Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chapelgate Christian Academy

Private | PK, 6-12 | 350 students

Our school is best known for our academic and athletic programs.

 

Living in Marriottsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $525,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

This is my child's first year at CCA. I was nervous in the beginning of the year because we turned down an acceptance at another school. I was hopeful that I made the right choice. We just felt CCA had a little more to offer. This year, however, has exceeded my expectations. The teachers have been very motivating and encouraging. The other students in the grade all seem to get along. Last, the academics have been quite rigorous. Two of the teachers are teaching everything in the basic textbook, but then going much deeper into the subject matter. This school has turned out to be great for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I am a parent of three children. Two are attending CCA. One is a senior and one a middle schooler. Chapelgate has been a very good fit for my children thus far. My daughter has been successful in her classwork, her friendships and other areas of interest to her such as volleyball and creative writing. She has taken AP tests and scored 4s and 5s. Currently completing the college application process, she has received acceptances and merit scholarships from every college thus far. My 8th grader also likes CCA a lot. He is doing well in school and is challenged, more so in some classes than others. He is looking forward to playing baseball with CCA next year. He loves the family atmosphere of the school and is close to his classmates. My third child will be starting CCA in sixth grade next year. I am somewhat less sure that the school will be a great fit for him- that has yet to be seen. If it is, then great! If not, we will move him in to our excellent public school system (he is in public school now.) You will get out of CCA what you put in. Kids have to work hard, be respectful and put themselves out there and participate. It's not a perfect school, but it's a very good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

I love the academics. You get a great education, college preparation beginning in 9th grade and increasing as you get older, and most of my teachers are understanding of my situation. I have some troubles in my family, and my teachers are so accommodating. Although I'm a junior this year, and I've attended since 8th grade, I still feel rather rejected by my fellow classmates. Thankfully for younger students, though, many of the younger grades are much more welcoming. I think you should at least give it a try and see if it fits your style before you go an make judgments. Oh, and btw, there is a FINE art department lead by the Studio Art/ Drama/ Creative Writing teacher. She's the reason our plays/ musical are so fantastic every year.


Posted May 8, 2012

I have had two children graduate from CCA and one currently attending. They have received a good education, they scored 4 or 5 on their AP exams and scored higher on their SAT's then their friends in Howard County Public Schools. They were very active in sports and able to participate in mission experiences with the school over Spring Break. I am very thankful for their Christian worldview. The school and the students are not perfect, but that is true everywhere. However, overall they provide a solid education, build character in your children, and offer many activities for an affordable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

I have a 10th grade son who has attended CCA for 5 years and he really enjoys it. The staff is great. When I have had an issue in the past, I felt the administration listened, cared and addressed the issues. My younger son is in public school (by his choice ~ but will be at CCA for HS) and comparing the education between the public school and CCA, I feel that CCA offers a higher standard of education over all. I also love that all the staff are Christians and pray for and care about their students. I would definitely recommend CCA if you are looking for a strong, Christ-centered, academic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I attended this school with my brothers. Not all the teachers that are bad, but some are just unbelievable. The band teacher has no control of her classes and she has anger problems. The guidance counselor is also no help. She is supposed to guide students and help seniors with college applications and so on. However, she left without a word to go on a vacation during this process. Because of this, I ended being rejected from the college I wanted to go to. I even asked the head of admissions why I wasn't accepted... and she said that it is because they never received my transcripts nor guidance counselor recommendation letter. When I asked the guidance counselor... she replied to me, "I forgot to send yours."


Posted June 23, 2011

My daughter attended 9th grade. The Band class starts 45mins before the normal school day... called zero period. The entire HS band meets during this class time @25 students. Kids are pulled once a week from an academic class for weekly band assessments. A night mare for any kid with organization issues. The band teacher is very young however mentally she is very rigid and does not understand executive function issues such as ADHD. I would not recommend band here if your kid has this kind of issue. Also, teachers run out of the building at 3pm..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

It's great and all that but some teachers don't like it when you flip out seeing a bug or sometimes they grade unfairly Just so you know, the desks are about the size of the textbook


Posted October 20, 2009

I am a parent of a new student in the 10th grade and he is doing a lot better than he was previously in the public school he attended. He was welcomed by everyone he came across and says the environment is a very relaxed, no peer pressure, everybody gets along type of environment. We like other parents read previously posted reviews and I can honestly say that my son says that non of the negative stuff is true. That's not to say that the school is perfect but what school is?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

there was a post here that talked about students sitting still and i'd just like to say that that is totally true. as is the entire post. there are many teachers at this school seem to feel that students don;t need to be involved in the class. and are more apt to tell students to be quite then to get them involved. i know this 1st hand first hand. while i was at CCA they did all they could to push Riddlin onto me and my family (of course we said hell no!) still its that sort of thing that one should be careful of. i'm currently attending a highly selective college, have a job, and am very sugccessful as of now. and all this off a public school education and no mind altering drugs. take that CCA!


