Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Old Mill Middle North
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I think they do their best, they need parent participation. Sometimes they just dont get it

Old Mill Middle North 4

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
My experience with my daughter going to OMMN has not been perfect, but when there is an issue I address it right away with the staff and they take care of it. I like it because my kid is exposed to all different people. Also they take action when someone is acting up. And they recognize the kids that r doing good!!


Old Mill Middle North 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful socio-economic diversity with teachers who truly care and a staff (especially the IB Coordinator and the Principal) focused on the overall well being of each student attending. Best kept secret. My child attends through the magnet prgm (not our home school) and it's absolutely worth the distance!!! I simply don't understand why OMMN is ranked as a 6 out of 10. Makes no sense to me.

Old Mill Middle North 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a community member
Old Mill Middle North the best school in the world because it has great students and teachers

Old Mill Middle North 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
This excellent school is an authorized IB MYP World School with a economically and racially diverse student body, along with a SUPURB teaching and administrative staff. The overall atmosphere here is academic, creative, and eclectic, where all students are encouraged to achieve and reach their full potential. Students are divided into smaller "teams" within each grade which allow a smaller group to circulate with their team mates between their team teachers, thus allowing teachers to get to know their students well as individuals. Teachers are caring, and open to communicating and working with parents. Course material is IB--interesting & international in scope--how many schools teach Chinese and Cricket? Bravo OMMN, officially trying to get the word out: you're doing a GREAT JOB--keep up the good work!! Glad to be a part of this school.


Old Mill Middle North
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a teacher
The staff is very supportive to the students. Many of them go beyond teaching, to offer extra after school activities. When a student needs to talk to someone, they can approach any staff member.

Old Mill Middle North 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a community member
I have had 2 grandchildren in Old Mill and one struggled to get good grades. The teacher was always there for him, stayed to tutor and e-mailed to give tips to help him study, investigated what he needed and AVID helped him tremendously to help him realize he can go to college. He is a very good student now and works hard. His sister is an honor roll student and the teachers have helped her to relax. She is selft motivated and an avid reader and writer. The teachers have helped her to relax and enjoy fun activities and recognize her needs. They are alway there and available whatever the children need. i have seen some very disturbing incidents parents not showing up and the administrators have stayed to be there for the children left behind. Teachers jobs are not easy but the teaches at OMMN put so much time and effort in their school. They are a pleasure to know.

Old Mill Middle North 5

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
Awesome teachers, superb counselors, staff the goes above and beyond their job description. Concerned about my child's overall development. Not just that she get good grades. In terms of grades, my daughter has been taught to 'think' through a question not just memorize an answer. That's one of the skills that OMMN teaches that so many other middle schools dont teach. It is such and important skill to teach children before they reach high school.


Old Mill Middle North
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
I love Old Mill North because the teachers and staff really cares about my child and they do everything possible to make sure he succeeds.

Old Mill Middle North
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
OMMN is the best! As soon as you walk through those doors you feel welcome. I have one in 8th grade MYP and another in IB at OMHS whom also went here and both my kids have done very well. Their grades are fantastic, involved in activities, love school. This would not happen without the exceptional staff we have. The teachers go above and beyond, they know how to keep the kids involved and excited to learn. The administrative staff is seen throughout the school, interacting with the kids and if you have concerns they are quick to help. Great school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Old Mill Middle North
610 Patriot Ln, Millersville, MD  21108
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (410) 969-5950
Last modified Old Mill Middle North is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top