Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watkins Mill High School

Public | 9-12 | 1458 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2014

I recently attended my 2nd Back to School night at WM. My daughter is in the (pre) IB/AP program and plays varsity soccer. I found it interesting that the (pre) IB/AP classes had more parents in attendance than the "on level" classrooms. WM is very enthusiastic about their students becoming their BEST, as evident by how hard they push and encourage them. The guidance counselor is constantly requesting my daughter to challenge herself more. There is no "free ride" as ALL of the students will find when they leave WM, in whatever endeavors they pursue. I feel WM is attempting to ready them for their entrance into the adult world...the principal, the teachers, the counselors and even the coaches. WM is diverse and with it comes a diverse set of challenges. The administrative team can only do their part....it is up to the students to uphold their end of the arrangement. I could put my daughter in a private school, but I love the real world microcosm that WM represents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Horrible. From the staff, to the principal, simply horrible. What appears to go on in this school is too much of nothing. There is nothing to be proud of, no one person that I can think of that stands out from another. Simply in one word - HORRIBLE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

Amazing school with great classes, people, staff, and activities. I wake up every day and I'm happy to say that I go to Watkins Mill
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2014

I am a sophomore at Watkins Mill and unsatisfied with the Individualized Education Plan. First of all, the students shouldn't ask to use their accommodations the special ed department should make sure the IEP is used properly as a result to Special Needs students should be more important than general education. This school does not have an Autistic program . I am fighting to withdrawal from this school into an Autistic school. I refuse to come to this school because of the violence and ignorance. For me, personally this school should be deemed as the worst school in the county. Most of the special ed students are trying to leave this school. If the teachers could see how they treat the students when they "teach". The teachers do not acknowledge their students when they need teacher assistance or one-on-one participation. The teachers have sidebar conversations and tell us students to learn while we have conversations of our own. But they don't teach anything all they do is lecture us about being proper students when they should be good students themselves and stop complaining.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2013

I have been in this school for 3 years. At first I felt satisfied but now I dislike getting up to come here. Counselors don't help and don't even pay attention to what the student wants. I ask for SSL hours and they don't give any info. I asked a teacher if I could be his AID and he said no and just gave me an ugly attitude. Every time I come here I don't feel the encouragement from teachers to learn.. The academic programs are good but if a student don't feel good about themselves in their school then it's a burden to have to get up everyday to go somewhere where you feel left out. that is just my experience...
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2011

Watkins Mill High School is on the upside. The principal, new for the 2010-2011 school year is a breath of fresh air. It's telling when the students are happy to see him at after school events. The sports teams are rallying this year with some exciting finishes. The offering of an IB program and AP classes is also a draw. Very active booster club and PTSA. High marks for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Initially thought this is an average school. Later changed my opinion on my continued interaction with teachers and school. There is a lot of improvement over by years. Teacher student ratio is good. Excellent teaching resources and facilities this school is having should build reputation for Engineering, Science and Maths subjects. Experienced and friendly teachers are real assets. This is a hidden gem where hard working students can reap benefits out of personal attention and utilization of unexploited potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

Love this school it has many activites and a very high level with great teacher i love this school i think this school is the best high school of mOntgomery County
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My son is studying in this School. This School is average when compared to best Schools around. Maths and English are not good. Some Math teachers and some English Teachers are good and can be rated as 10. But some are poor and can be rated as 5. I do not know how the management could not see this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I graduated last year. The best 4 years of my life (so far) were spent here. The teachers are phenominal, courses offered are rigourous and exciting, there is a tremendous feeling of spirit and it is a great place for a student to be more than a student. Its size and diversity discourage the formining of Cliques and there are few problems between students. If you (parents) are afraid to send your children here it is because you don't have faith in their ability to make the right decisions, every school has its problems and I can guarantee you that the Mill has alot less than most others. This school offers unique opportunities in a truly unique enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2009

I think they have fantastic programs and opportunities at Watkins Mill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I totally agree with you! There is no middle ground at watkins mill. You are either in an AP/ IB student, excelling, or you're on level student, struggling to pass an easy class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

i love this school. it is a great envirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

This school has made a significant turn for the worst this year. Many of the most motivated students have been moved to a new high school. The new principal rarely comes out of the office. I have one senior who is graduating (While the school has great teachers - it also has a very high drop out rate and a very high % of seniors who don't really want to go to college.) While it is true there are a high % of students in AP, most should not be in AP, and it has dramatically changed the level of instruction. After this year, I'm moving my sophomore to a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

This school has the potential of being one of the top schools in the county. The students in the AP program are certainly above average and the students I know in IB program are the hardest working and most intelligent people you will ever meet. If these the students in these two programs made up the entire school it could be the best in the nation. However the students in the on level classes stuggle with major behavior problems and an overall unwillingness to learn. There is not much middle ground among the students. There is also little middle ground among teachers as some truely care about the students and many do not care if they pass or fail so long as they get their paycheck.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2007

I am currently in my senior year at Watkins Mill. I agree that Watkins Mill could be better if more students there actually cared about their education. However, Watkins Mill is not a bad school. The staff here is outstanding; all of my teachers truly care about me and my education. The AP courses I take are challenging, and my friends in the IB program say that is challenging as well. The students are very diverse and accepting which makes it a nice community though we do have cliques and high school drama, it is not as severe as in some of the other public high schools in Montgomery County. The students and staff have a lot of spirit, although we do not have any amazing sports teams. Overall, I get a good education at Watkins Mill but it could be better if there were less ineligible students that required much of the teachers attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2007

Watkins Mill has the potential of being a top rated school. Unfortunately, too much time is spent on discipline due to a large portion of the student population attend school because they have to and aren't there to learn. On the other hand, the honor and AP programs are very good and those students that want to excel have the opportunity. Overall, there has been too much violence at the school to really make it top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

This school is truly in an elite group when compared on a national (PUBLIC) level. The kids are pushed hard, education is appreciated, and yes, a FEW of the enrolled struggle to be motivated. That's due mostly to the fact that they don't know how good they have it. TOP OF THE LINE, great architecture. Great location. Amazing leadership, and a graduation ratio that's above its competitors.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2005

There is alot of drama in the school. The school is not as secure as you wish for it to be. The teachers and other administrative staff are not freindly. Your results show not so hot and administrators attitude is a big cause of that.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 1, 2005

There is a lot of drama throughout the school, but coming from a private high school to a public high school this year, it isnt as bad as I thought it would be. The principal is very nice, and all of the teachers are concerned witht the well-being of everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 35%
Hispanic 35% 12%
White 14% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10301 Apple Ridge Rd
Montgomery Village, MD 20886
Phone: (301) 840-3959

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ets Chaiyim School
Montgomery Village, MD



Avalon School
Gaithersburg, MD




Gaithersburg High School
Gaithersburg, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT