Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel Woods Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

This school was not in great shape some 3 years ago. However, every day the school is improving and the teachers are very nice and qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

This is great school and improving. I like the teachers they work very hard. I think parents should involve more in their child's school for betterment of the school in achiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

We are very happy with the teachers and staff at Laurel Woods who are generally very positive and encouraging. The school offers a variety of supportive programs for children who are at both ends of the academic spectrum (Bridges, GT, etc..). The PTA has a very active core group who are dedicated to enrich the family's school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Laurel Woods is a great school, the PTA is just outstanding. Great school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

LWES is committed to excellence and education. I found the team of administrators, teachers and support staff very friendly and determined to engage the children academically and socially. The educational activities, classroom diversity and a learning enviroment was extremely successful for our son. BIG THANKS to 6th grade teachers especially, Ms. Merle that was a jewel and truly understood our son and was able to draw out the best. The PTA is extremely supportive of the academic programs and families of LWES. It was an honor to volunteer and serve this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I am very happy lwes parent who strongly believes that is a strong community based school with a very caring and excellent STAFF who believe in their students and give them praise whether good or bad . If you want a strong support base and top notch educators than you are at the right place. Thank you LWES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

I am a parent of a former student that attended LWES in the 06-07 school year. This is an excellent school. I loved how wonderfully nice the teachers there are. Excpecially Ms.Davis. I will be sending my 5 year old daughter there during the 08-09 school year, and I hope to keep her there. My oldest now attends MHMS, and once my youngest is old enough, she will attend MHMS, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

I have 2 boys and one is in pre-k the other is in 3rd grade. When my 3rd grader started kindergarten it was one of the academically poor schools in Howard County but thanks to the efforts of the Principal and teachers like Mrs Mcwain, LWES is improving in its test scores, they still have some ways to go but I believe they will get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

My son is currently in 2nd grade at LWES. Teachers are very involved at motivating students to learn. LWES scores, as it ranks to other Howard County schools, do not fair well because of the transitant population of the apartment complexes within it school zone boundaries. This trend is shifting with more upscale housing being built in the area and the school board adjusting LWES neighborhood boundaries. A little over three years ago, LWES was one of poorer performing schools in the county, that has significantly changed with the Howard County School Boards committment to raise the level of all lower achieving schools. LWES is a 'rising star' and encourage parents look for themselves. Do not be spooked by passed performance, it really is history at LWES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son is now in 1st grade at LWES and I have nothing but praise for the teachers at this school. They have really made learning fun for him and have encouraged him to try harder things as he goes. Growing up in the country and going to small schools with almost no diversity in the student population, I appreciate all he can learn from such a diverse student population. The PTA is wonderful and I love to volunteer with other parents on all the projects I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 35%
Hispanic 21% 12%
White 11% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9250 North Laurel Rd
Laurel, MD 20723
Phone: (410) 880-5960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT