Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kingsford Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Kingsford is an Excellent school and the staff is Great! Principal Watkins and her staff are very caring and responsive. I have had 2 children to attend the school and they each have excelled! My wife and I work with our children but really appreciate the academic work that they have received at the school.

Kingsford Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a community member
There is no support system in this school. The Principal allows parents to dictate there children's education and behavior. I've seen daycares ran better then place!!! Your child is not safe in this school, Principal (Ms. Watkins) and staff have allowed plotted assaults and have allowed parents full access to school and classrooms during teaching time which questions the safety of the children and teachers. If this is the best school in PG then it's no wonder PG is graded the worst schools in are nation.


Kingsford Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
I believe this to be an excellent school with excellent administration. Paulette Watkins is exceptional at leadership and has earned the respect of each parent, teacher and student. To differ from the same belief that I have with my comments would be based on one's own self evaluation of how involved they are with their own children. Kingsford fosters an environment of learning that I have yet to see in any of the county elementary schools. Each school has its challenges and so do we all. The proof is by taking a visit and seeing the acitivies that are made of great importance by the leadership, such as quarterely awards presentations. Continue to shoot for the stars Kingsford!

Kingsford Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
Great Academic and Fine Arts curricular support in all programs! I am a proud Kingsford parent.

Kingsford Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I think this is a good school. My only concern is that they do not communicate with the parents as well as I would like.


Kingsford Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
Kingsford ES is an excellent school. I found that teachers are involved, some more than others perhaps. I also feel there is a lot of emphasis on the state wide test scores than implementing a well rounded curriculum. However, with more parent involvement and support, I think that can change as anything else. Parent involvement is lacking greatly in this school and it sometimes shows through their child(ren).

Kingsford Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends Kingsford for K-5 and she loves it. I love her teacher. I believe the school has a high parent involvement rate compared to other schools in PG county. Kingsford provides activities and functions for the parents to be involved. The key part of a child's edu. is parent involvement. The Principal and Vice Principal compliment each others personality, one is very vocal and aggressive and the other is very calm and reserved but not weak. I am happy as of now......

Kingsford Elementary School 2

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
I've experienced Kingsford upper grade teachers don't care much for their students at all. They are barely managing the day to day operations, so education and any child that needs even just a little encouragement becomes neglected and left behind. The only phone calls I get from the schools are from my child, who is informing me that once again he wants to leave the school. I sit in his classes frequently (most times spying thru the class door window as not to be seen by my child and the teacher) and half the time the teacher is threatening the students. They take recess away on average 4 days out the week (and they wonder why these kids cannot calm down). If you have a choice, go somewhere else!


Kingsford Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2008
- a parent
Kingsford is a excellent school. My children have been challenged in the TAG program. The teachers and administration have been responsive to my phone calls and emails. I do believe you have to be an active participant in your child's education. Remember education begins in the home.

Kingsford Elementary School 2

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
Kingsford was an excellent school, but I would say it is a good school at this point. My children have attended Kingsford since Kindergarten and while the lower grade teachers are great, I don't think the administration has found the right blend of caring and committed teachers for the upper grades. The library is under utilized and there is a degradation is return emails and phone calls. The principle, the counselor and even the teacher of my oldest child have yet to respond to meeting requests. There seems to be little effort to bridge the gap with those children who are on the fence in learning and this is a great mistake.

Nearby schools

Kingsford Elementary School
1401 Enterprise Rd, Mitchellville, MD  20721
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (301) 390-0260
Last modified Kingsford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top