Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Washington New Church School

Private | PK-10 | 45 students

Our school is known for spiritual, Moral & Civil education & superior academics

 

Living in Mitchellville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $299,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

"Best Kept Secret" My son attended WNCS for 5 years. I ask him what did he like about WNCS and he said how the teachers made him stay focus on the task. But at the same time, how they kept it fun and interesting and they show how the Lord works with all of it. Then I asked him what he didn't like. And he said that he wish that he would have started at WNCS at Pre-K. To make a long story short my son is now attending 11th & 12th grade at their mother school in Pennsylvania. (WNCS is Pre-k -10th grade). I hope to see you and talk to you at the next Open House on Thursday 3 April 2014. We were so impressed with how our son has mature with the school and grown spirituality.Things that drew us to this school: Small class sizes, safe environment, caring teachers & staff, it's affordable, the academics, and the way the Lord has guided and is a part of everything at this school. Well I was trying to use up all the characters in this review. But I think I will leave the rest open for when we meet and talk more at the Open House on 3 April 2014. See you then. C.Moore
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

WNCS has been a blessing to my family. The small class size, strong academics and the family feel of the school was the best decision we made for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

WNCS is a wonderful school, the personal attention the children recieve and the quality of the education is second to none. I have been to both public and private schools myself, I have seen the good and the bad! I very much appreciate the warm, caring and safe environment my son is in every day. The staff is the kind of people that will stick with your child for the rest of their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

The WNCS is fantastic and provides an incredible wholistic approach to education with a solid Christian foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

The WNCS is fantastic and provides an incredible wholistic approach to education with a solid Christian foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Experienced teachers and small class sizes provide an excellent, nurturing learning environment with a thoroughly Christian orientation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

Washington New Church School is a wonderful environment for scholastic excellence in a Christian setting. The faculty and administrators are dedicated and caring. The test scores are fantastic, and the Christian values are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

WNCS offers its students individualized attention, a rigorous academic curriculum, and the opportunity to learn from caring motivated teachers and fellow students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

Three of my children have gone through WNCS, and it s an amazing place to learn and grow. The children feel safe and nurtured as well as intellectually stimulated. One can sense this in the atmosphere in the school: joyful and charged with energy. I can t imagine a better place to prepare my children academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

This is our first year at WNCS. My 2nd grader loves goin to school and is always sharing the fun thins she is learning and knowledge she is able to apply to life even at her young age. I like the hands-on approach to academics and the multiple interactions the younger children have with the older ones in games and other learning acitivities. As a Christian school, I also appreciate the intellectual approach WCNS takes to spiritual principles and God's Word. It is taught in a way that makes applicable to everyday life and builds a reverence for the Lord Jesus Christ that is wholesome and close to the heart. So far, I like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

WNCS is small with very close teacher to student interaction. The school and its faculty place high emphasis on Christian values and enforces desirable moral behavior. The level of instruction our children have received cannot be matched, and the outstanding test scores are evidence of a quality education! Highest recommendations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

I love WNCS! No where else would my children get such individualized attention. The multi grade classroom setting allows them to learn at the right pace and be challenged by other students in a non-competitive setting. Academics are top notch but I also appreciate the creative sphere at the school- with the art, music and PE classes allowing my children to learn through all the senses. The teachers are great and its nice to have such an involved set of parents. The spiritual sphere teaches my children charity, kindness and usefulness and this is something I don't think they would get anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

WNCS has been an excellent environment for my son whom struggles with ADHD to excel academically and to develop skills that most schools don't offer such as ballroom dancing. Their staff is not only engaging and well educated, but they love and care about each of the children that passes through their doors. You would be hard pressed to find that elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Black 19% 35%
Hispanic 8% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Prince Georges County Public schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2011)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Bryn Athyn College
University of Maryland
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
  • spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Rev. Michael Gladish
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (301) 805-8835

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
  • spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • ART/woodshop

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Running
  • Youth group
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Service Program
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • the Washington New Church School is very family centered, religiously focused, highly academic yet rich in arts education
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

April 30, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
45
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Students typically come from these schools
Prince Georges County Public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
The Academy of the New Church, Bryn Athyn, PA
Prince Georges Public Schools
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11914 Chantilly Ln
Mitchellville, MD 20721
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 464-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodmore Elementary School
Mitchellville, MD




Kingsford Elementary School
Mitchellville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT