Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
400 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodstream Christian Academy 5

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
I am extremely impressed with the education my children are receiving at Woodstream Christian Academy. This is an academy for students who are willing to work to develop critical thinking skills that can be applied to all areas of life. My children are challenged to grow not only academically, but also spiritually and socially. This is a school for parents who are committed to the "Process of Learning." I highly recommend WCA to families who are committed to classical Christian education.

Woodstream Christian Academy 2

Posted February 28, 2016
- a student
There are only a few good things about this school. The only reason they are getting two stars from me instead of one is because I like some of the teachers there. Once you get to middle and high school here, WCA becomes absolutely abismal. Especially for the seniors, but the Deans leave the highschool students basically to their own devices. They don't help with fundraising, they are too strict on some things, and they have bad attitudes a lot of the time. I would not recommend this schoo at all unless your child is in 4th grade or below.


Woodstream Christian Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted February 28, 2016
- a student
Thank you to the senior parents, future, last and present, because they will be basically the only ones really helping the senior class with life.

Woodstream Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 28, 2016
- a student
Tutor Brown, Tutor Kump, Tutor Davis, Tutor Renita Wingfield, And Tutor Davidson are the only good teachers at the school at I have dealt with personally. They are in the highschool section.

Woodstream Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Dr. Ballard, Head of School, for the time she has spent encouraging and guiding me towards "Prayerful, Practical, and Patient" parenting. She is very busy; however, she would take time to return my calls and respond to my emails in a pleasant manner. I would also like to thank Dr. Bailey, Senior Dean, for the time she spent helping my oldest child with the college application and college scholarship process. Honestly, other parents whose children were also 12th grade seniors were so stressed and worried; however, I was not. Dr. Bailey provided due dates and timelines that had to be followed. I commend her for such great guidance! I want to thank Dean Ruffin, Dean of the Grammar School for being very responsive every time I had a question or needed clarity. She is leading well! Last, but not least, I would like to thank Mrs. Wingfield and Mrs. Simmons, the Early Childhood Directors. They are very engaged and know every child. I have so much respect for them because of their wisdom from many years of experience working with young children. Thank you for encouraging me!


Woodstream Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The honesty, integrity, and fairness values to students do not exist in the middle and upper school.

Woodstream Christian Academy 1

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
This is not a nurturing, loving, caring, Christian learning environment. The tutors have lied on children and administered undeserved demerits without reasonable explanation. The Dean of the upper school has turned children away from school and class with a smile. The attitudes of the tutors and Dean of the middle and upper school has been rude and nasty. The administration, i.e. Principal and Dean do not respond to emails or phone calls within a timely manner and serious concerns are grossly delayed. Serious incidents or concerns are not addressed until weeks and months later. There are better options for schools. Please continue searching for other options. Woodstream's middle and high school should be closed. They are not skilled or compassionate enough to educate children.

Woodstream Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
they load the student with homework in the high school they do to much is not good


Woodstream Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
it school is just bad the school stopped laugauge,compter class and more they have to many office"s

Woodstream Christian Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
not a all it get sad at this school does not respect the student that how they respect u

Nearby schools

Woodstream Christian Academy
9800 Lottsford Rd, Mitchellville, MD  20721
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (301) 955-1160
Last modified Woodstream Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top