Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Old Mill Middle North

Public | 6-8 | 910 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2013

This excellent school is an authorized IB MYP World School with a economically and racially diverse student body, along with a SUPURB teaching and administrative staff. The overall atmosphere here is academic, creative, and eclectic, where all students are encouraged to achieve and reach their full potential. Students are divided into smaller "teams" within each grade which allow a smaller group to circulate with their team mates between their team teachers, thus allowing teachers to get to know their students well as individuals. Teachers are caring, and open to communicating and working with parents. Course material is IB--interesting & international in scope--how many schools teach Chinese and Cricket? Bravo OMMN, officially trying to get the word out: you're doing a GREAT JOB--keep up the good work!! Glad to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The staff is very supportive to the students. Many of them go beyond teaching, to offer extra after school activities. When a student needs to talk to someone, they can approach any staff member.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2010

I have had 2 grandchildren in Old Mill and one struggled to get good grades. The teacher was always there for him, stayed to tutor and e-mailed to give tips to help him study, investigated what he needed and AVID helped him tremendously to help him realize he can go to college. He is a very good student now and works hard. His sister is an honor roll student and the teachers have helped her to relax. She is selft motivated and an avid reader and writer. The teachers have helped her to relax and enjoy fun activities and recognize her needs. They are alway there and available whatever the children need. i have seen some very disturbing incidents parents not showing up and the administrators have stayed to be there for the children left behind. Teachers jobs are not easy but the teaches at OMMN put so much time and effort in their school. They are a pleasure to know.


Posted May 6, 2010

Awesome teachers, superb counselors, staff the goes above and beyond their job description. Concerned about my child's overall development. Not just that she get good grades. In terms of grades, my daughter has been taught to 'think' through a question not just memorize an answer. That's one of the skills that OMMN teaches that so many other middle schools dont teach. It is such and important skill to teach children before they reach high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love Old Mill North because the teachers and staff really cares about my child and they do everything possible to make sure he succeeds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

OMMN is the best! As soon as you walk through those doors you feel welcome. I have one in 8th grade MYP and another in IB at OMHS whom also went here and both my kids have done very well. Their grades are fantastic, involved in activities, love school. This would not happen without the exceptional staff we have. The teachers go above and beyond, they know how to keep the kids involved and excited to learn. The administrative staff is seen throughout the school, interacting with the kids and if you have concerns they are quick to help. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The staff care about the kids and also learning is great at Old mill north You can stop by the school anytime and have lucnh with your child OLD MILL IS GREAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

OMMMN has been a wonderful experience for my daughter. The MYP program has really focused my daughter in being the best... The teachers are very understanding and are willing to help your child succeed in everything they do!! The teachers are dedicated and take pride in their jobs... OMMN has really blossomed as a middle school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

OMMN is an awesome school. Two of my kids attended this school. The teachers and administrators have displayed a genuine concern for the well being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love OMMN because of the challenging MYP program that both of my daughters are enrolled in. I also love the outstanding staff: from the guidance counselor , the MYP coordinator, classroom teachers all the way up to the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The principal is very enthusiastic and the staff has been very responsive to my daughter's needs. They strive to stay proactive and just can't hide their Old Mill pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

The teachers are too busy handling the other uncontrollable students. When you ask for help, they're quick and snappy about it and barely have any time for you unless you are rude and straight to the point to get their attention. It was like survival of the loudest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2009

I was a student at OMMN. I transferred there in the middle of 6th grade and went there til 8th grade, Im now going to 9th grade, but not at OMHS because I had to switch schools because I moved. Most of the students there wouldnt really pay attention to the staff/administration, but sometimes they did. Mr.Mac was friendly, and everybody loved him. While I was there, there was many fights, I've got to say i enjoyed them. One or two of them were actually over me, in 7th grade. The halls of OMMN are a little crowded and people tend to block them, but you can still get around. One thing I liked about OMMN is, there are so many ways around the school. For instance if one side is blocked, you can just go around and go the other way. Most of the teachers are nice and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

i was a student at Old Mill Middle North I'm now going to the ninth grade. I have been going to OMMN since sixth grade. I can honestly say that its a pretty good school. The teachers are very nice and seem to be concerned with the students grades and over all well being...that is if you care about your grades and are a pretty good student. There weren't many fights here you just have to pick the right friends to involve yourself with don't get involved in gossip and rumors. In the end i was very happy i went here, i made many good friends and continue to take honors classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

My daughter is in the 6th grade at OMMN, this is our first experience with the school. She has ADHD, and her grades are suffering. The teachers are approachable, and keep in contact very easily via email. So far it seems to be a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

My daughter is a student in the MYP program and had a difficult decision in coming there from her home school. The MYP coordinator and MYP teachers are wonderful and made my daughter's transition to the school as easy as possible. Mrs. Gross is strict but very caring and all the kids love her. Ms. Benoit is young and energetic and engages all the students in her class. Mrs. Shellby has been very helpful to my daughter and others who were slated for redistricting, offering us much support. Mr. Mac is a great principal. Parents who are unhappy with the school need to question whether they are taking advantage of the numerous resources offered by the school to assist their students. I HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My son is currently in 6th grade at OMMN, in the IB MYP Programme, and I am extremely pleased with the school. I am a teacher with 21 yrs. of experience, so I know a quality school when I see one. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

My daughter goes to Old Mill North, now in 8th grade. I have always found the teachers approachable/down to earth and 'on their game'. I get notices of everything concerning school days off, delayed Buses etc., I have no hesitation in sending my son to this school. Security is good whenever I have been visiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This is my child's 1st year as a 6th grader and so far the school is very supportative. My only concern is the shortage of books for math class, so students aren't given review sheets to prep them for study and have to rely on ditto's and notes in math class with no extra problems for practice. I am a college graduate and at least had a book to study and plenty of homework to practice on before testing. The teachers however are rather helpful and have autorized my child to bring home his book 'because he is struggling'. He is no longer struggling as now he is one of the authorized kids that have a book at home. Also my son catches bus to school and notice students fighting while waiting to get in the building from the bus, as administrators don't meet the buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This was an ok school for my son. There was nothing to set it apart from other middle schools though. It's math programs are very good and helped my kid a lot. The staff can be a little unreasonable at times but other than that it is not a bad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

300 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

335 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Black 37% 35%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

610 Patriot Ln
Millersville, MD 21108
Phone: (410) 969-5950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Old Mill Middle South
Millersville, MD



Ruth Parker Eason School
Millersville, MD



St Pauls Lutheran School
Glen Burnie, MD


Granite Baptist School
Glen Burnie, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT