Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
790 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Pauls School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
My son came for the small classes and enjoyed those, but really grew to love everything the community provided.

St Pauls School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I have had one boy graduate from St. Paul's and one is a senior there. Both boys have had exemplary experiences there. St. Paul's has recognized and nurtured their passions and strengths, all while emphasizing character and integrity. For a relatively small school, the extracurricular offerings are numerous; the school boasts its own squash courts, a professional-level theater program, a top-notch musical choir director who coaches the boys to such an excellent skill level that they are welcome to sing in premier venues around the world, and an incredible STEM program, whose director is intensely dedicated and passionate. The IB program is extremely highly respected by the best colleges and universities around the world, and the boys enrolled in the IB diploma program get a multi-disciplinary, rigorous academic experience which prepares them very well for the rigors of top colleges. On top of all this, the boys here are nice to each other. They are proud of their diversity of interests and talents and support each other. It has been a great place with wonderful teachers who serve as great mentors for my boys to develop into young men.


St Pauls School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
There are a few that I could mention. But if I could choose just one, it would have to be Lower School Admissions Director, Martha Donovan. When my son came for his interview, he was nervous. So much so that he would not talk to any of the teachers. Martha, suggested we take him home and come back the following week. During that week we were able to get our son better prepared for his school visit. That next week, Martha was prepared to ease my son into his time at the school. He did great and got accepted into the school and three years later is flourishing at SP. That experience sums up St Paul's, as I often say, "SP is an elite educate but the people are not elitist" . We have found the faculty and staff to be the most humble, down to earth and yet serious staff around.

St Pauls School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Amazing teachers is what makes this school so awesome. Our son has been challenged and yet nurtured within the proper balance. Really a unique group of top notch teachers.

St Pauls School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
The level of academic rigor at St. Paul's alone deposits persistence in each student. The work is challenging but purposeful and it develops character and determination in the students.


St Pauls School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
St. Paul's is one of the diverse independent school communities we have seen in our area. In this diverse environment, students are encouraged to interact, treat fairly and respect their fellow classmates.

St Pauls School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
At each grade level students participate in on and off campus projects that teach students to serve their community. In addition, students bring in and deliver lunches to local homeless shelters.

St Pauls School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Students are taught to think of others as they bring lunches for the homeless. The school motto which the students learn is ingrained with themes of integrity, fairness and thinking broadly.


St Pauls School 5

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
My son loves going to school and wishes the summer was shorter so he could be back in school. We have been connected to St. Paul's for three years now, and every teacher has been amazing and compassionate. The curriculum challenges my son to be at his best and think broadly. Awesome school experience!

St Pauls School 4

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
We came to St. Paul's not just because it has been a very warm and nurturing place for our son, who is currently in the lower school, but also because of it's focus on boys and their style of learning as they move up to the middle and upper school. The school has a nice community feel and in general, the parents are relatively down to earth. This school is not without it's challenges, as all schools have them. But they continue to strive for more for the families and the students that attend. For those who are not as favorable about the school; it may not have been the best fit for your child and perhaps you should have done more research. I would also say that complaining with no suggestions on improvement or involvement from the parents does not help anything. The things that I would like to see changed, I work to make them better for my child and the children to come. We are involved working parents who take the time to get to know the teachers and leadership and build a rapport with the parents, as well to have a positive influence on all aspects of the school. There is no other way, in both public or private school. For us and many others, St. Paul's is a good fit for our child. I would highly recommend that anyone considering the school at least take the time to visit, speak to the students, teachers, and parents to see if this is the place for your child as well. I didn't know what to expect when I visited and honestly expected to like many of the other private schools over St. Paul's, based on the comments and reputations of the other schools. Boy was I wrong! After visiting many other places first, it was clear that we as a family didn't fit there and more importantly, neither did our son. When I went to St. Paul's I instantly fell in love, for all the right reasons. Our son has felt at home there and so have my husband and I. Do your research and visit St. Paul's to make your own decisions. It's worth the investment.

Nearby schools

St Pauls School
11152 Falls Road, Lutherville-Timonium, MD  21093
(410) 825-4400
Last modified St Pauls School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top