Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kingsford Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

There is no support system in this school. The Principal allows parents to dictate there children's education and behavior. I've seen daycares ran better then place!!! Your child is not safe in this school, Principal (Ms. Watkins) and staff have allowed plotted assaults and have allowed parents full access to school and classrooms during teaching time which questions the safety of the children and teachers. If this is the best school in PG then it's no wonder PG is graded the worst schools in are nation.


Posted August 31, 2011

I believe this to be an excellent school with excellent administration. Paulette Watkins is exceptional at leadership and has earned the respect of each parent, teacher and student. To differ from the same belief that I have with my comments would be based on one's own self evaluation of how involved they are with their own children. Kingsford fosters an environment of learning that I have yet to see in any of the county elementary schools. Each school has its challenges and so do we all. The proof is by taking a visit and seeing the acitivies that are made of great importance by the leadership, such as quarterely awards presentations. Continue to shoot for the stars Kingsford!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

Great Academic and Fine Arts curricular support in all programs! I am a proud Kingsford parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I think this is a good school. My only concern is that they do not communicate with the parents as well as I would like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

Kingsford ES is an excellent school. I found that teachers are involved, some more than others perhaps. I also feel there is a lot of emphasis on the state wide test scores than implementing a well rounded curriculum. However, with more parent involvement and support, I think that can change as anything else. Parent involvement is lacking greatly in this school and it sometimes shows through their child(ren).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My daughter attends Kingsford for K-5 and she loves it. I love her teacher. I believe the school has a high parent involvement rate compared to other schools in PG county. Kingsford provides activities and functions for the parents to be involved. The key part of a child's edu. is parent involvement. The Principal and Vice Principal compliment each others personality, one is very vocal and aggressive and the other is very calm and reserved but not weak. I am happy as of now......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I've experienced Kingsford upper grade teachers don't care much for their students at all. They are barely managing the day to day operations, so education and any child that needs even just a little encouragement becomes neglected and left behind. The only phone calls I get from the schools are from my child, who is informing me that once again he wants to leave the school. I sit in his classes frequently (most times spying thru the class door window as not to be seen by my child and the teacher) and half the time the teacher is threatening the students. They take recess away on average 4 days out the week (and they wonder why these kids cannot calm down). If you have a choice, go somewhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

Kingsford is a excellent school. My children have been challenged in the TAG program. The teachers and administration have been responsive to my phone calls and emails. I do believe you have to be an active participant in your child's education. Remember education begins in the home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Kingsford was an excellent school, but I would say it is a good school at this point. My children have attended Kingsford since Kindergarten and while the lower grade teachers are great, I don't think the administration has found the right blend of caring and committed teachers for the upper grades. The library is under utilized and there is a degradation is return emails and phone calls. The principle, the counselor and even the teacher of my oldest child have yet to respond to meeting requests. There seems to be little effort to bridge the gap with those children who are on the fence in learning and this is a great mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

I find Teachers and Principal have concern and care for studends and school image. Parent involvment appears fair. Overall I feel it's a good school but I do have concerns.The library doesn't seem to function as a library despite the school's concerns to increase reading scores. Regular visits to the library to read,check out new books and participate in the Accelerated Reading program at our previous schools was an integral part of students' education. Kindergardeners to Fifth graders were eager to test comprehension and recollection and increase reading points for each book they read. I have not found this excitment for reading here. Loss of outdoor recess is often used punitively for poor behavior.I believe outdoor recess activity as important as breakfast and adequate sleep for elementary students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

Kingsford gives the impression of being a great school. My experience has been very different. I am the parent of a highly capable child, but have found it very difficult to get her academic needs met there. The principal responds very slowly to parents' needs and seems very inflexible. As an educator myself, I know firsthand what goes on in schools and I am working hard to not have my child slip through the cracks. My impression is that Kingsford, and PGPC in general, have concerns with the test scores than with the business of truly educating students and meeting their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

I had one child graduate from Kingsford and I have one in Kindergarten. It is a great school. I would even say one of the best in PG County. The principal is terrific and they care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

Kingsford Elementary is a great school! It provides a great education for children and a safe environment. This school really cares about out children's needs and prepares them for test and the futute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

Kingsford is a school with a lot of heart but in need of a lot of help! Like many of the public schools in PG county, Kingsford lacks the funding it needs to sufficiently meet the needs of its student population. Academic programs have been cut, class sizes have increased, teachers are underpaid and overworked, and more emphasis is being placed on test scores and not academic enrichment and quality! Unfortunately, it's our children who will suffer. Having heart helps, but having more help from the county/state is what Kingsford, our children, need.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Enterprise Rd
Mitchellville, MD 20721
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 390-0260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Woodmore Elementary School
Mitchellville, MD


Kettering Elementary School
Upper Marlboro, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT