids can join clubs it was just Great school and i will miss everyone that i talked to .
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

Wonderful school. I had two sons attend Patuxent Valley Middle School and this school prepared my third son for high school better. Loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

I'm in my last couple days as an 8th grader at Hammond and I have to say I have loved the last 3 years. All of the teachers are great although there are few that are exceptional and a few that are a tad boring. There are a bunch of clubs to join. The band ( which I am a proud member of) is fantastic, we've beat out the competition at Hershey Park the past couple of years and even won the whole thing last year. It's a good size, not too small and not too big. I definitely feel that I am completely ready to go on to high school( ATOWNN!!!) next year and succeed and HMS has made that possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

I go to Hammond Middle School, and it is great! The teachers are nice and they have alot of spirit! The teachers will not stop pushing you to do your best! There are alot of great things about them, but i want you to dicover the mysteries of Hammondd Middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

Hammond Middle is a great school. The staff is very proactive and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I have two children attending HMS and I am very pleased with the curriculum, teachers, and administration. The coursework is challenging and I feel that my children will be well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I have always been impressed by the quality of teachers @ HMS. I had three children attend Hammond Elementary, Middle and two High School. My children have excelled in each subject thanks to their dedicated teachers and administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

Our third daughter is at HMS and we are very, very pleased with the teachers, administrators and counselors. Outdoor Education was a hit with all three. Our two oldest daughters were well prepared for high school. One of our children had an IEP and we were pleased at the level of help supplied by the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

HMS is good a school, but its needs more extracurricular activities. The only thing they really have here are after school sports intramurals. There are not many afterschool clubs for afterschool activities, and that needs to be worked on. Its a safe school. Fights don't happen, or anything of the sort. School parking lot policy needs to change. The PTA seems good, althought my parents are not involved in it. The teachers are all excellent, and I've never really had problems with any. Overall I give it a 4. Us students really don't even see the principal. Occasionally she makes announcements but nothing more happens.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

Our daughter is in her second year (7th grade) at HMS and our experiance with both the administeration and the faculty has been terrific. I go on-line every day to check her progress as 5 of her teachers use Teacherease! I have sent at least 4 of her teachers e-mails and have always received a response within 24 hours. We pulled both of our children out of Catholic school to have them attend Hammond (our son is in the elem school) and know that they are leaps and bounds ahead of their old classmates. Two areas worth special mention are the band, which is nothing less than amazing; and outdoor ed, which is character building as well as educational. One thing I would like to see improved would be an increase in the amount of extra-curricular activities offered to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

This is our second year at the school, and we are very very pleased. The teachers are all good and a number are truly outstanding. The principal is new, but seems to be off to a pretty good start. The homework load for the GT classes does seem a little burdensome, but I gather that this is the norm for Howard County. One note about extracurricular activities- the band is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

Hammond Middle is a great school. It has great staff members. My kid goes there now and they are all there for him when he needs it. I cannot think of any negative things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2003

My youngest child is now at Hammond Middle School, and I'm thrilled to be back and involved in the school. The staff and administration are awesome. They're always accessible and ready and willing to help when and where needed. My first time through with my oldest child was a great experience for both of us, and I made some lasting friendships along the way, too. I can't think of one negative comment to post here because I think HMS is such a great school. The criterion I use is this: Are my children thriving at HMS? The answer each time has been yes. It can't get better than that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2003

School is crowded, outdated, and children must go through maze like settings to find their classrooms. Teachers have little enthusiasm for the classes they are teaching. Bulleying happens at this school and the teachers and principals have no programs to police or address this problem. Teachers do not get with you on issues until the interim, they are not proactive in getting a student help if they are struggling. The school is crowded and kids are often hurt in the hallways. The atmosphere at the school is depressing and not stimulating to the students. There are very limited extracirrucular activities for the students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 16% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 6%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8110 Aladdin Dr
Laurel, MD 20723
Phone: (410) 880-5830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT