Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Mitchellville, MD
Students enrolled: 732
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kingsford Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a community member
There is no support system in this school. The Principal allows parents to dictate there children's education and behavior. I've seen daycares ran better then place!!! Your child is not safe in this school, Principal (Ms. Watkins) and staff have allowed plotted assaults and have allowed parents full access to school and classrooms during teaching time which questions the safety of the children and teachers. If this is the best school in PG then it's no wonder PG is graded the worst schools in are nation.

Kingsford Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
I believe this to be an excellent school with excellent administration. Paulette Watkins is exceptional at leadership and has earned the respect of each parent, teacher and student. To differ from the same belief that I have with my comments would be based on one's own self evaluation of how involved they are with their own children. Kingsford fosters an environment of learning that I have yet to see in any of the county elementary schools. Each school has its challenges and so do we all. The proof is by taking a visit and seeing the acitivies that are made of great importance by the leadership, such as quarterely awards presentations. Continue to shoot for the stars Kingsford!


Kingsford Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
Great Academic and Fine Arts curricular support in all programs! I am a proud Kingsford parent.

Kingsford Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I think this is a good school. My only concern is that they do not communicate with the parents as well as I would like.

Kingsford Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
Kingsford ES is an excellent school. I found that teachers are involved, some more than others perhaps. I also feel there is a lot of emphasis on the state wide test scores than implementing a well rounded curriculum. However, with more parent involvement and support, I think that can change as anything else. Parent involvement is lacking greatly in this school and it sometimes shows through their child(ren).


Kingsford Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends Kingsford for K-5 and she loves it. I love her teacher. I believe the school has a high parent involvement rate compared to other schools in PG county. Kingsford provides activities and functions for the parents to be involved. The key part of a child's edu. is parent involvement. The Principal and Vice Principal compliment each others personality, one is very vocal and aggressive and the other is very calm and reserved but not weak. I am happy as of now......

Kingsford Elementary School 2

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kingsford Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kingsford Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kingsford Elementary School 2

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
I've experienced Kingsford upper grade teachers don't care much for their students at all. They are barely managing the day to day operations, so education and any child that needs even just a little encouragement becomes neglected and left behind. The only phone calls I get from the schools are from my child, who is informing me that once again he wants to leave the school. I sit in his classes frequently (most times spying thru the class door window as not to be seen by my child and the teacher) and half the time the teacher is threatening the students. They take recess away on average 4 days out the week (and they wonder why these kids cannot calm down). If you have a choice, go somewhere else!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kingsford Elementary School
1401 Enterprise Rd, Mitchellville, MD  20721
(301) 390-0260
Last modified Kingsford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kingsford Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top