Posted September 18, 2008

My daughter entered Chapelgate in 8th grade after a horrific time in public school. All the kids were welcoming and the teachers couldn't be more accomodating. My daughter took a little time to adjust to the different academics but it was a much better environment than any public school! If you want to expose your child to the 'world' while getting a good education, there is not a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

I am a current student at Chapelgate and I certainly disagree with some of these comments. I recently started Chapelgate in 07' and I felt like when I began that I was already family. The teachers act as outlets, when most of the students are having difficult times. I recall a situation where a classmate of mine wasn't prepared for a class project and the teacher allowed them to come back and recieve majority of the credit. I am returning as and 8th grader and I can hardly wait. The art class had to be one of my most favorite subjects, Mrs.Bonell not only showed us out of the ordinary but rememberable things. I am proud to say that I go to Chapelgate and that I have learned nothing more than the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

tjos school is pathetic. offers no arts, nor does it support art. My child has been attending this school for less than a year and i am not ashamed to say that I am extrememly dissapointed in the art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

My 15yr old son just started here in the 9th grade and absolutely loves this school! The academics are great and the support from the teachers is outstanding. I would definitely recommend this school to any parent wanting a challenging nurturing christian environment for their kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My son has been at CCA now for 4 years. He has often commented about how much more pleasant the student body is overall than at his public elementary school. My husband and I find the academics excellent; our son has been challenged without being frustrated. The teachers know and care about each student which enhances learning greatly. The main reason we chose CCA was to provide our then middle school aged son a nurturing Christian environment in which to develop before he made his way out into to the wider world. CCA has done that and more; we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

We highly recommend Chapelgate to anyone. The school's not perfect, but show us one that is. The school is almost 15yo, and has done an excellent job becoming what it is and is improving on what it can become. Our son has attended Chapelgate since 6th grade and is receiving an excellent education within a Christian environment. Adolescent issues are found here that are found everywhere but on a miniscule scale. Be aware that a clear academic system begins in 6th and carries through to 12th grade. When a student enters in later years, he/she could lag behind while adapting to the system. When considering transferring students into CCA (especially HS), parents should consider their child's ability to adapt to new situations and environments remembering there is an already-established student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

My child told me 'At Chapelgate, the teachers care about me.' That pretty much said it all to me! He feels the teachers are approachable for extra help. As a parent, I appreciate the web access to Edline reports, which list current grades as well as missing and upcoming assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

This is a great school! My children have attended CCA for a few years and they couldn't be happier. We (parents) are thrilled also. Great academics, excellent committed teachers, lots of wholesome activities. Discipline and values are taught here - imagine that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

Anger characterizes my dealings with this school. I had a middle schooler there last year and i have pulled him out due to the rediculous policies of the teachers (a several hundred dollar band trip was considered mandatory) and the lack of understanding for families with financial difficulties. If you are looking for a safe, friendly christian environment, you're better off with your local public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

This school is insane. It drove my son to depression because his whole grade depended on getting some papers signed. The discipline is rediculous and the students aren't graded on their academic performance, but rather on there ability to sit still and be quiet during class. If someone is interested in sending their child to a private school i strongly recomened looking somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Schools
Private Schools
Home Schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation Maryland University
UMBC
Howard Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian Church In America
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
  • Student-Centered Learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
112
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
132
Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Private Schools
Home Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$7000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Need based

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Maryland University
UMBC
Howard Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Marriottsville Road
Marriottsville, MD 21104
Phone: (410) 442-5888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mount View Middle School
Marriottsville, MD


Thomas Ofarrell Youth Center
Marriottsville, MD


Kingsway Academy
Randallstown, MD




Liberty Christian School
Owings Mills, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT