Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Philip Neri Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 350 students

Our school is best known for its family faith-filled atmosphere.
 
 

 
 

Living in Linthicum

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

Another school year has come to a close. My children were so excited for the last day, but also were sad to leave their classmates and their teacher. They are looking forward to next year and having the chance to be a part of chorus, and the school play. The school builds their confidence, my child was very quiet, but actually was able to build that confidence to sing and perform in the Talent Show. Thank you SPN
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Bullying is a pretty big problem here. The school really isn't as diverse as many people say it is and I've noticed some racist remarks over the 3 years my son has been here. The staff and administration have their favorites and don't care about any of the other students. The principal is the worst! She will tell you everything that you want to hear but goes behind your back and does the complete opposite. The middle school teachers don't know how to properly control a classroom either. It would be nice if teachers could actually step in and make it a safe environment for everyone and not just a specific group of people. The parents who have been in this community know each other really well and It's hard for new parents to fit in. Parents are just as rude and inconsiderant as the students are. My son is just finishing his freshmen year in high school and has told me how thankful he is that he left there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

SPN is a wonderful school! Everyone knows everyone, so its more like a family. My son loves it, and I love the teachers he has had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Philip Neri School is an excellent school and prepared my four children for High School and to succeed into the future. If you what an excellent education than this is the correct school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I am an employee as well as a parent of two graduates of St. Philip Neri School. SPN is a very welcoming community where everyone is seen as part of the family. There is a great deal of parental support and involvement, and the teachers are top-notch. My own children graduated very well prepared for their private high school experiences. I would recommend our school to any prospective parent and encourage a visit to our campus to experience the school family all of us here enjoy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

St. Philip Neri is an excellent school, the school main focus is for kids to learn. I like the fact that the Ms. Daley (the principal) and all other office personnel and teachers greeted the kids with their names, it makes everybody feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Being a teacher here for the past 39 years is testament enough for the love, integrity and quality of St. Philip Neri Elementary School, its students, parents , faculty , staff and administrators. There has been tremendous growth technologically, academically and spiritually throughout the years. There has been hurdles to leap over and reasons to celebrate. St. Philip Neri has continued to thrive! Community involvement, charitable activities and regular liturgical celebrations root SPN in its Catholic Identity. Keeping abreast of academic trends ,technological resources and maintaining business partnerships keeps SPN current and viable. Creating a welcoming environment for all persons at SPN keeps our school vibrant. At SPN we are always looking towards the future!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2014

St. Philip Neri School in Linthicum Maryland is a wonderful school. I have two sons who attend. They are in the fourth and second grades. The school provides a quality education. Religion is taught as a separate subject and elements of the Catholic faith are included throughout the day. For example, physical education classes are concluded with a prayer. The students attend mass the first Friday of every month. Parents are welcome to attend. In addition, the faculty and staff are excellent. The teachers care about the students and go the extra mile to provide extracurricular activities, such as the Technology Club and School Play. The faculty is very welcoming, greeting each student by name when they arrive in the morning. Parents are kept up-to-date about school events and information through a Thursday communication folder, email, and Facebook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

St. Philip Neri is happy to announce that its 8th grade class, per usual, gained acceptance into the students' first choice high schools in the area. This is surely a testament to its small class sizes and superb teaching!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2014

St. Philip Neri is a great school with small sized classes which helps provide the best learning environment for the students. The teachers really care and so does the administration. It feels like an extended family there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Great school, my son loves everything about it. Nice size classes. Best decision I've ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

St. Philip Neri School is a great school. I love the classroom sizes and the teachers really seem to care. My son started there in the 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

We have four children enrolled at SPN - from Pre K to middle school. All of the children have been attending since they were in Pre K or Kindergarten. We absolutely love this school. They are learning and growing everyday with teachers and administrators who understand that all children are different and encourage growth in all aspects. From the scouts program, to sports, to band - the atmosphere is very family friendly and welcoming. One of me children has special needs and all of his teachers truly have gone above and beyond to make sure he has the most enriching experience possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

St. Philip Neri School has been a part of our family for the past 14 years. Besides the wonderful education received what I feel that is most important is installing the Christian beliefs within each student. My sons who received the education and the moral standards taught at the school have become young adults whose beliefs and values have taught them the difference between right and wrong. They are now in college and succeeding in life. The curriculum set by the school and the faculty strive to produce the best students who are motivated to learn while displaying Christian beliefs. --Submitted by a Teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2013

St. Philip Neri is the best school I have ever worked at. I have never met another group of people who give all they can to help children succeed to their highest ability. We truly are a big family that welcomes everyone!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2013

My family has been involved with St. Philip Neri School for 25 years, we sent all 5 of our children here and I currently work here as well. This school has been home to us for many reasons, one being the Christian based teachings as well as the classroom structure. The lessons in morality have carried through into their adult lives and made it worth any sacrifices we may have made, to give them a faith based education. I highly recommend this school to any family looking to build a great foundation.


Posted January 20, 2013

This school is awesome. I love its quiet secluded and secure environment on a large campus. The teachers are great, especially the middle school science coordinator who comes up with extraordinary experiments for the children to learn scientific concepts like having the children design parachutes for raw eggs to determine wind resistance force. Then they launch them from the second story window. Egg survives, you get an "A". My oldest daughter went into engineering because of Ms. Meeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

We came to this school after many disappointing years at a nearby Catholic school. WE were so shocked at how the administration and teachers actually listen to the parents and how every is treated equal and not because you raise a lot of money for the school. The church is so involved with the school and all complaints and concerns are addressed immediately by the staff. I really love the fact that the school is diverse. I would recommend this school to any parents who is looking for a solid, Catholic education with exceptional staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

I have been part of the SPN community for many years. Every school has their issues; SPN is no different. I have never seen a closer school community than SPN. I ve witnessed many teachers go the extra mile to help a struggling student. If your child is average it is a great school. If your child is above average, I do not think the academics are challenging. With that in mind, I would like to see a stronger academic curriculum (last year the amount of math homework was cut because parents complained that 30 math problems were too many). I wish the school would emphasize writing. The school is getting a science lab, and if done correctly will be a great asset. There is a definite bullying problem, and sometimes I feel as though the administration doesn t care about chronic misbehavers. Sometimes I think the school is more worried about the right socks, than disciplining the child that disrupts class. Bottom line: if your child has behavioral issues, or is at the top end or the bottom end of the academic spectrum, SPN is probably not the best choice. However, if you want a good Catholic environment, and have the time and ability to supplement academics; SPN is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

My child attended this school for 3 grades. The first year, kindergarten, was great, the 2nd year some issues surfaced, the 3rd year was a nightmare. Do not send your child to this school if they have food allergies. The principal will tell you what you want to hear but not back it up at all. The principal put parents who were belligerent and uncooperative about providing safe food for children with food allergies in charge of a classroom with 2 food allergic children. There is a huge problem with bullies not being dealt with at all. The same children bully children in the same classes and the only punishment they get is sent to the office day after day and no escalation of punishment. The idea that this school is advanced academically is not true. The public school we are now at was actually ahead of St. Philip Neri in math. The atmosphere, knowledge, kindness, overall treatment and organization was like night and day between the two schools as well. While there are several great employees and teachers, the school overall has become a nightmare. Our experience is not unique. This past school year I know of at least 10 students not returning due to similar experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Maryland Gazette Private School of the Year (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Catherine Daley, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (410) 859-5480

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Car pool
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private Baltimore High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6401 S Orchard Rd
Linthicum, MD 21090
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 859-1212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lindale Middle School
Linthicum, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT