Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodmore Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Thanks you, Principal Walker for all you do to make sure the school runs well.

Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a 2nd grader at Woodmore. I am so happy with this school. Principal Walker is a great leader and is very involved in all school related events. My son was a low fill transfer student. Me and my wife met with the principal for a tour of the school and was highly impressed. The parents of this school are unlike any school I have seen in PGCPS. I personally attended PGCPS schools my whole childhood. Parents normally are not involved in the learning process or active in the schools. This is not the case at Woodmore. Having the parents, students, and school all working together does make a difference and I am happy to call this school home for my child.


Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
Woodmore features a core of experienced teachers who have worked together for nearly a decade, supported by a strong administration. Although class sizes have come up in recent years, the educators are deeply committed, and a well-run intervention system provides an effective safety net, so that those students who require small-group attention can receive that help from specialists. Classes are well-managed, and the school is in a tranquil, green environment, bordered by a golf course and a gated community. This is a safe and happy place to send your child, where he or she will receive a quality education.

Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
I love this school, I currently have 2 boys and one on the way into Woodmore the staff is Awesome! There is a lot of parent involvement which allows the school to be successful and the kids know they have both teacher and parent support.

Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at Woodmore for about a year now and he loves it. Principle Walker is great and his Kindergarten teacher is excellent. Test scores have increased every year over the last 5 years. This is a great school that has great people inside it.


Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at Woodmore. I love this school and the staff. The staff is professional, fair and friendly. Although they are lacking some of the bells and whistles of a newer school, it functions great.

Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Woodmore a little over 3 years after transferring from a Charter school. We love the teachers and the principal is excellent. She knows the students and the teachers work with the students.

Woodmore Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
Second year at Woodmore and I'm very pleased! Principal Walker is very approachable and hands on. I encourage more parents to volunteer and help the teachers and staff wherever needed.


Woodmore Elementary School 3

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
The Great Schools rating is based strictly on the pass rate for tests compared to other students in the state. A "5" rating means that the pass rate at Woodmore is equal to the average pass rate in the state. If a school had a Great Schools rating of 2, then it means that their pass rate is in the 2nd lowest decile (i.e. if the total range of pass rates is broken into 10 equal groups, a 2 would mean that 80% of schools in that state had an overall pass rate that was higher). This can be deceiving b/c a school with a Great Schools rating of 9 may have a pass rate of 99% (for the whole school), while a school with a GS rating of 3 may have a pass rate of 91% (these are just examples). In both cases, the school is teaching so that more than 90% of kids pass, but the school with the "9" rating looks A LOT better than the school with the 3 rating. The pass rates mainly reflect the economic diversity of the students and a few students failing in each grade can dramatically change the pass rate from 97% to 91% --- which can change the Great Schools rating greatly.

Woodmore Elementary School 4

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
I am a new parent that transferred my child from a private school and I'm extremely pleased with both the administration and teachers. I m impressed with the efficiency, professionalism, positive school climate, and commitment to education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodmore Elementary School
12500 Woodmore Rd, Mitchellville, MD  20721
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (301) 390-0239
Last modified Woodmore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top