Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Overlook Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 249 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2011

We love Overlook! We are so lucky to have a school with smaller class sizes, everything is redone, it is extremely safe and still have music, art, pe and lots of community functions like fundraisers, concerts, family nights, ect. The PTA is very supportive of the school and the teachers all seem very involved with the children. There is a lot of school pride here. And the principal is hands down one of the most gracious and nurturing leaders we have met in a long time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

This is the best elementary school a parent could ask for. The building was newly rebuilt and is LOVELY!! The staff is concerned, organized and educated. The principal Mrs. Batista is a shining example of what any principal should be. I LOVE Overlook and it breaks my heart my kids have to move on to middle school in the next two years. Overlook is a hidden gem and I feel VERY lucky that my kids go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

Great small community school. The largest class size is 20 students. Most of the classes are around 15. The PTA and Principal are the best around. The school is in remodel phase and what they have completed is AMAZING! The kids have 2 brand new playgrounds, a state of the art gymnasium and the latest teaching tools. My daughter loves her school and so do I!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

Having just moved to another state and had to enroll my son in a new . school, I realized how much I've come to rely on the staff at Overlook for the safety and education of my children. I've had three kids attend Overlook and I never once worried about them while they were in school. I am going to miss the wonderful teachers and staff who worked so very hard to help my son adjust to school. As I have quickly discovered, the teachers at Overlook are not only the best in the state, but quite possibily among the finest in our country. Consider your children very lucky to be able to attend such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

I've had 2 kids attend Overlook and without a doubt, the teachers & staff are the best in the State! With more financial support from the county, Overlook would be better able to compete academically with neighboring schools. The government funding that is allocated to this elementary school is barely enough to cover basic operating costs let alone fund programs such as the computer lab, cultural arts programs, and most recently, the county's refusal to purchase outdoor playground equipment for an elementary school that had none! Despite the lack of funding, somehow the PTA and Staff at Overlook manage to provide the students with a challenging and sucessful learning experience year after year. Overlook is a safe and small school that gives you the comfort and security of living in a small town despite the fact that you're 10 minutes from Baltimore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

this school is great my daughter has recieved alot of knowledge and support from the staff and the teachers thyey really do care about the children in this school they do need to get more parents involved and it would be the best school out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

I have 3 children that have or are still going to Overlook Elementary since 1998. I love this elementary school!! I couldnt ask for a better one. The staff is just great! My children are all happy to get up in the morning and go to school. This says somthing. The teachers are all so friendly and helpfull at all tims. I love Overlook Elementary. Its like having an extended family. I feel safe knowing my children are in there hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

My son Joshua has been in this school for the past 2 years and he has advance so much,The parent involment I think It's great and the security is outstanding. I feel very comfortable and happy to have my son attend such a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

19 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Black 12% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hispanic 6% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Hampton Rd
Linthicum, MD 21090
Phone: (410) 222-6585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Friendship Adventist School
Linthicum Heights, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT