Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Laurel, MD
Students enrolled: 609
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Laurel Woods Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
This school was not in great shape some 3 years ago. However, every day the school is improving and the teachers are very nice and qualified.

Laurel Woods Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
This is great school and improving. I like the teachers they work very hard. I think parents should involve more in their child's school for betterment of the school in achiving.


Laurel Woods Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with the teachers and staff at Laurel Woods who are generally very positive and encouraging. The school offers a variety of supportive programs for children who are at both ends of the academic spectrum (Bridges, GT, etc..). The PTA has a very active core group who are dedicated to enrich the family's school experience.

Laurel Woods Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Laurel Woods is a great school, the PTA is just outstanding. Great school of choice.

Laurel Woods Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2008
- a parent
LWES is committed to excellence and education. I found the team of administrators, teachers and support staff very friendly and determined to engage the children academically and socially. The educational activities, classroom diversity and a learning enviroment was extremely successful for our son. BIG THANKS to 6th grade teachers especially, Ms. Merle that was a jewel and truly understood our son and was able to draw out the best. The PTA is extremely supportive of the academic programs and families of LWES. It was an honor to volunteer and serve this year.


Laurel Woods Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a parent
I am very happy lwes parent who strongly believes that is a strong community based school with a very caring and excellent STAFF who believe in their students and give them praise whether good or bad . If you want a strong support base and top notch educators than you are at the right place. Thank you LWES!

Laurel Woods Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 08, 2007
- a parent
I am a parent of a former student that attended LWES in the 06-07 school year. This is an excellent school. I loved how wonderfully nice the teachers there are. Excpecially Ms.Davis. I will be sending my 5 year old daughter there during the 08-09 school year, and I hope to keep her there. My oldest now attends MHMS, and once my youngest is old enough, she will attend MHMS, too.

Laurel Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Laurel Woods Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2006
- a parent
I have 2 boys and one is in pre-k the other is in 3rd grade. When my 3rd grader started kindergarten it was one of the academically poor schools in Howard County but thanks to the efforts of the Principal and teachers like Mrs Mcwain, LWES is improving in its test scores, they still have some ways to go but I believe they will get there.

Laurel Woods Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
My son is currently in 2nd grade at LWES. Teachers are very involved at motivating students to learn. LWES scores, as it ranks to other Howard County schools, do not fair well because of the transitant population of the apartment complexes within it school zone boundaries. This trend is shifting with more upscale housing being built in the area and the school board adjusting LWES neighborhood boundaries. A little over three years ago, LWES was one of poorer performing schools in the county, that has significantly changed with the Howard County School Boards committment to raise the level of all lower achieving schools. LWES is a 'rising star' and encourage parents look for themselves. Do not be spooked by passed performance, it really is history at LWES.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Woods Elementary School
9250 North Laurel Rd, Laurel, MD  20723
(410) 880-5960
Last modified Laurel Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurel Woods Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top