Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Millersville, MD
Students enrolled: 401
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
We weren't happy there. Very cliquey and if you don't fit in, you don't fit in and are basically excuded from a lot of social events. Kids learn from their parents and our son had a miserable time as he got older when his old friends decided they didn't like him anymore. We have encountered rudeness (from parents and children), exclusion, fakeness (when they want $$$ for PTA, etc.). I tried to get involved and interacting with some of the parents made me feel like I was back in high school again. The worst part about it is, you can't just ignore all of this. The community is so intertwined you can't ignore when you aren't invited to parent hosted social gatherings or if your child isn't invited to a birthday party. We moved into another district and are much happier. If you are into cliques and are accepted you will probably be happy here. Otherwise be prepared to go thru high school again.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
It is a decent school. No diversity. Parent involvement is over the top and not in a good way. Very cliquey. Wasn't a good fit for us but others love it. We moved and are happy with our current choice.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Our son just finished Kindergarten at SCES, and we could not have been more pleased with his introduction to public schooling. The teachers and staff at SCES are wonderful, and the varied programs that are available for after school enrichment were a pleasant surprise. Our family is looking forward to many more enjoyable years as part of the Shipley's family!

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2013
- a parent
Shipley's Choice Elem is situated in one of the most amazing, community-based neighborhoods we've ever lived in. With a teacher ratio of 1:11, the closeness of student friendships spills over into this close knit neighborhood. This school is one of those rare gems that exist in a community that supports its neighbors and families.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a parent
We picked this neighborhood primarily for the school and I would have to say overall, it's very, very good. There is an enormous level of parent involvement and the students rank high in state test scores. The principle seems to have the children as his number one priority. That being said...I believe there is TOO much focus on test scores and they probably teach to the test. The school also severely lacks cultural diversity and some individuals are a bit cliquey and gossipy.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
We were well pleased with the school. A great positive principal, dedicated teachers, and hardly any discipline problems are a wonderful combination. The only downside to this community is you may have to wait 4 years for a pool/ tennis bond if you own and if you rent, forget it. That is a long time for kids and EXTREMELY disappointing to them. Therefore, I do not recommend this school if you like to use the pool or tennis courts because it is not a community pool.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 31, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic teachers, great kids, wonderful principal and highly involved parents!

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
We moved into Shipley's for the school. The teaching staff is good and the principal is excellent. Unfortunately, a lot of the children who attend this school seem to lack basic manners and can be down right mean. Because of this, I would suggest a different school.


Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shipley's Choice Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shipley's Choice Elementary School
310 Governor Stone Pky, Millersville, MD  21108
(410) 222-3851
Last modified Shipley's Choice Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shipley's Choice Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top