Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millersville Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 365 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2012

My child has been at this school for a few years now and I have to admit that my wife and I are pleased. Each child is addressed for their strengths and weaknesses at the classroom level and all children are held to the same standards of discipline in terms of behavior; there are no favorites. Every school has its problems, but the small "charm" that this school has makes it a real draw. The only thing negative I can say about it is that prior to attending the school, we had heard about how amazing the parent involvement was. This may be true for kids individually, but the PTA struggles to do its job because of the lack of interest. They try extremely hard, but it is either the transient nature of the population (due to the military and careers) or a sign of the times; no one knows. Bottom line, this is a public school and you are not going to get the same hand holding as a $20,000/yr private school. If you are active in your child's education, Millersville Elementary is a goldmine opportunity for any child. If you expect the teachers to do most or all of the work in educating your child, I don't think you will be happy in most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

Very sad to see the most current reviews of this school. I have 1 who completed 5 years here, another currently enrolled & a future MES Student. The positive points have all been addressed here. I can say that we are a low income family & completely disagree with some of the negative comments. Most families are accepting of an income, background, orientation, etc. yes these kids are high achieves but there are many special Ed & special needs students here. As with all schools you have to be active if you want your child to get what they need. There are plenty of options out there but schools don't "offer", you have to do your homework. I have had few problems & consider myself school spoiled. I love MES and would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

My child entered the school year totally siked to go to a new school, and eager to learn. Within 2 weeks, the attitude was a total 360 and he asked to go back to his old school. I stuck it out, which was a mistake. If your child is not within the 'norm' then expect to be disappointed. Kids are not pushed to their potential, or pushed at all. Parent involvement is not!! encouraged, and the environment is quite cold all around (principal, secretaries, and teachers) to parents. Even on Grandparents day, my mom came back and questioned the chilled environment. Communication leaves much to be desired unless you like the 'black box' approach. Not wanting to be totally negative, the classrooms have smart boards (our children won't know what an over-head projector is soon), and the PTA seems to do a good job getting $$ for things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

I am a new family to the area and to the school, This is our first experience in public school as we always utilized private schools prior to this. I find the staff, from bus driver to principal, pleasant and easy to deal with. The teachers are excited about what they do and take pride in the programs. My child is happy and well adjusted, and is advancing well academicaly. I feel like we have found a real gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Unless you were born and bred here with ties to the community you do not belong in this school. If you are AD moving into the area this is not the school for your children. This website has guidelines for what it discourages for content. You cannot give 0 out of 5 stars or else it looks as though you did not vote. There are no words for the leadership of this school. 1/5 is generous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

It's really sad when a school only cares about those who make above a certain income level. Those who fall under that mark are considered "bad parents." I was unfortunate enough to be one of those parents. The previous principal should have been fired for being verbally abusive towards me. The current principal was apathetic towards my son's needs when he attended. The parents who have money seem to have their little stranglehold on the school, which is a crying shame. In fact, it is disgusting. My son was bullied by the children of these parents and nothing was done, even when I sent an email to the principal about it. In schools such as this, you can worry about gangs of over spoiled parents, not gangs of "violent" children. I think I would prefer the gangs of "violent" children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school and great teachers that really care for the kids. Both my sons went here and it was a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I love this school!!! I have to say Ms. Brendel, the principal, knows ALL her students names... and their siblings as well. She is out every am with her much needed coffee wishing us all a good morning and greating each car as it arrives. The teachers are FABULOUS!! I've had one teacher even stop by my home to check on my child. Very many of them are energetic and excited about each and every child. My young daughter has been accepted as 'the class pet' since she tags along to parties in her older brothers class. The help with my sons reading difficulty has proven how great these teachers really are!! The Special Ed program is outstanding. This is a small town school, friendly and genuinely caring to all families regardless of ethnicity, or sexual preferences. I look forward to another child attending starting next year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

We love this school, it got this small school feeling and teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

My daughter was having tons of problems at Pershing Hill Elem, shes has Asperger's Syndrome, but since changing to Millersville Elem, shes has been doing so much better. She actually looks forward to going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

My 5-year experience at this school has been extremely positive. There is a high level of parent involvement, the teachers are excellent and the principal seems to know every student. The teachers work together in a team-teaching style that benefits every student. My children have learned from every teacher at each grade level. This allows for many styles of learning and many styles of teaching. The autism program at the school has benefited all students. Children with autism interact with other students on a daily basis providing learning opportunities for every student. This program has brought wonderful teachers, aides, and students into Millersville. Parents have a chance to volunteer in many capacities at the school. They feel welcomed by the teachers and staff. Millersville is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

Millersville elementary is a very fast paced school. It is a learning environment for high acheivers. If your child is having problems learning, he is left in the dust. I found the special education program greatly lacking in time and compassion for my child. No special education child should receive failing grades (unless he refuses to pick up a pencil and try) if the educators fail him! my child thinks he is stupid. Thank you, millersville, elementary for leading him to believe this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

Millersville is a small school that offers students help with their individual needs. The principal is aware of the students and their needs and the staff is very willing to help. Upon entering the school a vistor will find the environment friendly and orderly. The students, staff and principal take pride in their school which shows. Parents are also very involved in the school and their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

There is a program to mainstream autistic children into the classroom that has benefited all the students. Each child in the program has a personal helper so the autistic children do not distract other students very often during rare outburst of behavior, yet all students benefit from increased funds to the school and exposure to all of lifes diversities. It also shows students that not all people are created the same way nor do they learn the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Millersville Rd
Millersville, MD 21108
Phone: (410) 222-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rockbridge Academy
Millersville, MD


Indian Creek School
Crownsville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT