Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hampton Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in third grade at this school and it's been a wonderful experience. Recently renovated and expanded, each classroom has state of the art technology along with teachers who navigate it effortlessly. It's impressive. I also believe that there is sufficient assistance for lower grade learners that require extra help. The parent community is also engaged. I like that there seems to be a good balance between prioritizing academic achievement and play.

Hampton Elementary School 4

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Great school and very helpful teachers. Mrs.Cavender in first grade and Mrs.Vickers in third grade and M. Shew are awesome!!


Hampton Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
What a great school. My wife and I have two kids that attend Hampton elementary and have been very happy. Thanks to the teachers and staff.

Hampton Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
The principle and vice principle have a severe attitude problem. My child has been bullied a few times and nothing has been done about it. When they speak to your children, they say things and then try to deny it. My child has told me a lot of things they have said, but didn't want me to go back to the principle and vice principle because he thought he would get into trouble for repeating things. I BELIEVE MY CHILD. I just don't like the feeling of the school anymore. Never had a problem with any of the teachers. They all seem nice enough.

Hampton Elementary School 2

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
I am sorry to report that Hampton's administration was insensitive and pathetic for helping my son with special needs. My son is 3 so they denied him an educational placement despite my extensive documentation diagnosing him with memory problems. The special Ed teacher Ms Carr was the only person who had any regard for my son. The psychologist Mr. Brown actually admitted he never read the psych report but made fun of my sons diagnosis. It was clear their only concern was to uphold the status quo. I pulled my son and put him in private. I am currently moving and have specifically told my realtor Hampton is not an option because of its administration and support service staff. On the flip side my friends who have kids in gen Ed are thrilled. If your child has special needs constantly take your child to private specialists so you have documentation to properly advocate for your child.


Hampton Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
A lot of bullying problems in this school. Teachers look the other way and the school counselor is ineffective. The administration does more to protect the kids who bully than the victims of bullying.

Hampton Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2011
- a parent
It's a great school! We bought our house in this zip code just so our children would be able to attend such a fantastic school. The principal is a caring and strong leader. The teachers work well together as a team with their planning. My child loves the "specials" and, with a new addition in the works, it will be one of the best schools in Baltimore County. Quality schools like Hampton make private schools unnecessary! I've also been surprised at the level of parental support and involvement. I've tried for years to be a chaperone for any field trip, but have never been able to b/c I'm competing with so many other parents! Also, we've had so many parents volunteering during class, that we've had to set up a volunteer calendar each month, with most of the days filled.

Hampton Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
I was surprised to read the negative review from the parent with a special needs child. I have a son with special needs who has attended Hampton since 2009, and I couldn't be happier with the services and supports he is getting. The Special Ed teacher (Ms. Carr) is outstanding. True, at times I have felt like the Principal was not really on our side, like when we requested that our son repeat Kindergarten and she refused. But I have been pleased with the progress he is making in first grade and am now glad we didn't repeat him. The Principal is definitely the captain of her ship, but she is very involved with what is happening in her school, and I respect that. I know everybody's experience is different, and I know first-hand how difficult it can be to have a special needs child in school, but in general I have been very pleased with Hampton. The PTA has tremendous participation, and I have never felt like the parents here are "snooty" or unfriendly, which I have heard is the case at some of the other area schools. Overall, I love Hampton, and feel like it has been the perfect place for us.


Hampton Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
As the parent of a special needs child I had high hopes with this school. We could not be more disappointed. The admin., especially the VP, clearly do not want us here. They have made even the simplest requests impossible. I never imagined that the nurse, VP and Principal would simply turn their backs on a concerned parent when we walk in the office. My child's daycare was more professional. They are very superficial. I've never been more disappointed, as our only goal is the well-being of an innocent child.

Hampton Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
The techers are caring, the principal is excellent, and I feel like my daughter is getting a quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampton Elementary School
1115 Charmuth Rd, Lutherville, MD  21093
(410) 887-3205
Last modified Hampton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hampton Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top