Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Lutherville, MD
Students enrolled: 1,081

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ridgely Middle School 3

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
I went to this middle school more than 30 years ago- not much has changed. You've got some awesome, devoted teachers who want to see the student grow and succeed. Then you have the ones who are so unprofessional- they speak harshly about other teachers ( 1 teacher went so far as to call another teacher " a stupid man !"- to the students . Some have made inappropriate comments to/ about a student in front of an entire class. These teachers are supposed to be role models. I was not impressed. The guidance counselor for the 7th grade was the BEST ever !

Ridgely Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a community member
This is a very amazing school, I went here and I definitely came out a better student, and person as a whole


Ridgely Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
Have no complaints abouts the school. Education is excellent but they can do a little bit or remodeling the classrooms. This is an old school.

Ridgely Middle School 4

Posted June 13, 2011
- a community member
Ridgely Middle is a good school, but not a great one. Most of the teachers are attentive to the needs of their students, but some are either overworked or simply disengaged.

Ridgely Middle School 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a community member
This school is a very good one. My daughter and I have moved from that schools area but she wants to go back every day! :)


Ridgely Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
My point is (in case it isn't clear enough from my last post, the one that starts "For all the great things about this school..."--our "special needs" kids (IEP's, 504's and not diagnosed at all) are ***NOT A BURDEN!!!***They are, in fact, as capable of achieving (and at least some of them more so) as any other student. The few teachers and administrators, etc. that still think of them as a "burden" is the problem. Maybe if more parents make that point, they'll stop seeing these kids as "labels" and start seeing them for all they are really worth. I think most of them already do, but not all. Labels (like "special needs" "troublemaker" "quirky" )don't teach kids. Educators with knowledge and great attitudes do! Kudos to those that already have great attitudes! Those that don't---(and get stuck on labels)-do your research!

Ridgely Middle School 2

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are overburdened with too many special needs kids in the classes with no real assistance. No discretion is used when placing children in foreign language classes. My daughter had an E in Latin for the first two quarters and they switched her to another language against my wishes. The rest of the class had actually been taking that class for two quarters and they placed her in cold turkey. How was she ever supposed to catch up? Foreign language isn't history where you can miss one event and move on to the next successfully. You need the basics to move on to the next concept or your child will be lost. RMS had no business placing my daughter in a foreign language to begin with. I am glad she is now in high school and taking classes she can handle.
1 person found this helpful

Ridgely Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Great school academically but bullying is tolerated. In my opinion their 'zero tolerance policy' is only on paper. My child was bullied two years at Ridgely and little or nothing was done about it. The school administration pretends that it does not exist. It's a serious issue at that school.


Ridgely Middle School 5

Posted December 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ridgely Middle School 4

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgely Middle School
121 Ridgely Rd, Lutherville, MD  21093
(410) 887-7650
Last modified Ridgely Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ridgely Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top