Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodmore Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 414 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My son has been at Woodmore for about a year now and he loves it. Principle Walker is great and his Kindergarten teacher is excellent. Test scores have increased every year over the last 5 years. This is a great school that has great people inside it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

This is our first year at Woodmore. I love this school and the staff. The staff is professional, fair and friendly. Although they are lacking some of the bells and whistles of a newer school, it functions great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

We have been at Woodmore a little over 3 years after transferring from a Charter school. We love the teachers and the principal is excellent. She knows the students and the teachers work with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Second year at Woodmore and I'm very pleased! Principal Walker is very approachable and hands on. I encourage more parents to volunteer and help the teachers and staff wherever needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

The Great Schools rating is based strictly on the pass rate for tests compared to other students in the state. A "5" rating means that the pass rate at Woodmore is equal to the average pass rate in the state. If a school had a Great Schools rating of 2, then it means that their pass rate is in the 2nd lowest decile (i.e. if the total range of pass rates is broken into 10 equal groups, a 2 would mean that 80% of schools in that state had an overall pass rate that was higher). This can be deceiving b/c a school with a Great Schools rating of 9 may have a pass rate of 99% (for the whole school), while a school with a GS rating of 3 may have a pass rate of 91% (these are just examples). In both cases, the school is teaching so that more than 90% of kids pass, but the school with the "9" rating looks A LOT better than the school with the 3 rating. The pass rates mainly reflect the economic diversity of the students and a few students failing in each grade can dramatically change the pass rate from 97% to 91% --- which can change the Great Schools rating greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I am a new parent that transferred my child from a private school and I'm extremely pleased with both the administration and teachers. I m impressed with the efficiency, professionalism, positive school climate, and commitment to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

I am a prospective parent and based on the test scores and what I have actually observed from my tour and discussions with parents and the Principal, I believe a score of 5 is too low and very misleading. I also think that the rating may cause prospective parents not to consider enrolling their children in what I believe is a good/solid school. I contacted the principal at Woodmore Elementary school (Jill Walker) requesting a tour/information. Imagine our surprise when she exchanged several e-mails with me and personally gave us a tour! She was very forthright and candid about challenges that her school and other public schools are facing in this very tight budget climate. I was very impressed with her knowledge, demeanor and education philosophy. The school environment was orderly and clean and most importantly teachers and children were engaged. As a result, we plan to enroll our 4 year old daugher there next year. I plan to encourage parents at Woodmore to post their reviews of the school in order to provide a balanced and holistic picture of this school as there appears to be a direct relationship between the number of positive ratings and the greatschool rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I was hesitant about sending my son to public school mostly because of the large class sizes I've heard about. He went to Kindergarten at a private institution (with only 10 students) to Woodmore with a class of about 30! I have been very pleased thus far with the teachers at Woodmore and the fact that my son continues to be challenged to excel. Principal Walker is the best! She appears to be involved at every level and wants nothing but the best for the kids here. In the light of upcoming budget cuts, the fears are that Woodmore will be losing some positions that have allowed Woodmore students to grow and excel and it appears imminent that class sizes are going to grow. This concerns me greatly so I will be joining other parents in a letter-writing campaign to our public officials to minimize cuts to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Woodmore is a great school, look at the stats for yourself. Compare Woodmore to other schools, the stats speak for themselves. Principal Walker is an outstanding role model and is often seen with the students and staff. She has inspired the children to excel and the MSA averages prove it. I still can't figure out why they are only receiving a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Woodmore is a good school. It has improved significantly since Principal Walker arrived. Some students are a little unruly but over all they are good, focused kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
White 3% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (301) 390-0277

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12500 Woodmore Rd
Mitchellville, MD 20721
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 390-0239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kingsford Elementary School
Mitchellville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT