Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marriotts Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 1305 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

I am a junior at MRHS. I love it. The teachers are astonishing, and do great teaching. Our Music programs are know across the country like the madrigals, and our drama department will knock your socks off. The classes are challenging and make you think, but they prepare you for college. We have a bunch of extra curricular activities from improv to cooking to service hours, and more. Our sports are good. Our Our boys varsity soccer team has won four consecutive state championships and our girls varsity lacrosse team has won 2 out of 3 state championships. The principle is great she is short but everyone is scared of her. She is effective. She even made break. Every Monday and Thursday between second and third period, we have a 20 minute break for students to get help in their classes. Also, our student council is one hundred percent effective. They listen to what we have to stay, and are not afraid to voice their opinions at student council meetings. We (student council ) do the best for the students because everyone remembers their four years in high school. Teachers want to make it fun and educational and they show it that they love their jobs and care a lot about the kids.MRHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2012

I had a daughter graduate and a son still in mrhs, it's a very warm and welcoming school to students and parents. They focus on the kids learning and the kids at the school are well behaved and caring kids. My husband and I are pleased with how the students are treated and with how they treat each other. The families are also involved in the volunteering and helping the school be a positive atmosphere for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

We have been very pleased with this school, even our kids like it! The teachers are good and the curriculum is challenging.


Posted January 24, 2011

The community is starting to get worse young kids are already taking drugs at this school or hiding it and the school is hiding it plus they haven't help my child my child has learning disabilities and they haven't helped him in anyway


Posted May 12, 2010

This school has great teacher leadership, great curriculum, great students, and excellent oppertunities. Maybe the best high school ever...!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2010

Marriotts Ridge is the best high school in the entire country!!!! Amazing principal, teachers and students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

I have two kids now at MRHS and we couldn't be happier. From the administration to the staff, everyone strives for academic excellence. There is so much for kids to be involved in after school to make them well-rounded students, the choices are amazing! Many kids say it's hard to pick just one or two things because there are so many wonderful activities. All the students demonstrate school spirit but more importantly school pride. Both my kids look forward to school and their activities and events. You can't ask for anything more as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Staff is pretty good...some loop holes...and they need to focus on really important stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I think the school is doing a good job, I am satisfied with my daughters acadimec scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

My son went to Glenelg HS and my daughter is in her second year at MRHS. The difference in administration and policy are incredible. The administration and teachers take their 'charge of our children' very seriously, yet expects and encourages excellence from each student. Although a new school in 2005, by 2007 this school has more spirit and well behaved students than any of the other wonderful schools in Howard County. It is, by far, the top high school in a nationally recognized county of schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 43%
Asian 21% 6%
Black 6% 36%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12100 Woodford Dr
Marriottsville, MD 21104
Phone: (410) 313-5568

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chapelgate Christian Academy
Marriottsville, MD


Thomas Ofarrell Youth Center
Marriottsville, MD


Kingsway Academy
Sykesville, MD


Glenelg Country School
Ellicott City, MD



Mount Hebron High School
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT