Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
My family will be new to this school, from out of state. When I made initial contact, the voice on the other end of the phone was short, disinterested, and not very helpful. I haven't yet called back, I already feel unwelcome.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
We weren't happy there. Very cliquey and if you don't fit in, you don't fit in and are basically excuded from a lot of social events. Kids learn from their parents and our son had a miserable time as he got older when his old friends decided they didn't like him anymore. We have encountered rudeness (from parents and children), exclusion, fakeness (when they want $$$ for PTA, etc.). I tried to get involved and interacting with some of the parents made me feel like I was back in high school again. The worst part about it is, you can't just ignore all of this. The community is so intertwined you can't ignore when you aren't invited to parent hosted social gatherings or if your child isn't invited to a birthday party. We moved into another district and are much happier. If you are into cliques and are accepted you will probably be happy here. Otherwise be prepared to go thru high school again.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
It is a decent school. No diversity. Parent involvement is over the top and not in a good way. Very cliquey. Wasn't a good fit for us but others love it. We moved and are happy with our current choice.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Our son just finished Kindergarten at SCES, and we could not have been more pleased with his introduction to public schooling. The teachers and staff at SCES are wonderful, and the varied programs that are available for after school enrichment were a pleasant surprise. Our family is looking forward to many more enjoyable years as part of the Shipley's family!

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2013
- a parent
Shipley's Choice Elem is situated in one of the most amazing, community-based neighborhoods we've ever lived in. With a teacher ratio of 1:11, the closeness of student friendships spills over into this close knit neighborhood. This school is one of those rare gems that exist in a community that supports its neighbors and families.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
We picked this neighborhood primarily for the school and I would have to say overall, it's very, very good. There is an enormous level of parent involvement and the students rank high in state test scores. The principle seems to have the children as his number one priority. That being said...I believe there is TOO much focus on test scores and they probably teach to the test. The school also severely lacks cultural diversity and some individuals are a bit cliquey and gossipy.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
We were well pleased with the school. A great positive principal, dedicated teachers, and hardly any discipline problems are a wonderful combination. The only downside to this community is you may have to wait 4 years for a pool/ tennis bond if you own and if you rent, forget it. That is a long time for kids and EXTREMELY disappointing to them. Therefore, I do not recommend this school if you like to use the pool or tennis courts because it is not a community pool.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 31, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic teachers, great kids, wonderful principal and highly involved parents!


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
We moved into Shipley's for the school. The teaching staff is good and the principal is excellent. Unfortunately, a lot of the children who attend this school seem to lack basic manners and can be down right mean. Because of this, I would suggest a different school.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2006
- a parent
Truly a 'one in a million school!' The faculty is outstanding and the parent participation is evident - over 14,000 volunteer hours this year alone! Parents choose this neighborhood for this school!

Nearby schools

Shipley's Choice Elementary School
310 Governor Stone Pky, Millersville, MD  21108
(410) 222-3851
Last modified Shipley's Choice Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top